Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONE SHATTERING UBER-METAL FROM THE MASTERS.
Phew! What can you say that hasn't already been said? This album blew the cobwebs of hair metal straight out the door and good riddance to it.

Painkiller is serious Heavy Metal. A fast, frenzied, in your face, relentless charge through 10 slabs of pure, unadulterated metal. From the opening salvo of the title track things never let up. The drum intro to...
Published on 24 Jun 2009 by A. Stevenson

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I prefer the pre- 'British Steel' Priest sound,
I recently returned to bands that i appreciated in my youth and still love the Unleashed in the East and Stained Class (great vocals,production is to clean and stifles the Priest sound) . The Painkiller album i suspect would have sounded tired and derivative on it's release and time has not helped. There is a nod to Slayer which is a shame since Slayer are so obviously...
Published 6 months ago by Peter Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speed metal classic, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Sonny (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
I use to think Judas Priest could be summarised with songs like "Breaking the law", "You got another thing coming" and "Living After Midnight", which are all good songs, but arn't all that heavy when compared to thrash metal and it's ilk.

However this album is something completely different to all those older Priest songs. It's very technical, and much faster by comparison. With very little pop influence or catchy sing alongs. This is very much speed metal, raw rast riffs and technical drumming.

Halfords vocals can sometimes be ear piercing and annoying as they can be very over the top as found on the intro to All Guns Blazing.
The lyrics are also a tad cheesey but I can't imagine it any other way.

Also to note the solos are just awesome, it's hard to pick which ones are my favourite as they are ALL good but to pick the three best pairs (Downing & Tipton):

One Shot At Glory, Between the Hammer And the Anvil, Painkiller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Priest Album, 4 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Just has to be the best priest album - what's not to like? This is the one album that sums up everything that's good about metal. Tipton and Downing frantically duel axes like their lives depend on it, Travis's drums thunder like the apocalypse whilst Halford's demonic shriek commands the maelstrom. This is one classic metal album that can compete with any modern band in terms of pure, skull-crushingly heavy metalness. Just hear the steel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priest at their best!!!!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This is second greatest Judas Priest album in my opinion, the first being 'Screaming For Vengeance'. This is definitely an album to be owned by true Priest and Heavy Metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest - Painkiller, 12 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. S. Armstrong "stephen_armstrong_sa" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
The last Judas Priest album with Rob Halford. The inclusion of the new drummer seems to have given Judas Priest a heavy kick in the metal ass as this is their best album since British Steel, possibly even better. (In my opinion it is.)
I'd go into track highlights but every single one is a gem, especially "Hell Patrol" and "Night Crawler" (Halford's favourite on the CD).
If this ain't in your Cd collection, you're no fan of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metalcraft at its finest, BUT...., 26 Jan 2005
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
This is surely one of the finest examples of seriously heavy and timeless British rock. The only think that lets this album down (the remixed and remastered version at least) is the thoroughly disappointing "bonus" tracks. Living Bad Dreams is a pretty weak song, and the live version of Leather Rebel demonstrates why the Priest should not reform. Halford's voice sounds embarrassingly weak on this live recording, and he chickens out of all the high notes and sounds almost asthmatic. The guitar work is also decidedly loose on this live track. This is a real shame, as all the original album tracks (and I mean all) are corking examples of Judas Priest at their very finest. Rock on! This album manages to be far, far heavier than any of the formulaic de-tuned MTV nu-metal bands, whilst remaining very musical and crisp. It is a shame newer generations of rockers mock the Priest and those like them, because all they remember are the ridiculous skin tight leather and studded tights, when they should be remembering the very accomplished heavy metal musicianship demonstrated on albums like this.
Tom du Pré
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars \m/, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
People always talk about "British Steel" and "Screaming For Vengence" (and with good cause, they're great albums (get them too)) but "Painkiller" is twice as good as either of them. It's easily Priest's best.
If you're browsing CDs looking for how best to spend that tenner, stop looking now because it just doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
By 
Mrmdgrant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Great Service Worth 5 Stars Mr M D Grant..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I prefer the pre- 'British Steel' Priest sound,, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painkiller (MP3 Download)
I recently returned to bands that i appreciated in my youth and still love the Unleashed in the East and Stained Class (great vocals,production is to clean and stifles the Priest sound) . The Painkiller album i suspect would have sounded tired and derivative on it's release and time has not helped. There is a nod to Slayer which is a shame since Slayer are so obviously influenced by this band.
I will stick to pre- 'British Steel' Priest from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavier Sound, 23 Dec 2007
This review is from: Painkiller (Audio CD)
Priest obviously thought the USofA had gotten bored with glam metal type bands by the early 90's and decided to move with the times (again!)

Gone are the commercial leanings of their late 80's albums and more of a faster, heavier sound. It's ok as an album but not as good as say British Steel or Stained Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painkiller
Painkiller by Judas Priest (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews