Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allen Robs Us of a Movie- But Gives Us Something Quite Unique Instead
It's hard to call Radio Days a straightforward movie. It's more small interwined ancedotes from a forgotten era. Based around real radio reports and a New York Jewish family during the late 1930s, early 40s.

It's a lavish production and director Woody Allen really sets up the atmosphere in this his love letter to the old glourious days of radio.

The...
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by Colonel Decker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hymn to the power of radio
A rambling, episodic hymn to the delights of the radio, giving Allen plenty of scope to indulge in his usual angst-ridden musings on sex, family, guilt, duty and growing-up. Not up there with his best, but a charming minor piece that is studded with fine performances and a persuasive period feel. It's a jolt to realise how much the radio served as a unifying, shared...
Published 2 months ago by R. S. Everatt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
My favourite Woody Allen film..brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tuning in, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
This is, along with only one or two others, my favourite Woody Allen film.
It is one of his warmest, least glib or talk-heavy movies - despite Woody`s own constant voice-over narration, in which we hear him at his best and most overtly nostalgic for a time when he was a boy of eight or nine, during wartime, in the capacious bosom of his extended family.
What wins me over every time (and I watch it maybe a couple of times a year) is the unaffected warmth of the performances, from Allen regular Julie "Marge Simpson" Kavner as his mother to the touching Dianne Wiest as Aunt Bea, forever hoping the next boyfriend is The One.
It`s all about growing up on Long Island, to the then-novel, insistent background of the radio - a vibrant presence in those days - as well as prized visits to Radio City Music Hall or some fancy dance palace.
Seth Green is Joe (basically, Woody as a kid) and he`s excellent, as is Michael Tucker as his loving dad, who often hits him, not hard and for no real reason, which doesn`t seem to bother Joe. Josh Mostel is very funny as Uncle Abe, who brings bags of fish home, and Mia Farrow has non-family scenes as Sally, a pretty cigarette girl who dreams of better things. What a very fine actress she was, and is.
There are cameos for Jeff Daniels, old Allen stalwart Tony Roberts, Danny Aiello as (what else?) a hood, Wallace Shawn as an unprepossessing radio actor who voices the Masked Avenger, and a song for the delightful Diane Keaton.
I actually like this film more each time I watch it, looking forward to the gags, which are quite low-key for Woody, arising as they do out of the natural family dynamics. It`s more a film that has you chuckling throughout rather than guffawing. I still find myself laughing out loud often, particularly as the actors seem less like actors in a film than a real family, so the humour is underplayed, less `written`.
With the songs and tunes of the early forties, the often quite fetching clothes the women wore, you can see, hear and almost taste this movie. All that and Diane Wiest in a rapt, dreamy-eyed film within a film of her own, in which she at last finds her true love, or at least a good honest man.
This is perhaps Woody`s most modest movie, but as I say, I think it`s easily one of his very best, and repays repeated viewings. And don`t forget the scantliy clad woman in the window who Joe and his friends happen to spy through binoculars one day...

A tender, droll and lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a really great film, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
a really great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radio Days, 26 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films I've seen for a long time. Brilliantly acted and brilliantly put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift, as I had seen it and thought it
was one of the best "tongue and creek" of the
time. The cast was outstanding. It's especially entertaining if you were a radio listener as a kid,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality purchase, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio Days [DVD] (DVD)
fabulous film, dvd excellent quality. arrived on time, perfect purchase. so good i bought two and gave one as a present. ideal fo woody allen fans or lovers of old music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Radio Days [DVD]
Radio Days [DVD] by Woody Allen (DVD - 2002)
£6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews