Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bleak and oddly poignant.
Cronenberg's early work has not been served well on DVD. Although in widescreen and featuring an interview and introduction, the picture quality of Rabid is on the grainy side. The film itself is great.
Rabid is a sort science fiction/horror reworking of the psychosexual themes associated with vampirism crossed with the story of Typhoid Mary. After a motorcycle...
Published on 1 April 2012 by Nelson Viper

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rabid
the david cronenberg classic Rabid, is essentially an outbreak movie, pretty much a zombie movie at its base with a lady infecting people and turning them into rabid flesh hungry brain dead zombies!
starring the porn legend marilyn chambers in one of her attempts to break out of the smut and into the mainstream, im not sure if picking what at the time was a fiercely...
Published 17 months ago by ben_jekyll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bleak and oddly poignant., 1 April 2012
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Cronenberg's early work has not been served well on DVD. Although in widescreen and featuring an interview and introduction, the picture quality of Rabid is on the grainy side. The film itself is great.
Rabid is a sort science fiction/horror reworking of the psychosexual themes associated with vampirism crossed with the story of Typhoid Mary. After a motorcycle accident a young woman (Marilyn Chambers) is given a skin graft which leaves her with a retractable organ in her armpit and an insatiable desire to infect others. It's very Cronenberg and very effective. Whilst not as icky as Shivers, Rabid is very bleak.
Adult movie star, Chambers gives a surprisingly effective and vulnerable performance as the confused and desperate girl. The ending is sad and oddly poignant.
Rabid is one of my favourite Cronenberg movies, along with The Brood, Scanners and The Dead Zone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rabid, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
the david cronenberg classic Rabid, is essentially an outbreak movie, pretty much a zombie movie at its base with a lady infecting people and turning them into rabid flesh hungry brain dead zombies!
starring the porn legend marilyn chambers in one of her attempts to break out of the smut and into the mainstream, im not sure if picking what at the time was a fiercely independent film maker as her first few stepping stones was a wise idea, but what she does do well is act!
her performance is everything it needs to be and more, she does make you feel a great sympathy for her character who is essentially the villain of the piece, as she is patient zero and responsible for the outbreak, but since it isnt her fault(step forward shifty surgeon!) we feel for her.
if the performance had been duff, most likely we wouldnt have cared less, as it is chambers brings a vulnerability to the character that is sadly lacking in a lot of other films of this ilk.
as in most of these films there is a slight attempt at social commentary but as with all the other films of this ilk the commentary is heavy handed and doesnt really add anything to the movie.
sit back, enjoy the gore and the great performance of marilyn chambers and this will be a fun ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film, horrible DVD, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Martin Genschow "mgenschow" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Even after more than 30 years, rabid works as an effective horror film, and it clearly shows Cronenberg's talent for horror without horror cliches. The low budget shows in many scenes, but it is saved by the acting, even in the small supporting roles. Marilyn Chambers is especially good in the lead.

I would have rated this film 4 or even 5 stars, but I can not give more than 3 stars, due to the transfer. It is not bad. It is very, very bad. The picture looks like a grainy VHS transfer from another century, and for the most time, parts of the image are missing: you only see half a face of an actor who is talking, or heads or feet are cut off at the top and bottom. Do not get me wrong, this is a 1:1.78 anamorphic transfer, so the only explanation I have for the cropped images is this: they had a pan-and-scan transfer in 1:1.33, but wanted to release the film in an anamorphic version. Instead of creating a new transfer, they simply cut off the top and bottom of the image until it fitted the 1:1.78 frame. So it looks like a film, that has been pan-and-scanned in both directions. I have never seen anything like it, and I hope I never will again.

But even with these limitations, Rabid is still gripping, fascinating, horrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?, 6 May 2013
By 
Jayke1981 (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Rabid surprised me. Marilyn can actually act - who knew? Now maybe I'm being over critical - I only knew her by her porn reputation by name. This was the first time I saw her on screen. and I was actually impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering Marilyn Chambers -- 1952 - 2009- best film, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
THE FILM--One minute they're perfectly normal, the next: rabid!
Marilyn Chambers stars as Rose, a motorcycle accident victim. Through daring, experimental surgical techniques, Rose's life is saved. But something has gone wrong. Rose develops a ravenous appetite: for blood. One by one, her victims are driven into a frenzied rage, attacking and contaminating others. Soon, the city is on the verge of panic. The next victim could be a stranger or someone you know. Pray it doesn't happen to you!
WHAT CAN I SAY?this is horror at its best.writer and director David Cronenbergs classic is a must see.its amazing even with today's cgi effects are taking over everything this is a treat in the special make effects department and your find that all the best horrors were from the 70s because all the special make up effects were done by make up artists.in this film you have brilliant scary moments.the finger cutting scene is brilliant and the rabies effects are very good.The story is intelligent, very well thought out and full of political and social context The horror scenes are creepy and so very effective. Chambers is beautiful and has a killer body, for sure, but she also delivers a surprisingly very good performance. You can tell she was savoring this non-hardcore role sadly she Died: April 12, 2009 (age 56) The coroner's autopsy revealed that Chambers died of a cerebral hemorrhage and an aneurysm related to heart disease. Chambers was ten days away from her 57th birthday.
Cronenberg stated that he wanted to cast Sissy Spacek in the film lead, but the studio vetoed his choice because of her accent. Spacek's film Carrie was released during this film's production and proved to be a massive hit (and a movie poster for the film appears when the main character walks by a movie theater). The director says that the idea of casting Chambers came from producer Ivan Reitman, who had heard that Chambers was looking for a mainstream role. Reitman felt that it would be easier to market the film in different territories if the well-known porn star portrayed the main character. Cronenberg stated that Chambers put in a lot of hard work on the film and that he was impressed with her. Cronenberg further states he had not seen Behind the Green Door prior to casting her
(Behind the Green Door) is a 1972 feature-length pornographic film, widely considered one of the genre's "classic" pictures)
"It was great working with David," Chambers said in a 1997 interview. "He taught me a lot of things that were very valuable as an actress, especially in horror films. I found it useful in sex films, too!
...the Chambers legacy is many things she was an American pornographic actress, exotic dancer, model, actress and vice-presidential candidate.
this film is a lovely tribute for for the sweet Marilyn Chambers with the most adorable smile..R.I.P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RABID, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
it was a good film to watch it give you unfashion about rabbis of what to look fore that why I buy this DVD film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Salivating Rabid Outbreak!, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly the Dvd picture quality isn,t the best, but it's o.k. for an old 70's low budget horror. The film is at least in widescreen and there are some extras.
This is an influential early Cronenberg film. You can see its influence in Zombie films and more specifically the first Species film. A sexy woman out in society luring men to their doom.
I can highly reccommend the movie especially for people who enjoy films like the original Dawn of the Dead and American WerewolfIn London, but just be warned this film is a bit more sick than those. Like Shivers, Rabid has some nasty moments and can be disturbing but it's also gripping and humourous in places. In one scene in Rabid even Santa Claus gets it.
I wouldn't be surprised to see this film remade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cronenberg at his weirdest, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rabid [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i have seen most of cronenberg's films but this one rates as his weirdest. marilyn chambers plays a woman who after a skin graft develops a blood sucking tentacle in her armpit(i kid you not). the first half hour is pretty slow but the rest is like some deranged vampire flick. miss chambers runs around the city infecting people with this tentacle until almost everybody is crazy. the apocalyptic atmosphere of this film might put many people off but i loved it. in some ways it is similar to romero's zombie films. if you are in the mood for something out of the ordinary it is highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shivers, again, 11 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rabid [1977] [DVD] (DVD)
"Rabid" is the story of a woman who, inhabited by an alien entity, feeds vampire-like from her victims using a proboscis located under her armpit. In doing so she infects her victims with a rabies-like alien virus which turns them into rabid creatures who then go on to attack and bite others, thus spreading the infection.
I've seen this film before, and it's Cronenberg's 1975 film "Shivers". Where "Shivers" was set in a swanky hotel-like housing development, "Rabid" is set in a hospital, but basically it follows a very similar storyboard, that of the parasite/virus realeased in a contained environment which eventually drives everyone into a state of zombie-like mania.
(One anecdotal observation: in the opening scene where the girl is rushed in to the emergency room, a member of the public goes to the desk and asks "What was all that about?" to which the E.R. administrator replies "Somebody said something about an accident." - Probably the stupidest conversation that could occur in an Emergency Room).
The acting varies from the completely lame (e.g. the girl's baby-faced boyfriend) to the better (the innocently seductive vampire herself).
It's probably quite an engaging sci-fi/vampire horror and if I'd never seen "Shivers", I'd probably have enjoyed it much more. As it's repetitious it didn't really do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rabid [1977] [DVD]
Rabid [1977] [DVD] by David Cronenberg (DVD - 2003)
10.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews