Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Comedy
You'd think that a man, who has just been punched on the nose by 2 scary looking guys and is trying to make a dramatic escape from the top of a roof, would do a bit more than say, "Augh...that hurt!" However, that's what makes it funny.
"The Parole Officer" is a nice little package of a comedy regarding the efforts of a somewhat quirky yet kind-hearted guy who...
Published on 21 Jun 2004 by Doi Ling

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far from Ealing!
Some one described this as an Ealing type comedy. Ealing comedies, as far as I recall, did not pander to american audiences. There is a scene in this film where they appear to be running up, or down, an external fire escape, I've never seen an external fire escape attached to any building in the UK, please correct me if I'm wrong, in america these are ubiquitous...
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Monk


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Comedy, 21 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
You'd think that a man, who has just been punched on the nose by 2 scary looking guys and is trying to make a dramatic escape from the top of a roof, would do a bit more than say, "Augh...that hurt!" However, that's what makes it funny.
"The Parole Officer" is a nice little package of a comedy regarding the efforts of a somewhat quirky yet kind-hearted guy who decides to retrieve the evidence for a murder at all costs. The film displays everyday morality, and Steve Coogan performs marvallously well here - "I saw a man strangle a human being!...Well, an accountant."
This film is worth your money and time to watch. The great thing about is that it is not something typically British that is set in London, y'know, those stereotypes of Hugh Grant, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Largely underrated comedy, 28 Sep 2007
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
From the tone of some of the negative reviews, there's no pleasing some people. 'The Parole Officer' is exactly what it looks like, a quirky and professional vehicle for Steve Coogan. His pedantic and klutzy parole officer Simon Garden is a fine creation, not as toe-curlingly embarrassing as the great Alan Partridge but more appealing. (Coogan actually looks handsome from time to time.) The comedy isn't exactly subtle, but I wouldn't have wanted to lose the gloriously bad-taste moment when Coogan is taken on a rollercoaster by one of his former clients and ends up repeatedly puking into the face of the angelic little girl sitting behind him.

The supporting cast more than take care of business, with Stephen Dillane as a sleazebag detective and Lena Headey as a rather implausibly gorgeous policewoman. It's a fine pizza movie without pretensions to being anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Good Was The Best Film Ever?, 25 Aug 2003
My older brother came home one day after a visit to the cinema. He said to me 'I've seen the best film ever, even better than Toy Story Two!' (lol) So he recieved the DVD of The Parole Officer for his birthday and together we witnesed the greatest film ever made.
The story takes place in Manchester where we meet the hero, Simon Garden (Steve Coogan) working as a parole officer. Simon is a hilarious character who manages to muck up every move me makes. Simon somehow finds himself in a spot of trouble when he is accused of a murder he didnt commit. The only proof of his innocence is a security video - but the tape is locked inside a bank vault. He gathers his ex-clients who have all succeeded in breaking their way out of crime and are conquering the businness world. Asking for their help in breaking into a bank was a difficult move for Simon, but as he explains his situation they eventually agree to help. This is no easy task for master criminals,for a bunch of losers, it's a mission impossible!
This film is for audiences of all ages that will make u laugh and cry ( with more laughter! hehe ). It's packed with stunts, action, romance and loads of laughter! Thankyou for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My name is Simon Garden, Im not a lunatic, i'm a probation officer..., 18 Mar 2011
By 
J Bate (Hartlepool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film is one from my childhood, and soon, just for the hell of it, i'm going to my local HMV to buy it, whether its £3.00 or £8.00 I dont care, I need to show my appreciation to Steve Coogan and Ben Miller and who ever else is in it, because I love it so much I cant tell you.
The plot is quick moving, very witty and pure. The character of Simon Garden is a known one, we have all met him lets face it. His accomplaces are all hilarious in they're own way, whether its George in his indian accent, "He Means a computer Virus, he's taking the Piss!" or Geoff the big bloke who knocks people out with one punch. They are all well formed and are so real.
i ust love this film, It might not be for all but I had to bump the stars up to show that I bloody love it, and always have since we watched it on NTL's "Front Row" in around 2003, those were the days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - great british comedy, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
If you like Partrdige or Coogans run, you'll like this. If you like good English comedy films such as The Full Monty or Jonny English, then you'll love this, as its one of the best Ive seen in the last few years. The plot is basically a social worker who see's the good in others and has to fight his former employer over possession of a video tape that will send him to jail where he belongs. Its a great cast and a fantastic script, and Coogan is on top form, so buy it now while its on such a great offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious clean cut comedy, 15 Feb 2002
Any steve cougan fan will love this film, although it is not as funny as perhaps Naked Gun or the Airplane trilogy, it is witty and clever with a sweet little story line.
There are lots of Alan Partridge type jokes and dry humour to be had - and of course there's the roller coaster scene. You can but chuckle!
Been waiting for the release of this little film for ages and I'm gonna buy it straight away - suggest you do the same.
It's great it's funny and it's British. Be proud, be very proud!
Mark Reynolds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cheered me up, 6 May 2007
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I've had a terrible week this week and watching this really cheered me up. The Parole Officer is not Alan Partridge the movie but a fairly safe british comedy. Coogan's main character, Simon Garden is not as monsterous as Partridge but is just as socially inept. He is more likable, inspiriing loyality in his few friends and painfully conservative. As a result you feel sorry for him when he is framed for murder and will punch the air when he gets the girl the (truly gorgeous Lena Heady). There a few belly laughs but the climax did make me smile.

Also the face Garden pulls when he fights is hilarous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the parole officer, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
well this may just be the funniest film i have ever seen steve coogan is fantastic.
steve coogan is a pareole officer who witnesses a murder wanting to lock the person up who did it he gets some old clients to help him.
clients include a young 14 year old girl.an owner of a rollercoaster.a fishmonger and a computer salesman.
it is not to be missed with laugh a minute antics your sure to be rolling in the isles.
my verdict only needs one word and that is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 14 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the only film i have ever seen that i am able to watch over again and again and still have the same reaction, it just gets better and better every time.
Coogan is hilarious as always, Lena Headley is gorgeous and brilliant, and the supporting characters are excellent, especially east is east's OM Puri as George.
The funniest bit is the rollercoaster scene, but more than that the comedy is witty and clever, it is a script that is well written and directed.
It looks like such a great film to have made, there is a truly horrible villain that you can't wait to be brought down and most importantly it leaves you with the warm fuzzy feeling that you love from the movies.
In short, i can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE IT!!, 14 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Well, what can i say, the master of comedy in a film, as soon as i found out the film stared the ultra-funny steve coogan(Alan partridge)i bought it, i can tell you i was NOT dissapointed! This film has a great story line, stars Steve Coogan, nice twists, and above all is without doubt the funniset film i've ever seen - buy this, you wont be disapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001]
The Parole Officer [DVD] [2001] by John Duigan (DVD - 2002)
£3.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews