Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatred, Suicide and Depression Never Sounded So Good!
As you hear the opening roar of 'Sick Of It All' you know this album is all about fast, heavy, violent punk anthems with clever, witty lyrics. When you hear Brody's voice for the first time it's like a cannon ball hurtling towards you, nothing stands it's way, and it doesn't care if it knocks you straight over. Her voice is full of the pain and oppression that bands like...
Published on 19 Oct 2003 by A Random Misfit

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different to the other reviews
I've read the other reviews of this album on here and i'm afraid mine is a little different to all the 5 stars and 'wow this is great' kind of thing. To me this album is split into two. Sick Of It All, I Am A Revenant, Seneca Falls, The Young Crazed Peeling, City Of Angels and Lordy Lordy are great tunes that are worth listening too. Can't say much more than that...
Published on 28 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Punk at it's best!!, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Brilliant fast paced gutsy snarling punk rock record!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album full of gut-wrenching good vibes, 20 Dec 2002
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Having listened to bands such as AFI, Bad Religion and the Descendants for a while I was advised to check out LA quartet the Distillers. Having bought this album on the opinions of others I didn't know what to expect but what I got was definitely worth the risk.
Packed full of stomping angry anthems this album is a classic punk record and, with the commercial pop-punk market flourishing with the likes of New Found Glory and Sum 41, the industry really needed a real punk rocker to set the record straight on what punk is really about. This came in the form of Brody Armstrong and co. delivering a punchy,angry, gut-wrenching album. One can really feel the rush in your heart from the first few bars of track 1 "Sick of It All". Oh yes there is a lot of anger here but the music also contains real melody especially in tracks such as "City of Angels" showing that the band don't just make noise but music.
So for any fans of bands like the Descendants, Bad Religion, Minor Threat and Pennywise this is an album all punkers should have in their record collection.
So thank you Distillers! For showing the world what real punk is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good album from the distillers, 12 Oct 2003
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
the first, self titled one was very good but this one is better. i bought this one first and was very impressed although when i later bought the first one i was a bit dissapointed. not because it was no good but the distillers have definitely come on since then. lets hope coral fang is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One trick pony, 8 Aug 2010
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
I really wanted to like this CD, read the reviews, sounded just my kind of record. What a disappointment, with the huge exception of City of Angels this album is just a series of almost good tracks. There just is'nt enough about them, the sound is firmly based on the the US 1980's version of punk, but thats all you can say, gives you the impression that they have just been rattled out to a formula. Buy the Ramones instead, I have wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm the mother f**king image of no control.., 26 July 2004
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
If you're looking for anthems that will stay with you forever..this is the album.
If you're looking for the hottest vocals in punk rock..this is the album.
If you're looking for emotional blackmail in digestible form...this is the album.
Brody and The Distillers are going down in history, and this is, without a doubt, some of their best work so far. 'Sick of it all' has got to be the teenage anthem of the century, and with every song living up the punk rock expectations, you're not going to find another album which will make you look at the world in the same way. If you dont have it..BUY IT NOW!!...then go out and buy anything else by the Distllers.
Everytime I put this cd on, I find it hard to take it out of my cd player again, its addictive, it lasts alot longer than any drug...its awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Rancid with Courtney Love-esque Vocals, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
This CD starts off really strong with the song "Sick of it All", and continues with 2 other good songs such as "Young Crazed Peeling" and "Sing Sing Death House", however I can't help feeling that even though these songs are okay, they are just like okay songs out of a bad bunch. Brodie tends to base her music and her style on the men that she dates, for example her new band sounds like her Hubby's Josh from QOTSA and this release sounds just like Rancid as at this point she was actually with Tim who was from Rancid, which I feel is a total sell-out and doesn't do her any musical favours! Musically, The Distillers aren't stand-out in any way, I feel they have no strong points, every chord and every sentence has been done before and the recording sounds very sloppy; like the Band don't really care what the heck it sounds like and just want to get it out there!
Bad move for The Distillers, maybe they should have tried to make something their own instead of being a bad rip-off of a decent band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 minutes and 13 songs - cant go wrong there, 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
So, I bought this and looked at the nasty flimsy cardboard cover and thought, ewww! But then I opened the box and was greeted by a splendid pic of a mohican. d00d! Then into the tray it went. 28 minutes and 13 songs - you know it makes sense. This is frenetic, this has d00dly basslines, this is most excellent! I have to say that I have had this cd for one week now and have played it (after work) about 14 times. If you want loud, fast proper punk choonz, this is the one for you. Buy it and love it, it is the only way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sell out motherf**ukers, 11 Sep 2003
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
so you want to get in to under gound punk do not buy this album it sucks. Brodys voice is not punk she should but in a metal band or just not sing. bassic songs with notting to them. you can tell she going out with Tim from Rancid cuz they just as bad.if you don't believe me that this album suck wait till they next one.Try listening to the Runaways there far better than this pile of sh*t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing Sing Death House
Sing Sing Death House by Distillers (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews