Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do consider this game, it's an aqquired taste
You are a stuntman in a car, the challenge is to pull off a stunt for a film, there are 3-5 different stunts in 6 different locations, each stunt a 30 min plus challenge. There is a good lifetime involved. You drive a variety of cars, performing different stunts, you have unlimited attempts at each one, but the stunt must be completed as 1 run, it isn't broken up in...
Published on 28 Dec 2003 by B. Cooper-smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD AND BAD AT THE SAME TIME
Stuntman is one of those games that will split people's opinions. Me, I prefer to sit on the fence and say that its has its good points and the bad points. Firstly the good.
It creates an whole new genre of game, the ONE MORE TRY. One more go at completing the mission and the next thing you know, three hours have passed and your trying to do the next missions. The...
Published on 26 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do consider this game, it's an aqquired taste, 28 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
You are a stuntman in a car, the challenge is to pull off a stunt for a film, there are 3-5 different stunts in 6 different locations, each stunt a 30 min plus challenge. There is a good lifetime involved. You drive a variety of cars, performing different stunts, you have unlimited attempts at each one, but the stunt must be completed as 1 run, it isn't broken up in stages.
Basically you gotta be good at gamin and like a challenge to enjoy this, if you struggle to master games quickly, this game will frustrate you beyond swear words....someones gonna get hurt but you're keep playing...
I bought this after reading the previews, these showed a game that had a great idea and had executed it well, they have...to an extent, there aren't flaws just annoyances-loading times, no save/checkpoints during stunts and how a tiny error ruins a run worked exceptionally hard for, but these are ONLY frustrations and it soon becomes an addictive challenge to complete, mainly becos you aleways feel like you can do it, just that you keep messin up-thats the pain, so have some patience.
If you enjoy action drivin, this is fun and there is no better feelin than completin a a stunt-you really do feel good. Don't write the game off, check it out..gaming is meant to be a challenge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD AND BAD AT THE SAME TIME, 26 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
Stuntman is one of those games that will split people's opinions. Me, I prefer to sit on the fence and say that its has its good points and the bad points. Firstly the good.
It creates an whole new genre of game, the ONE MORE TRY. One more go at completing the mission and the next thing you know, three hours have passed and your trying to do the next missions. The game is an excellent idea in a world where the sequel is king and originality counts for nothing. This gives originality a kick up the backside. Its more interactive than your usual game with the results of your stunts in the ACTUAL trailer for the film.
Now for the bad points
When I first played it, within a day I was on the 3rd film and there is only 6 in the game. From then on, the learning curve resembles Mount Everest with frustrating stunts and increasing accuracy levels to achieve. For kids the stunt creator would be a playground to destroy and smash cars and create the wildest stunts. But for me, 24 years of age, i paid no more than a passing interest to it.
I would seriously suggest renting this before buying to see if its the game for you. Its not everyone's cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed and frustrating, but rewarding and fun, 27 Jan 2003
By 
"nicksmith13" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
What a fantastic concept for a game! Stuntman is far from perfect, but provides great entertainment.
The graphics are good enough, but not startling. It's likely that they're constrained by the ability to replay your stunts after every attempt. The replay option is not just good for showing off your talents, but it provides huge amusement when viewing horrendous crashes and freak accidents. Sound is average. The music is nothing special, but is decent enough not to grate after listening to it for the umpteenth time as you struggle to complete a scene. The control system is standard Driver fare, and once you're used to it it's pretty solid, if a tad oversensitive.
The trailers you get to see when you complete each film are a nice touch, and are amusing skits on the various genres of film used throughout the game. The "Toothless in Wapping" trailer, a send up of Lock Stock, is particularly fun, and all the trailers include excerpts from your stunts.
There are also 15 mini-games, testing your speed, precision and stunt ability, 10 of which are locked until you complete the Career Mode. A stunt arena is also included, allowing you to design and build your own stunts to try and replay, with cars, ramps and obstacles becoming unlocked depending on the accuracy with which you complete scenes in the Career Mode. This gives you an extra incentive to do well in the main game.
The Career Mode is the main feature of Stuntman, requiring you to guide a stunt driver through his career spanning 6 films, each of which involves completing 3 to 4 complex scenes incorporating several stunts. You will not be asked to merely do one jump. Instead, each scene, or "level", requires you to string together a series of manoeuvres and jumps within a strict time limit. So for example, in the last scene of the second film ("A Whoopin' and a Hollerin'", a send up of the Dukes of Hazzard) you must overtake a truck, drive off a bridge onto a moving train, drive down the train onto a flatbed carriage, off the train onto the platform, through a narrow gap between parked cars, smash through a sign and a picnic table, squeeze through a gap between moving cars, through a car wash avoiding the drainage ditch, cross the railway track before a train arrives (and smashes you to smithereens!), drive through trees, then back onto the track and drive between 2 trains, drive across a single track bridge and get off the other side before another train gets there, and speed to the finish (having passed through a number of checkpoints throughout within the time limit). Phew! That's the scene in it's entirety, and I recalled all that from memory, despite having completed that level ages ago, because it took me at least a hundred attempts!
Stuntman is a very hard game. This is partly due to the level design, which is very unforgiving, with lots of narrow gaps, tight turns and deviously placed obstacles, and partly due to the lack of clear instruction given to you. The director instructs you in the style of Nicky Grist (Colin McRae's co-driver), but is usually so late that you've overshot or driven the wrong way by the time he's begun to speak. There are arrows and symbols to mark the way, but they can be a bit vague, and due the camera angle they're not always particularly visible if you're coming round a corner sideways. It's often impossible to know where you're supposed to go, or what you're supposed to do next. In fact, I feel it's safe to say that it's absolutely impossible to complete a scene at the first attempt, because the first 5 attempts are needed to get a handle on what you're supposed to be doing. A walkthrough, a free ride mode, or a map would have improved the game significantly. As it is, you have to learn the level over a number of failed attempts to be able to complete it.
This sounds like a severe negative, but in fact it can add to the experience, bringing "eureka!" moments when you find the best way of approaching each section. The fact that Stuntman has been created by the Driver team is evident; those games too had that "one more try" aspect. And that's the crux of the matter: if you liked Driver and Driver 2, you'll probably enjoy Stuntman. I love it, which is why I've given it 4 stars, but then I don't mind doing the same scene over and over again to get it right. In fact, even if it's taken me an age just to get the 80% accuracy mark you need to get to the next scene, I'll go back and try for 100%. Stuntman is an incredibly challenging game, but the sense of achievement derived from completing a difficult scene, and your anticipation of the next, makes it worthwhile. Moreover, the difficulty adds to the game's longevity, which is considerable. Even if you do manage to leave the game alone for a while (those "one more tries" can go on into the small hours!) you can always come back for a quick 5 minute attempt at the scene that's been bugging you.
If you have no patience and like quick results, don't buy this game. If you want a challenge, and you think your controller can take being pounded against the wall, then get Stuntman today. It's bags of stunt-addled fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WITHOUT THE TIMERS, THIS GAME WOULD BE THE BEST, 12 April 2006
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This game basically involves you working for a film crew preforms daring stunts and tasks in a variety of different vehicles to make films. As you gradually progress in the game, you are given better cars and more daring stunts.

If you get bored of doing the main missions you can do a variety of different mini games. There are precision tests, speed tests and stunt tests. You can also go to the stunt arena and build your own stunt area. Then you can choose a variety of different vehicles (cars, vans, buses etc) and smask them about the place. The thing that you can use are amazing. Ramps, articulaed lorrys, cars that once activated shoot out from a cage at 100mph. All of this adds up to goos gameplay.

I have one problem with this game and that is the timers. They are too strict and everything is timed apart from the stunt constructor. If the timers weren't there, the game would be MUCH better!

Graphics - 7/10

Soundtrack - 4/10

Realism - 8/10

Overall - 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool game, but a little tough, 20 Oct 2002
By 
Les Steel (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
This game is pretty cool. The music is excellent, suiting the types of film you are doing stunts for. The graphics are pretty ropey to be honest, also there does not appear to be a 60Hz mode as in Burnout 1+2 to make it full screen.
The game can be frustrating most of the time, as there is no fly by of the scene your doing, and the radio guy some times tells you about stunts as you drive past them. But once there done, and you watch the replay there is a lot of satisfaction to be had.
The car control can be fiddly and unresponsive, especially if you play a lot of car games as the cars don't "feel" as you would expect. But for all this, you still want to keep coming back to finish that stunt that keeps laughing at you ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, boring and slow..., 28 Sep 2002
By 
Dino Burbidge (East Finchley, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
It's an ok game, but feels like Reflections forgot to test it on anyone before launch. Some of the levels leave you scratching your head trying to learn them. One example early on is "left at the first container'... you turn left at the junction... 'you went the wrong way'... game over... hmmm. What it meant was 'Swerve to the left of the first container'. Seems petty, but it makes this game really frustrating to play.
One other irritating thing is the load times... Why on earth do you need to pause for 15 seconds to start the level if you crash 20 feet in. Surely it can remember what the start looked like?
It could have been such a good game, but they tried to make too much of a 'game' out of it... You can't enjoy any of the levels, cars or effects because you're always watching the clock. But I guess we're all comparing it to GTA 3... Roll on Vice City!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot or Not, 24 Sep 2002
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
With this game it is simply a matter of liking it or not. It can be very frustrating at some point,
but that what makes the game a winner. What good would a game be in which you complete
the stunts (i.e. levels) without having a decent challenge?
Imho, the only thing missing is a stunt overview or something. You get a brief
introduction to the stunt, but then you are on your own. A Tony Hawk like goal
overview would be in place.
Another small issue would be the game loading between every attempt.
When you restart a level, the game has to load. It's not long, but after attempt
number #1$@3%#4^% it can be frustrating.
Last but not least; the graphics and the controls in the game are in one word stunning.
The game defenitely beats Driver and GTA3 in this field. The cut scenes are really great.
When you finish a movie, you will see the trailer, with your stunts in it!!
The replayability might be an issue, but who cares with this great game.
So, if you like driving games and you have a little perseverance,
buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old-but sill great fun, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
stuntman is a game where you are doing films and you have to be the stuntman. this game is so good as its got so much variaty in it and there are so many cars to unlock aswell as objects for your own stunt construction. this game is great fun if you want go get a cheap game which has hours and hours of fun on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For PetrolHeads or Masochists Only......, 13 Dec 2002
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
This game is hard, very hard, so hard that you do wonder whether you will ever complete it at times. Having said that I loved it to bits, and still pick it up to improve my percentages just to see if I can get a perfect score (Yes, when it comes to driving games I am definately that sad, but my girlfriend is used to it after 3 years of training so I can get away with it!).
I've seen other reviews which talk about poor graphics in places which is probably true, but in all honesty I can't say I noticed as I was too sucked into the game. Don't buy the game if you are looking for a car handling physics engine on a par with GT3 or WRC as it does not have that much feel, but the style of the game is quite aradey so it doesn't really suffer for it. As for the replays, they are certainly not upto GT3 standards, but watching some of the mental crashes you have make up for the lack of refinement.
On the critical side I would say that you are left with the feeling sometimes that the game stitched you up on a section you completed on a previous attempt. I was dissapointed with no steering wheel support... but maybe that would make it too hard.
Overall, drive hard, crash hard, but it can be done, and if you do it will bug the hell out of your mates who can't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating...but surprisingly addictive, 24 Oct 2002
This review is from: Stuntman (Video Game)
After reading some of the other reviews for this game, I don't think it's fair at all to mark it down because of how hard it is or how [bad] you are at it. Yes, this game is [very] hard, especially towards the end, but perseverance is all that is needed and personally I'd be really disappointed if I could complete it within the first couple of days.
As for the game itself there are some great touches. The gameplay is close to unbeatable. The trailers for the stunts are an excellent idea, its really cool to see your stunts in the film. All the classic film styles are here, from the Guy Ritchie gangster film to the James Bond style one at the end. There are some classic cars to drive, especially the Dukes of Hazard style dodge in the second film complete with air-horns.
The only disappointing thing for me is that the only thing your really working for is to get more equipment for the arena. This part of the game doesn't really do it for me, it's too long winded to setup stunts.
Apart from that though the game is top class and should be a welcome addition to anybodies PS2 game collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb08ec9e4)

This product

Stuntman
Stuntman by Namco Bandai (PlayStation2)
8.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews