Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2003
This is quite frankly a stunning game. Im not a racing game fan in the slightest but when my girlfried purchased this beauty i couldnt help but try it out. I dunno what it is but racing games just fail to grip me but i literally havnt put this one don since we purchased the thing!
There are so many things to do and so much to unlock it keeps your interest. The gameplay and graphics are superb and the addition of the police pursuit really gives you an overhelming feel of victory should you manage to doge their many baracades
You dont have to be a racing fan to enjoy this, if you are looking for a game that will give you months of enjoyment and isnt too hard to get hold of then this is a must buy game. On a racing game scale i cant really compare it because there are many racers that i havnt played but this is by far the best one ive played and thats why it gets 5 stars
BUY IT !!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
this game is truly the best game for ages.authough the scenary detail is limted it is good, dispite this the car detail is the best i have seen since lotus callenge.also the cars have real damage this is because unlike gt3 the rights to deforme the body shape significantly have been bought from the car companys(i am not putting gt3 down).also the cars in this game are great, from the brand new porsche gt, to the classic maclaren f1.this game is a must have for any racing game fan.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2002
Need for Speed Hot Pursuit 2 is probably the best racing game out there. It is simply outsanding and having nearly completed the game myself after ages of racing on well put together tracks it is really great fun. The graphics are amazing and so are the high speed cop chases. Just picture this.......you are on the final curve......in your wonderfully well put together Lamborghini...... you've got two police cruisers behind you......and there is a roadblock ahead with a helicopter in front of you. You sharply turn left into the small gap inbetween the roadblock and the edge of the track and you get passed. You are now doing 190mph on the long last straight, 200mph, 205mph. This is when the helicopter comes into play as it fires a small homing missile......and you are to fast for it. You cross the finish line with an overpowering sense of victory.
It really is that exciting if you like cars alot.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2002
I was very sceptical when my mate bought round his PS2 and Need For Speed 2. But this game is truly spectacular and we just couldnt stop playing it. The graphics, gameplay and sound are truly awesome. Driving through forests at 200mph in a Mclaren F1, whilst jumping off ramps etc was recreated with such realism, you really will only turn it off when you're falling asleep or you get a headache from staring at the screen for so long. Buy it. A truly superb game.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
There are many racing games out on the ps2 at the moment - Need For Speed 2 is one of the best. Graphics are excellent (watch as you are driving through a forest and catch glimpses of the sun through the trees) Gameplay is also superb with many different modes of play. Arcade and World Championship are joined by new modes like Be The Cop where you are driving a police car and you have to stop 5 speeding cars by crashing into them and bringing them to a stop. You can also radio ahead for backup cars, roadblocks and even police helicopters dropping bombs in front of your target to slow him down. And it's all great fun!!! Of course, the other side of the coin is Challenge mode when you get the chance to outrace the cops. Plenty of cars available here (49) although you only start off with 12. By winning races and experience points you unlock extra cars and bonus tracks. Highly recommended if you like racing games like Grand Turismo. Excellent value for money and highly addictive.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2002
I was pleasantly surprised by this game. It has taken the best ingredients from the competition and put them all into one package.
NFS Hot Pursuit 2 has graphics that stand up to the benchmark of GT3 (OK, they're not AS good, but graphically it is the nearest rival that GT3 has amongst PS2 racers), it has the close racing action of TOCA Race Car Driver and it has the arcade fun of Burnout 2 (now, not only can you "steer" your opponents into oncoming traffic, but you can also stuff a pursuing police car into an oncoming truck - infinately more satisfying!!!).
For those of you who like the souping up and tuning options, there is none of that here - just racing action. In a way I think that is a good thing - in GT3 if you wanted your AI opponents to present any sort of challenge in identical cars, you had to de-tune your own car so that it had about 150bhp less and then just outbrake them on corners (whilst trying to hold them up on straights).
Cars are virtually all European (what about the Japanese Honda NSXs, Toyota Supras and Mitsubishi GTOs?) which is a shame, but all the major euro-marques are present in some form.
I still rate GT3 as the best PS2 racer OVERALL, but this is probably the most fun and most easily accessible for novices - just plug and play!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
There are many racing games out on the ps2 at the moment - Need For Speed 2 is one of the best. Graphics are excellent (watch as you are driving through a forest and catch glimpses of the sun through the trees) Gameplay is also superb with many different modes of play. Arcade and World Championship are joined by new modes like Be The Cop where you are driving a police car and you have to stop 5 speeding cars by crashing into them and bringing them to a stop. You can also radio ahead for backup cars, roadblocks and even police helicopters dropping bombs in front of your target to slow him down. And it's all great fun!!! Of course, the other side of the coin is Challenge mode when you get the chance to outrace the cops. Plenty of cars available here (49) although you only start off with 12. By winning races and experience points you unlock extra cars and bonus tracks. Plenty here if you like racing games like Grand Turismo. Excellent value for money and highly addictive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2003
I bought Need for Speed Hot Pursuit 2 six months ago and still enjoy playing it. Of the PS2 (and PC) titles I have at home, this is one of the games with the longest life-length, thanks to a clever game structure where you need to win races to get access to new cars (49 cars) and new challenges. With 63 challenges with increasing difficulty, you can easily spend a couple of hours playing, trying to get to that last challenge...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
I'll keep this brief. There are 2 schools of racing game. Simulation and arcade. This game is old (WAY OLD!!!)and tends toward the arcade side of racing games. I'm now on my 2nd copy - bought off e-bay - but the reason I came back to it is dead simple....

...???...

Fun.

That's right - out and out fun.

Speed - a real impression of speed - scenery whizzing by - battling opponents nose to tail - losing the cops - breaking records - it's just all very well done. Not as polished as some newer titles (on the next gen formats) but it still out "funs" all of them. Seriously - hands down.

Not many people will read this review because the game and the system are now so out of date - but there is only 1 other racing game out (in history) that has captured my heart as much as this one. And that was the *LEGENDARY* F-Zero-X for the N64 (!!!). A close 2nd for the PS-2 would be "Driven To Destruction". Class.

But this in my mind is the best PS-2 racer. And the sound track for NFS HP2 is kick-arse good too. Bonus.

So - if you still have a PS-2 and want a charming and fun racing game that isn't too serious - then check this out. You can still get it fairly cheap off e-bay etc. I think it's a PS-2 classic. Much much more engaging and replayable than the later NFS series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2002
I have the pc version of this game and the ps2 version. Just to let you know the pc version is a port of the xbox and gamecube.
The ps2 version is the BEST. Reasons below:
The graphics are better , but still could have been better.
The damage is much better in the ps2 version , you can see
almost every detail.
The on-demand 360 cam (same thing in the matrix) its very cool.
Plus you get points for insane stunts , the pc verion only gives points for escaping the cops.
The soundtrack is much better, more hard rock and r&b which adds to the gaming experience.
Weather control , which is not available in the pc version.
and much much more
Overall the game for the ps2 is great, if you don't own this then you aren't a real need for speed fan.
However the game could have been better, just a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)