Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2005
Stop wasting your time reading these reviews!
If you've reached this page then you should know that Dimitri is a a dj who loves his flash suits. Any dj who wears flash suits is a surely worth his salt and boy does he deliver!

Smooth french funky house, I like to put this on when I'm writing an essay to a deadline. I've even taken both cd's down to my pub and let them play. It really picked up the vibe of the place and needless to say I served drinks that little bit quicker for once.
Dimitri's been at the forefront of the French house scene for years now, he started off soundtracking fashion shows in Paris, and this cd somehow encapsulates that scene.
5 stars, because all the tunes just seem to get better and better, and I find it hard to skip any of them.
If, like me, you're a fan of Dimitri, make sure you also get hold of 'Dimitri from Paris in the House' (it's the best release on the Defected label by a mile).
Enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2002
I wouldn't put it up quite there with the 1st Playboy Mansion CD but it's very close. Well worth your money and something that will grow on you with every listen while other compilations become more tiresome.
There are a few tracks here by artists I just would not have concidered, Imagination for example,and there's many more I didn't know about but they all share a common groove. The Larry Levan "Peanut Butter" dub followed by Danny Tenaglia's "Feel Up" is just the kind of music to get your backside wiggling while the more disco 'Uplifting' CD is an all out smileathon from start to finish.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2002
Dimitri never fails to deliver. This follow up to the acclaimed 'A Night At The Playboy Mansion' sees the fever spread over two discs. The first is laid back, the second uplifting. Both are gems in theor own right. Standout tracks for me: Deep Sensation's "Get it up for love", the remix of Gwen Guthrie's "Peatnut butter" and De La Soul feat. Chaka Khan's anthem "(It ain't) All good".
More mainstream than Dimitri's last selection - the 'Disco Forever' box set - though we're still offered classic tracks, remixes and alternate version of well known songs; all mixed together as only Monsieur Dimitri knows how.
This is a must for all disco/deep/french house fans and anybody who loves to get up on the floor.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2004
What a collection this is. Funky disco tracks from the modern era alongside some great old ones. Figure them out if you can.
Whatyou do get is a brilliant cd. If you like disco you will love this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
Dimitri From Paris mixes less familiar (to casual listener) disco, funk, and house tracks that have left some trace in clubs all over the world from 70's, 80's, and 90's. It is well crafted selection that comes on 2 cd's. Although all tracks won't be of everyones taste, it definately has its strong moments. All in all, a very nice selection for chillin' moments.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2004
After the full-on sprint of joy that was 'Night at the Playboy Mansion' this falls flat on it's face and breaks it teeth on the cold, hard pavement. The first album was so full of ingeniuty and originality that this pales into yet another boring house compilation. Not awful (hence two stars), just painfully bland! Go get some Dimitri From Paris instead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
same DJ, thus same great sounds. a night at the playboy mansion was sordid enough but after... well after! things just lay themselves back 'fore' a nice calming session of 'play'

on the whole Demetri, does what he does best and delivers an exemplary soulful session, that can put both parties involved, in the right mood!!! if the cover wasn't telling enough - hopefully this review will encourage you to make up your mind! tell her it was my pleasure (or essentially your pleasure; ) when she praises you for selecting such an even tempo, well balanced, soundtrack to making love!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Got the cd on time as i do love the album just not great when a track dose not play out for you other wise i would have rated this cd 5 out of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Dimitri is a master!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Favourite mix
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)