Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Never Say Never!!
I personally thought "Never Say Never" was THE R&B album of 1998, and certainly one of my all time favourites. Since then, Brandy's gone through a lot - and it shows on "Full Moon". A more mature and far more confident Brandy reappears with more vigour and "in yo' face" attitude whilst still retaining that innocent sweetness...
Published on 28 Feb 2002 by stanley5x5

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
I am a huge fan of Brandys and loved both Never say Never and Brandy, the songs on these albums were amazing and whatever mood you seemed to be in there always used to be a song which helped you through it or made you realise that she understood. Although Full moon does prove that Brandy has grown and matured as an artist, i was very dissapointed with this album as it did...
Published on 14 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Never Say Never!!, 28 Feb 2002
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
I personally thought "Never Say Never" was THE R&B album of 1998, and certainly one of my all time favourites. Since then, Brandy's gone through a lot - and it shows on "Full Moon". A more mature and far more confident Brandy reappears with more vigour and "in yo' face" attitude whilst still retaining that innocent sweetness.
"Full Moon" is an amazing CD. (Quite how we managed to get it before the Americans i'll never know or complain about) I never thought it possible for a CD to fall into so many categories but this does - R&B / Hip Hop / Soul / Pop - all of it! All the styles simply compliment each other brilliantly from the fat and funky "Full Moon" "I Thought" "All In Me" & "Anybody" to the chill out and quite incredibly emotional "When U Touch Me" "Nothing" "Come A Little Closer" and especially "WOW" (which pretty much sums this cd up)I gave "Another Day..." & "What About Us?" five stars as well, but if u think they're the best on the album, then you have far more to listen to...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What An Album!!!, 18 Jun 2002
By 
Greg (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
Having heard 'What About Us' i thought I would buy 'Full Moon' and give it a try. I didn't buy it on the strength of 'What About Us', I bought it on the strength of her previous albums. Needless to say, 'Full Moon' more than exceeded all of my previous expectations and is probably one of the best albums in my collection.
Every song on the album falls into the genre of R'n'B/Soul, but there are many other influences from other genres too, such as the excellent Eastern-influenced 'Apart' and the absolutely beautiful 'Love Wouldn't Count Me Out', which is full of big orchestral arrangements and a strikingly dramatic and honest chorus. 'Wow' is an uplifting and thought-provoking song, with pop-style strings and a gospel-influenced vocal arrangements. The are many catchy numbers that you can dance to, such as 'I Thought', 'Can We' and of course, the amazing single 'What About Us'.
It is rare to find an album where every song stands out and even the 'Intro' could be released as a single, but Brandy has achieved this and more with 'Full Moon'. It is also rare for one so young (Brandy is just 23) to achieve so much and make such a great album. I wholly recommend this album to anyone - ANYONE!
WORST SONG: I love every song, but if you made me pick i suppose it would be 'When You Touch Me'.
BEST SONG: So many too choose from, but probably 'Full Moon'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a come back for Brandy!, 16 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
As always, after a very long time of anticipating for this album, Brandy's fans will not be disappointed. This album was definitely worth the wait!
It is not a 40 minutes album, like most albums on the pop-RnB scene seem to be nowadays. This album features 17 songs, and all these pieces of art have their place on the album.
A lot of work has been done on every aspect of this album, which is more complete than "Never Say Never", and reflects a more mature artist. Brandy will bring tears to your eyes in "When You Touch Me" and will command an intimate space with "Come A Little Closer".
Everybody will like very stylish, RnB songs like "What About Us", which you all already know, and very, very good songs like "Full Moon" and "I Thought".
Brandy, it seems like even if you tried to, you could never disappoint anybody! Congratulations to you and your team on that awesome album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haven't heard it all yet, but..., 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
I am not usually a Brandy fan- in fact, the whole "Moesha" thing is not my scene. But, having loved "The Boy Is Mine", I listened to this CD (or most of it) when I had a chance. And it's great! The last 2 r'n'b CD's I really loved were Craig David and Whitney's "My Love..". Now Brandy has created a CD that is both classic and edgy- and matured greatly in the process. The dissonant (sp?) single is brilliant, as is "It's Not Worth It" (catchY!) and "Love Wouldn't Count.." (strong vocal). My favorite is the one she produced with her secret husband. It's called "Wow" and it's one of the most lovely pop songs I have heard in a long while. Brandy should be proud- in an age of artists releasing mediocre material it sounds like she really put the effort in on this one. I'll probably give it another star when I hear the last few tracks. Full Moon is a keeper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STRANGE THINGS HAPPEN WHEN THERE'S A FULL MOON..., 7 Sep 2002
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
Her latest album 'full moon' is very much like the supersition surrounding the time of a full moon: It's mysterious, magical and induces a trace in the listener!
Brandy continues to grow on her latest project, not only in her attitudes towards life, but her voice has also matured, it's far more sassy and husky than on her earlier works. 'Full moon' is an exceptional album, like the lunar cycle the album takes the listener on a journey of pure emotion; from the torrents of anger in songs like: 'apart' and 'what about us' to soothing love in ones like 'He is'and 'When you touch me'. Brandy recorded her album in a very emotionally chaotic period for herself: The death of Aaliyah, falling in love and becoming pregnant. These events seem to have had an effect on her album, it is a far more human production.
'Full moon' however will not be to everyones tastes. Its much more raw than other female r'n'b albums, and infact heads more towards soul. Brandy has turned away from the depressing materalistic lyrics of the modern r'n'b album, and has put together a collection of songs which really envoke emotion. Then why not five stars i hear you call? Well its not perfect, the cover of the phil collins song 'Another day in paradise' sits on the album like oil on water- unable to mix. The song itself is not awful, hey phil collins wrote it so it can't be! However it is sooooooooooo out of place and is not only cringe inducing but leaves a bitter taste at the end of the album. Personally i think the pre-ultimate song 'wow' should have been the last song, its full of self-love, courage and leaves a warm glowing feeling within the listener :)
If you do not like soulful music, then Brandy's album will seem nothing more than annonying whinging, and i advise you to stay clear of it at all costs. However if you like your music more natural and emotional then "full moon" will surely cast a hypnotic trace upon you. In Brandy's own words 'Full moon symbolises completion' go out and have your music collection completed too! Brandy wont be back anytime soon due to having her baby, so **buy it now**!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for any other young american r&b vocalists, 28 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
brandy's third album is easily her most proficient work to date. her deep husky voice is deeper and huskier than ever, yet she manages to add a few extra notes to the top of her range as well. this album is highly original, no songs being reminiscent of any i've ever heard. brandy's lush harmonies are the best i've heard in long time. the best songs on the the album are definitely 'apart' which has a swing feel, 'anybody' which has to be released, the fantastic ballad 'love wouldn't count me out' and the single 'what about us' - incidentally brandy co-wote all of these tracks. this album shows a diverse collection of sounds, digital effects and live instruments have never sounded better thanks to the largely rodney jerkins production - but don't expect an album full of 'po ya colla' style pop, this album has a definite soul aspect to a very new style of r&b. the best r&b cd this year, brandy deserves a couple of grammy nominations next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 11 April 2002
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
I really don't think I could default this album, its excellent! Brandy has a wonderful voice and will do well in the future. The tracks on the album are really meanful, most of them are written by Dark Child-Rodney Jerkings which is also fantasitic. I just can't stop listening to the album I have had it for 2 months now and I havent got bored of it. Its the best album she has done but the only thing which is a shame the British version doesn't have Die Without You, this track is wicked don't know why it wasn't on the Britsh Album, but apart from that the albums fantastic. All I can say is GOOD LUCK BRANDY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 30 April 2002
By 
david@cupton.worldonline.co.uk (Hollywood,Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
I only discovered Brandy through the excellent single "Top Of The World",and soon had her album "Never S-A-Y Never",but this album exceeds all her work so far.From the funky "I Thought" to the smooth "Nothing",this album has it all.Stand out tracks include "It's Not Worth It"(guesting Micheal Jackson),"Can We","All In Me" and the title track "Full Moon",plus the single "What About Us",and the duet with brother Ray-J "Another Day In Paradise",but really it's all fantastic!Roll on the next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 24 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
She returns with a familiar cast (producer Rodney Jerkins, writer LaShawn Daniels etc.) but a not so familiar sound. She has evolved not only as a person but also as an artist with a new funkier sound. Fans of lead single 'What about us?' should also enjoy 'Can we' & 'I thought' which production wise are on the same theme. Apart from these 3 tracks each song has an individual sound of its own. From the Rodney Jerkins produced 'All in me' (one of my favourite songs off the album) with its heavy baseline & 2step inspired bridge to 'He is' one of the best and most genuine ballads to come out in a long time & likely to be her third single.
Don't despair though if this new Brandy sound isn't quite your thing. Fans of Brandy's first & second albums should be left satisfied with the latter half of the LP consisting of slower and not so heavily produced tracks. One of the best examples of this is 'It's not worth it' which was originally meant to be put on 'Never say never'. It has that trademark Jerkins sound with orchestral strings but has been re-worked for the Full Moon album with a solid baseline & additional vocals by Michael Jackson. The mid nineties reminiscent 'Apart' (produced by Keith Crouch who worked on Brandy's first album) has a wonderful old skool flavour with Brandy's wonderfully melancholic vocals and a prominent drum machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 21 May 2004
By 
Stephan Parker (Widnes, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Full Moon (International Album) (Audio CD)
On the eve of the release of the new album 'Afrodisiac' i would like to remind customers of some of Brandy's earlier work. Along the same lines as Brandy's extraordinary new single 'talk about our love' Full moon encapsulates a whole range of 100% amazing songs. Something Brandy has always managed to do, unlike EVERY othe rnb singer of her generation, is to keep her very fashionable music style totally unique. Perhaps it deserves a whole new genre all for itself? All i can tell you is that listening to the two singles 'what about us' and 'full moon' doesn't even compare to listeneing to the album. I'm actually surprised they were the only two released as singles, as tracks 3-8 and 10-17 are superior (although the aforementioned two are still 9/10 tracks. I am very surprised this album never got the status it deserved, but to be honest that makes it even more special to me. And although i would like to describe the better songs off the album, it would be impossible to seeing as this album is truly PERFECT! Please buy this album, it'll grow on you and it should keep you going until album number 4 is released. Enjoy! And listen out for Michel Jackson on one of the tracks- this album really has got everything! (Oh and grab a copy of Rodger's and Hammerstein's Cinderella as well, i loved it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Full Moon (International Album)
Full Moon (International Album) by Brandy (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews