Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best add on yet
Some people are beggining to think - "how many more add on packs can they bring out?", and i thought hot date must be the last one, but here comes another brilliant idea. This pack, in my opinion has to be one of the best up to now, even better then hot date. This is because in hot date you have a matter of minutes in real time to enjoy your self before the sims get too...
Published on 13 April 2002

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not essential for the Sims gamer
This shining little bauble of an expansion pack rather quickly loses its luster. The idea of sending your sims on vacation is a great one, and some of the new activities (e.g., building snowmen, having snowball fights, snowboarding on the half pipe) are fun—at first, but the whole thing gets a little boring after a while. What really ruins the game play is the...
Published on 3 Dec 2002 by Daniel Jolley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best add on yet, 13 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Some people are beggining to think - "how many more add on packs can they bring out?", and i thought hot date must be the last one, but here comes another brilliant idea. This pack, in my opinion has to be one of the best up to now, even better then hot date. This is because in hot date you have a matter of minutes in real time to enjoy your self before the sims get too tired to go on. In 'on holiday' your sims live there and so if they need to go toilet, off they go, if they need a shower, bath or even a little confort, they can go to the new shower/bath, or wooded hot-tub. This is a good twist and what i like is that its quite expensive which will reduce the number of times you can go. For anyone who hasn't got the game it's 500 simoleons to go, and then 160 odd to book each night, so your looking at a clean grand to stay for a few nights and feed your sims. Another really good reature is the sourveir cabinate you can buy for the house. When on holiday you can fish, or metal detect or even win on the arcade games special prizes to take home and display. The other day, my sim the father of two and husband, decided without my intervention to go and rent a metal detecter, he then walked around the park and found a yellow rose which he gave to his wife, okay so flowers are not magnetic but still a really good feature. Oh and finally just to really open it up to reality even more, if you have children, then they can like in the real world, can get a little carried away and start recking stuff and having fights if you don't control them. So overall it really is better then expected and there are three cool resorts, the beach one is good becuase of the swimming pool and arcades, and the forest has archery water ballon fighting and volley ball. I was worried about spending another 20 bucks on another pack, especially as there hasn't been half the hyp as hot date had, but like i said, this addon is more of an addon to the sims world then going into town becuase lets face it, how many of us have said "Why do they work evey day!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maxis put much time into this beautifully written software!, 19 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
For my bithday, my aunt got me this game. After adding its features to the other expansion packs, i was hooked. The environments thet your sims live in are superbly detailed, and your sims happiness, fun, comfort, and hygiene levels rise up to a spot decent enough to please them. The Holiday Island is the most addictive part. You can either invite some friends and family on a holiday, or get out on your own, and explore the world!
You can go way up to the mountains, and compete in a snowball fight, snowmen, and fortress contests. Then, have your sim go inside to relax in the lounge, while drinking a nice cup of hot chocolate.
Another enjoyed area is the wilderness! here, you can compete in archery, water balloon fights, and throw darts!
Ahh...The beach. The sims from all over simsville flock here, just to relax on a chair, and listen to the sound of the gentle waves washing up on the sandy shore. Here, you can rent metal detectors, and search for gold, treasure chests, or ancient toys, like old, rusty metal pails!
I would recommend this fantastic game to children, and adults of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sims are on holiday..so u won't want to, 21 July 2002
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This fantastic new add-on is very addictive.
Rather than hot date just taking 2 people to downtown you can now take the whole family.
You can visit a winter wonderland - have snowball fights, take a snow slide ride, show off you snowboarding tricks on the half-pipe, sleep in an igloo and even be entertained by a yeti.
Take a sunny beach break - play volleyball(up to 8 sims), take a splash down the slide into a refreshing pool, sleep in a cosy hotel, and let your kids be entertained by a beach shark.
Or even rest in the deseted forest (haha) - Like you'll rest when you can go fishing, sleep in a tent, play archery, hire metal detectors an dbe entertained by the one and only ROBIN HOOD!
If you have any questions just ask the Holiday Director who is available in all scenarios.
It is extremely fun building your own holiday venues but when clearing out all old stuff DO NOT delete the phone or your sims will be stuck on holiday forever. You cannot seem to buy them.
You can play arcade games and win prize tokens - swap your prize tokens for gifts and souvenirs. You can even buy souvenir shelves to store all your holiday memorabilia on.
You can send postcards to your neighbours.
You can have picnics and eat off the ALL U CAN EAT BUFFET.
Stay in a ski lodge, summer hotel or wooden huts.
The hotels actually work as hotels and you cannot sleep in the beds unless you check in.
This game really is worth buying and when added with hot date you get the oppurtunity to take a family break with the kids or take a night out from them in downtown.
Pity you can't hire babysitters for the kids and see how rebellious they can be.
A definite must have for all sims fanatics.
BEWARE very addictive. The time flies by when you are playing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holidays not as fun as dating, 25 April 2003
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
The Sims On Holiday (known as Vacation in USA) is an interesting expansion pack for The Sims. Taking your sims on holiday is fun and rewarding and the new objects and interactions are impressive.
However it can be flawed in some areas. The object organiser when building holiday resorts is confusing and hard to navigate. Some things seem rather unrealistic such as Sims' refusal to even enter the sea though they happily dive into swimming pools.
Another flaw is that when on holiday it is actually very hard to get your sims to enjoy themselves. They can only eat from buffets or from foodstalls. A shame when you think of the possibilities if they could have a hotel restaurant like the restaurants in Hot Date.
So all in all, this is an exiting expansion pack, but not nearly as fun as Hot Date so buy that one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Holiday!, 5 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
OK, so we can't all afford that Caribbean holiday, or even a weekend break in the mountains, but those lovely people at EA have given us another chance to live vicariously through our computers. Design your own perfect beach and try it out on your Sims; with your own boardwalk (complete with carnival games), the perfect hotel and so many different recreational activities there isn't room to list them, you will never have to leave your house again!
New social interactions add to the fun, but watch what your kids are up to; if they annoy too many people, you could be asked to leave! There is even a chance to get food poisoning, just to complete the experience. The best-selling game on the planet just got better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maxis do it yet again, 12 April 2002
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
Being a bit of a "sims" addict even i wasnt sure maxis could breathe new life into this great game, but i am pleased to say i was wrong. My partner pre ordered this for me and i havent left it alone since it arrived(despite some grumbling from him lol).
There is loads more for your sims to do and even the kids have alot more speech interaction with each other similar to the adult speech choices. The holiday choices are varied each offering something differant and there are loads of new floors, walls, objects etc...
Unlike a lot of expansions this one makes an already great game even better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sims on Holiday., 23 April 2002
By 
Kate Nora Evans (Swinton, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
At last! A new add-on for the Sims. My sims now consist of hot date, holiday, house party and living it up. When i saw the yellow packaging it came in, I realised that it was the golden thing to add on to give that extra oompf to my game.
As soon as it arrived in the post, I had half an hour before I had to go to school. Before mom could say a word, the cd was in the computer, and I was installing it. Now my Sims are much happier, now they can go on holiday. It also gives more interaction with the kids in the Sims; they can play and have more fun than before, rather than study and go to school. I love it and I'd suggest it as a must buy for all Sim addicts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


334 of 379 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whata game to look forward to..., 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
With all the magic and parties and dating Sims have been up to recently, many of them need a break...and what better way to take a break than going on Vacation! Send your Sims and their families to a Vacation island filled with sun and snow fun! Show the kids a great time while taking a spin on a seaside carnival ride, playing sand volleyball, building snowmen, and riding on the snow slide. Bring home memories like jewels found on a treasure hunt or a wacky souvenir. But watch your kids because if you can't keep them from kicking over sandcastles and hurling snowballs, you'll have a short stay on Vacation Island.
Like The Hot Date downtown, Vacation Island will have up to ten new lots that players can build vacation resorts on. Some lots are winter themed, some are beach themed, and some are forest themed.
The Sims Vacation allows all-new social interactions for adults and their children and interactions children can have with each other. Unlike Hot Date, Vacation allows the entire family to go to a new location. But watch out, if you don't take care of the kids, they may cause enough mayhem to end the vacation early.
Just check in and let the friendly, attentive staff see to your every need. Food buffet, luxurious beds and state of the art bathrooms are all included. Will you be staying just a couple of days, or all week? There are packages for every budget. Just make sure to lock your doors...you never know who might want to pick your pocket....
After emailing maxis i have found the New Objects are:
Snowman
Fort
Slide
Half pipe
Tent
Skating rink
Treasure hunt
Volleyball
Archery
Fishing
Whack-a-Will
Shoot a Clown
Chicken Toss
Miniature golf
Mechanical Claw game
Hotels
Prize booth
Souvenir cabinet
personally i cannot wait to be the owner of this game... definately one to watch out for, i have owned all the previous expansions...whata game
5 ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sims on holiday!!, 25 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This sims game is alot like sims hot date. it has a seperate area of holiday places which are only a phone call away. You can edit your holiday areas which include snow resorts, forest resorts and beach resorts. You have the chance to bring home souvaneirs and play fair games. It can be a private holiday with a couple or on their own or a whole family holiday. Children are entertained but characters dressed in animal costumes. Careful though as your children may cause trouble an you may be asked to leave.
i really loved this game and i am the first of my friends to get it and they are all very jelous.
If you enjoyed the other sims games you'll love this one. I'm actually literally addicted to it at the moment.
Lots of love,
Alice Middleton aged 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not essential for the Sims gamer, 3 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) (Video Game)
This shining little bauble of an expansion pack rather quickly loses its luster. The idea of sending your sims on vacation is a great one, and some of the new activities (e.g., building snowmen, having snowball fights, snowboarding on the half pipe) are fun—at first, but the whole thing gets a little boring after a while. What really ruins the game play is the fact that your invited guests have no idea of how to have a good time, and you have no control over them at all. As others have said, they don’t even have sense enough to make use of restrooms and shower stalls. Basically, in such a scenario, your sim is left wandering around trying to find anyone who will do anything with him/her. Playing volleyball by yourself is not my idea of an ideal vacation. Much of the time, your chosen vacation spot is all but deserted, leaving you high and dry indeed. A family vacation is much more enjoyable because you at least have some control over all of the vacationing sims’ activities and interactions. Even then, though, the fun is limited and the experience rather monotonous.
This expansion pack is certainly worth buying if you are a Sims addict, but I wouldn’t call it an essential component of the Sims experience. It also does slow the game down, although I don’t see too much difference between Sims On Holiday and Hot Date in this regard. You and your sims can definitely have a little fun on vacation, but I doubt you will be anxious to rush off every weekend to get away from it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD)
The Sims: On Holiday Expansion Pack (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews