Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kissin time puts the faith back in faithfull
This is the album that all die hard Marianne fans have waited the past decade for. Following on from 1999's melancholy yet infectious offering, Vagabond ways, Marianne shelves contemplative, earth mother for sassy rock goddess - welcome back Marianne.The list of collaborators reads like a who's who of rock royalty, old and new - Beck, Blur, Jarvis and Billy Corrigan to...
Published on 23 Jan 2003 by doo-dah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitter-sweet but too many ballads
The amazing list of collaborators on this album drew me to buying it as I wasn't too familiar with any other Faithfull songs except "Broken English". The input from Beck, Dave Stewart and Blur gives the album a great deal of musical authority and depth, but each of the songs is very careful not to swamp the overall 'theme' of the album, Marianne's retrospective and...
Published on 23 Aug 2007 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kissin time puts the faith back in faithfull, 23 Jan 2003
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
This is the album that all die hard Marianne fans have waited the past decade for. Following on from 1999's melancholy yet infectious offering, Vagabond ways, Marianne shelves contemplative, earth mother for sassy rock goddess - welcome back Marianne.The list of collaborators reads like a who's who of rock royalty, old and new - Beck, Blur, Jarvis and Billy Corrigan to name but a few. The opening track (Sex with Strangers) sets the tone for the entire album, its Marianne sultry, laid back defaint and above all the girls speaking from experience....."Time for sex with someone else?" 'The Pleasure Song', 'I'm on Fire', and 'Wherever I go all provide an insight into what Marianne's made of but 'Song for Nico' marks a point where Marianne pulls out all the stops. Without doubt the Jarvis Cocker/Faithfull penned 'Sliding through Life on Charm' is one of the albums highlights if not the sassiest offering of her career. This is Disco 2000 sung by a woman who knows what she's talking about, and will have you tapping your toe before she even refers to her most intimate parts by a word that a woman of her age should not even understand! The next couple of tracks support everything before, but Marianne comes back with class in the form of 'Kissin' time' - Faithfull's conviction and Damon Albarn'raw talent fuse to provide a breath-taking conclusion. This album will astound fans and newcomers alike from the opening line of the first track to the last note of the last it is amazing that a woman with so much real talent just keeps oozing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitter-sweet but too many ballads, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
The amazing list of collaborators on this album drew me to buying it as I wasn't too familiar with any other Faithfull songs except "Broken English". The input from Beck, Dave Stewart and Blur gives the album a great deal of musical authority and depth, but each of the songs is very careful not to swamp the overall 'theme' of the album, Marianne's retrospective and bitter-sweet lyrics. The album hangs together very well, it's surprisingly coherent considering it has had so many different producers involved.

My main problem with it though is that it is too introspective, in my opinion. The Jarvis Cocker co-write "...Charm" is pretty much the only even vaguely upbeat track on the album, the rest of the songs are all ballady. Not that I've got anything against a good ballad, mind you, but in my generalising opinion the best albums are a balance of the up and the down. And this is too down. A matter of taste, of course, but something to bear in mind if you're buying this because you're a fan of Blur, Pulp, etc., whose albums are much more balanced in that way than this one is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At the cutting edge of the time, 19 July 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
Marianne has always been an expert at bouncing back from obscurity, as with the legendary Broken English in the early 1980s. Kissin' Time sees Faithfull still at the cutting edge of pop with assistance by Beck, Billy Corgan, Dave Stewart, Jarvis Cocker, and Blur on the title track. In her book Memories, Dreams and Reflections, a short chapter is devoted to discussing the songs and the musicians on Kissin' Time. Marianne claims that the style was very deliberately 1960s retro as if it were the follow-up to her work of that decade. Not predominantly aotobiographical, the album happily celebrates love & life with a theme of fandom permeating it.

I have always associated Marianne with other famous blondes of the 1960s like Nico and Anita Pallenberg, so it's apt that she does a tribute to the Velvet Underground chanteuse with the expert help of Dave Stewart. This era produced another Nico tribute; compare the song with the same title on the album How I Loved You by Angels of Light. But I miss the emotional resonance and authenticity of 1999's Vagabond Ways. After the opening track, the ironic Sliding Through Life On Charm with its wry & witty biographical references - a song co-written with Jarvis Cocker - is the first that held my attention.

I also love the lilting pop/reggae tune Love & Money and her cover of Goffin & King's Something Good, which to my mind most closely resembles the type of innocent 60s pop she used to do at the start of her career. If it weren't for the voice of course, that has dropped to a more husky tone. My tracks of choice also includes Sex With Strangers with its ironic comments and edgy beat. So this album is the 2004 manifestation of Marianne reinventing herself, and it's interesting but not always emotionally gripping and memorable. Still, Kissin' Time deserves four stars for musical variety and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Varietyand humour, 18 Feb 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kissin' Time (Audio CD)
Marianne Faithfull has always been an expert at bouncing back from obscurity, as with the seminal Broken English in the early 1980s. Kissin' Time sees Faithfull once again staying at the cutting edge of pop, with assistance by Beck (Sex With Strangers, Like Being Born, Nobody's Fault), Billy Corgan (Wherever I Go, Something Good), Dave Stewart (Song For Nico), Jarvis Cocker (Sliding Through Life On Charm), and Blur, on the title track. I have always associated her with other famous blondes of the 60s like Nico and Anita Pallenberg, so it's apt that she does a tribute to the Velvet Underground chanteuse with the expert help of Dave Stewart. It seems the Nico tributes are pouring in - compare a song with the same title on Angels of Light's album How I Loved You. But I miss the emotional resonance and the authenticity of Vagabond Ways, her previous masterpiece. After the first track, the listening pleasure only really resumes on the ironic Sliding Through Life On Charm with its witty autobiographical references. I also love the lilting pop/reggae of Love & Money and the lovely pop of her cover of Goffin & King's Something Good, which is reminiscent of the type of innocent 60s pop she used to do at the start of her career. If it weren't for the voice of course, that has dropped to a more husky tone. My tracks of choice also includes Sex With Strangers with its ironic comments and nervous beat. So this is the latest manifestation of Marianne reinventing herself, and it's interesting, but not always emotionally gripping and memorable. Still, it deserves four stars for musical variety and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It grew on me, 9 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
When I first heard this album I thought it sounded very alien and I wasn't sure I liked it, but on the second or third listen I was won over by the quality of the writing and Marianne's great delivery. As the reviewer below says the combination of spare, electronic backing and the warm, lived in quality of Marianne's voice works very well. "Sliding Through Life on Charm" and "Kissin Time" are my favourite tracks at the moment."Song for Nico" is also excellent and has an acoustic late 60s feel in the backing like the production that Joe Boyd used to give the Witchseason artists like Nick Drake and Sandy Denny.Overall, I think this is Marianne's best since Broken English, she's always worth hearing, and here she's on superb form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern masterpiece, 9 April 2002
By 
D. Roundsley "metalbeat" (SF BAY AREA, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
One of the things lacking in most electronica, is personality, and that is a quality Ms. Faithfull has in abundance. Even though there were several different musicians involved, the CD has a cohesiveness. This disc is VERY modern sounding, but I think this will stand up very nicely with past glories, Broken English, Strange Weather, and A Perfect Stranger. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars where is the missing track?, 4 Dec 2008
By 
J. Goodman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
I bought this CD a while back, It is well worth the purchase just for "Sliding Through Life On Charm" alone! They are all new songs no classics thrown in to fill up space and not one is a bummer, so why the three stars? Because not all versions of the CD has the 11th track "Something Good", mine didn't and so do a lot of others. If it was not for this then 5 stars would not be enough!! Check before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not particularly memorable, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
Marianne Faithfull has always been expert at staying ahead of the times, as with the seminal Broken English in 1979. Kissin' Time sees Faithfull once again at the cutting edge of pop, with assistance by Beck (Sex With Strangers, Like Being Born, Nobody's Fault), Billy Corgan (Wherever I Go, Something Good), Dave Stewart (Song For Nico), Jarvis Cocker (Sliding Through Life On Charm) and Blur, on the title track.

I have always associated her with other famous blondes of the 60s like Nico and Anita Pallenberg, so it's apt that she does a tribute to the Velvet Underground chanteuse with the expert help of Dave Stewart. But I miss the emotional resonance and the authenticity of Vagabond Ways, her previous masterpiece. After the first track, the listening pleasure only really resumes on the ironic Sliding Through Life On Charm with its witty autobiographical references. Talking of which, Marianne discusses this album in her book Memories, Dreams and Reflections.

I also love the lilting pop/reggae of Love & Money and the lovely pop of her cover of Goffin & King's Something Good, which is reminiscent of the type of innocent 60s songs she used to sing at the start of her career. If it weren't for the voice of course, that has dropped to a more husky tone. My tracks of choice also include Sex With Strangers with its ironic comments and nervous beat. So this is the latest manifestation of Marianne reinventing herself, and it's interesting, but not always emotionally gripping and memorable. Still, it deserves four stars for musical variety and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cutting edge, 9 April 2005
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
Marianne Faithfull has always been expert at staying ahead of the times, as with the seminal Broken English in 1979. Kissin' Time sees Faithfull once again at the cutting edge of pop, with assistance by Beck (Sex With Strangers, Like Being Born, Nobody's Fault), Billy Corgan (Wherever I Go, Something Good), Dave Stewart (Song For Nico), Jarvis Cocker (Sliding Through Life On Charm) and Blur, on the title track.

I have always associated her with other famous blondes of the 60s like Nico and Anita Pallenberg, so it's apt that she does a tribute to the Velvet Underground chanteuse with the expert help of Dave Stewart. But I miss the emotional resonance and the authenticity of Vagabond Ways, her previous masterpiece. After the first track, the listening pleasure only really resumes on the ironic Sliding Through Life On Charm with its witty autobiographical references. Talking of which, Marianne discusses this album in her book Memories, Dreams and Reflections.

I also love the lilting pop/reggae of Love & Money and the lovely pop of her cover of Goffin & King's Something Good, which is reminiscent of the type of innocent 60s songs she used to sing at the start of her career. If it weren't for the voice of course, that has dropped to a more husky tone. My tracks of choice also include Sex With Strangers with its ironic comments and nervous beat. So this is the latest manifestation of Marianne reinventing herself, and it's interesting, but not always emotionally gripping and memorable. Still, it deserves four stars for musical variety and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kissin Time (Audio CD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kissin Time
Kissin Time by Marianne Faithfull (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews