Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatred, Suicide and Depression Never Sounded So Good!
As you hear the opening roar of 'Sick Of It All' you know this album is all about fast, heavy, violent punk anthems with clever, witty lyrics. When you hear Brody's voice for the first time it's like a cannon ball hurtling towards you, nothing stands it's way, and it doesn't care if it knocks you straight over. Her voice is full of the pain and oppression that bands like...
Published on 19 Oct 2003 by A Random Misfit

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different to the other reviews
I've read the other reviews of this album on here and i'm afraid mine is a little different to all the 5 stars and 'wow this is great' kind of thing. To me this album is split into two. Sick Of It All, I Am A Revenant, Seneca Falls, The Young Crazed Peeling, City Of Angels and Lordy Lordy are great tunes that are worth listening too. Can't say much more than that...
Published on 28 July 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hatred, Suicide and Depression Never Sounded So Good!, 19 Oct 2003
By 
A Random Misfit (A Distant Corner Of The Universe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
As you hear the opening roar of 'Sick Of It All' you know this album is all about fast, heavy, violent punk anthems with clever, witty lyrics. When you hear Brody's voice for the first time it's like a cannon ball hurtling towards you, nothing stands it's way, and it doesn't care if it knocks you straight over. Her voice is full of the pain and oppression that bands like Good Charlotte would sell their grandmas for. You hear the primal scream of 'I Am A Revenant' and the true meaning of her lyrics are felt. In fact, the first time I heard 'Young, Crazed Peeling' I felt a shiver right down my spine from the pure beauty of the song, the stucture, the vocals, the hook ladened chorus, all as perfect as punk is supposed to be.
But in songs like 'Bullet And The Bull's-eye' and the title track the real 'screw you' attitude comes to surface, with rapid and vicious backing, topped of with lyrics like, 'I am the bullet, you are the bull's-eye, When I hit there is nothing left' showing that Brody is blatantly not just a pretty face, but also a talented lyricist.
'City Of Angels', the Distillers mainstream breakthrough, is another song about the Los Angeles, that leaves the same mark as songs like 'Welcome To The Jungle.' The twisty and imaginative song words blend with heavy, fast guitar (Casper,Brody), Andy Outbreak's rapid and dominant drums as well as the simply superb bass provided by Ryan makes 'City Of Angels' a catchy and down-right hummable single that will make the Distillers, one day, as big as AFI or Rancid, knocking the corporate 'punk' bands of their high chair, bringing the world back to the glory days of Punk Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About 100 times better than their debut album, 30 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Oh my, where to begin?
This album sinks it's teeth into your jugular from the very begining and refuses to let go.
From the instant classic riffs of "Sick of it All" about the crazed killings in American High-Schools, you know this album is gonna be a goody.
The Bass-Lines are pure Rancid rip-off Jazz punked to the max and the vocals are Courtney on Crack... [but] she has more passion and soul in her little finger than Ms Love.
This is an album from the heart, ripped from the lungs and onto your stereo.
Subjects tackled are not mild either including the orignial Feminists in the 1840's (in "Seneca Falls") and the Homeless Problem in the, so-called, "City of Angels."
This album is so accomplished and a big step-up from the meagre offering that was the first Album (the initial gut reaction was there but the lyrics and musicmanship were mediocre.)
This album brings you up from the pop punka anthem that is "I am a Revenant" to the Hardcore sound of "Sing Sing Death House."
The last song "Lordy Lordy" is the dance around and be merry "So-Cal" sound... Fantastic, amazing.... err, I'm running outta adjectives here...
There is something for everyone on this album.... Not too long, not too short, just perfect.
Finally: I cannot recommend it enough... If you even remotely think of yourself as a punk fan, you have to have it, no really you do!
JUST BUY IT :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Punk Rock, 9 Oct 2002
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
This is what punk is all about, fast guitars, pounding bass, and lyrics you can sing along to til your throat is raw. Songs like "The Young Crazed Peeling" are anthemic, "Sing Sing Death House" is a trawl through a blackened, hardened and yet somehow fragile heart. "City Of Angels" shows a melodic side, with a softer side than the other tracks, just takes your breath away. Album finisher "Lordy Lordy" kicks ass, if theres anyone out there that cant relate to this song, they need their head checking. If you wanna know what they sound like, dont listen to all those people that say "Shes copying Tim", yes theyre a punk band, but if you listen to them, you realise they have a unique sound. And yes, she sounds a little like Courtney, but Courtney never rocked this hard. Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best half an hour you can spend!, 19 Feb 2002
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
I'd definately recommend this to anyone well into their punk and more of the older punk at that. Highlights for me have to be 'I am a revenant', 'Bullet & the bullseye' and 'The young crazed feeling' amongst others- it's all very good and Brody has incorporated some fantastic lyrics, especially in 'Sick of it all', into the songs. I think there's a lot of modern stuff thrown in there along with some classic punk as well and it's the best half hour you've spent in ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album... a definate for any alternative music fan, 15 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
1. Sick of It all. A great opening track to 'sing sing death house' Fast beat,same with most of the songs on the record. Brody's raspy voice sings her rushed lyrics also a amazing chorus and good guitar in places. Fav Line. 'We are kids,we like punk rock and roll'. 10/10
2. I am revenant. My favourite track on the album. Great lyrics and chorus. Amazing song! Brody's voice makes it 100 times better.fav line 'Do you remember the rage, i remember the hate, i remember that it rained for years and the blood had left a stain' 10/10
3.Seneca Falls. Amazing Intro. Good beat and verses... overall greatness! Fav Line.'and the thing about destiny, is it never ever sets you free' 10/10
4.Young Crazed Peeling. WOW! The song that everyone loves, and if u deny it... U LIE! Great song, fav. line "I got freedom and my youth" 10/10
5.Sick sick death house. Short, but its better that way! Great intro, good verses and a pretty cool chorus Fav. line "hahahh, f**k it..." 9/10
6.Bullet and the Bullseye. Really good song! Shouting, very violent and agressive. Fav. line "The only thing I suck, is my mans d*ck" 9/10
7.City Of Angels. I love this song soooo much. It got me into distillers and its sooooooooooooo good! Brody sounds still raspy but also serious and sensitve in a weird way! Great chorus, so cathy. Fav. Line "All I see is Dead wings" 10/10
8.Young Girls. Nice song, not the best yet still really good. Brody sounds really good on this track. Fav. line "was it a lie when you told the truth, was it the truth when you told a lie" 8/.10
9.Hate me. Extremely Agresive Verses. But a f**kin amazing chorus. Short song but amazing! Fav. Line...Can't make out the words!!! 9/10
10.Desperate. Short, but still one of the best tracks in the album. Fav line. "this is my home, this is my heart" 10/10
11.I Understand. Good Begining and verses. Fav. Line "I am my enemy in everyway" 9/10
12.Lordy Lordy. Great ending track. Nice beat, specialy towards the end. Brody's voice really stands out on this song. Fav. Line "i never went to prison, i don't no why" 10/10
Overall a great album, it got me into the distillers. Bye the way, if you ever get a chance to see them, GO! Their energy is amazing on-stage! It's definately worth seeing, after buying the album of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk rock - Heart, Soul and Innards, 1 Sep 2003
By 
sjs101 "SJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Sing Sing Death House is an amazing example of solid three chord punk rock at its best. The Distillers fronted by gravel throated Singer/guitarist Brody Armstrong are still relatively unknown amongst the mainstream, although this is likely to change due to their recent signing to a major label for their upcoming third album ‘Coral Fang’ released in the Autumn, hopefully this will bring no dramatic change to their ‘from the soul’ sound they have established.
Death House opens with the brain stomping ‘Sick of it all’, from the beginning it is clear that this album means to continue in the same way it’s started with full on chugging guitar, pounding bass, crashing drums and vocals that vary from melodic to hate filled with the lyrics to match. Despite lyrical subjects such as drug abuse, high school shootings and domestic violence it’s impossible not to want to get up and jump around the room with the CD on full blast.
Stand out tracks on the album include ‘The Young Crazed Peeling’ the biographical punk rock life story of Brody, ‘City of Angels’ a truly thunderous upbeat song and ‘young girl’ involving the tale of Gertie Rouge, a childhood friend of Brody’s from Australia.
Brody has been compared to Courtney Love on numerous occasions and this is where it should stop, yes Brody sounds like her sometimes but then again everybody is going to sound like someone and get compared to them if they’re in the music industry. The difference between Armstrong and Love is that Brody puts her heart, soul and innards into what she does and rocks the place down whilst doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reveiw, 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
ok for starters, this cd has had me dancing in my bedroom for hours. repeating the cd so many times i new the words after the first night i got it!!! brodys raw punk rock voice inspires me to go out there and sing in all the clubs that will accept me. she has a quality that only courtney love has held before she can make anyone want to listen to her. shes not just a pretty face!!! the drumming is amazing and i dont think casper leaving as had that much of an effect. so you must get this cd. if you love punk rock then you will really love this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the coolest female artist of the time., 8 Dec 2002
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Ladies and Gentlemen, Mrs Brody Armstrong.
This latest offering from the punk goddess is by far the best material produced by The Distillers to date. I've given this recording a 4 star rating, merely on the fact that the inlay cover is terrible. But thats just me being pedantic.
From the opening fury of 'Sick of it all' Armstrong guides you through a ear bashing (in the best possible way) half hour. Her vocals, distinct and honest as ever, at times float above the melody, then smashing through the riffs with all the fight and power you'd expect from a death metal band. The Australian beauty's voice, can to the untrained ear, sound harsh and untamed, but on closer listening fans will see what a huge range she actually has.
Highlights of this album are 'I am a revenat' and the new single 'City of Angels'.
This is old-fashioned 80's glam rock/punk, heightened to a new intensity, never before seen in a band with a female frontwoman.
Brody Armstrong, for me, is the probably the most interesting female artist around at the moment, being both a very unique singer and fantastic guitarist.
This lady is one to watch in 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Punk Rock and Roll, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
This is another class cd from Mrs Brody Armstrong.
powers through top class riffs and like were back in the 80's with a modern sound.
If you like old punk with modern sound then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Distillers - Sing Sing Death House, 10 April 2005
This review is from: Sing Sing Death House (Audio CD)
Punk rock for me was the days of The Sex Pistols and The Clash, there were no Blink 182's and Alkaline Trio's, although I do enjoy the material they bring out. But it was the anger and rage that defined punk and it was not afraid to grab you by the balls and show you a thing or two.
The Distillers certainly have an anger management disorder, Brody lays all her feelings onto her songs, even in notes she confesses without punk rock n roll she would have no soul and further delivering her point on the opener Sick of it All. The fact that this record comes and goes so quickly it leaves a lasting impression and clearly everything on here is so punk its illegal.
Songs like The Young Crazed Peeling put Brody's personal life onto music, the latter being a biographical look at the singer. But its not just about the rage of the leader, the band together is one real tight connection, creating such gems like City of Angels and I am a Revenant. I refuse to comment on any connections between Brody and Courtney, if the music is good then thats all that matters to me.
If your looking for an essential punk record to add to your collection, make sure you get this one, you won't regret it and particularly for the lads, Brody is a great pin-up. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing Sing Death House
Sing Sing Death House by Distillers (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews