Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT REGION A Region 0 BLU RAY
Anyone in the U.K. or anywhere being put of buying It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World [Blu-ray] [1963] [US Import] Take no notice of any description this Blu Ray will play on any region with loads and loads of extras EXCELLENT
Published 21 months ago by S. Dry

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madcap adventure
This madcap adventure race/road story is a refreshing emalgamation of some of the best comic talent from the time. Boating a brilliant cast of people throughout major and minor roles, this film has you in stitches from start to finish.
When the dying thief kicks the bucket, literally and physically, it sparks off a group of people racing around the countryside in...
Published on 1 May 2005 by blinkchester


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT REGION A Region 0 BLU RAY, 8 Feb 2013
By 
S. Dry "S Dry" (UXBRIDGE U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone in the U.K. or anywhere being put of buying It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World [Blu-ray] [1963] [US Import] Take no notice of any description this Blu Ray will play on any region with loads and loads of extras EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite, 23 Nov 2002
By 
P. Aplin "philaplin" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I first saw this film 40 years ago when it was first released in Cinerama. It blew my socks off then and still does now in this DVD version. In the meantime I have seen it on TV and on video. Both were disappointing because what this film needs is to be shown in its original wide-screen ratio. This together with pin sharp picture and superb stereo sound recreates the original cinema experience although you need to sit very close to the screen to get the Cinerama effect!
One of the best things about the film is the total lack of CGI. Most of the stunts were done for real and there are plenty of them. There was some process photography by Farciot Edouart which was ahead of its time. The car stunts were care of Carey Loftin (the truck driver in Spielberg's "Duel") and have rarely been bettered.
This film has been severely underrated in the past and for some reason is one I cannot do without it. I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fit For The Chase, 29 Sep 2010
By 
JC "Traveler" (Sacramento,California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
In the late 50's early 60's there was a silent film comedy revival and this film really pays homage to that great era in a glossy colorful widescreen 60's style. Every character and scene is masterfully directed by Stanley Kramer and loaded with hilarious short sightgags and oneliners throughout the film and holds up very well after all these years. The story line is a quest to the find the Big W for a group of travelers who witness a car wreck. Then the movie splits up in to about six different madcap story lines and jumps back and forth between all their mishaps as they race through southern California until they all meet up at the State Park on the coast. One of the funniest chase films ever made and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Film To Cheer The Whole Family., 8 Sep 2002
I first saw this film over 10 years ago and laughed until I cried, as did my husband and daughters. It starts out with a collection of four very different vehicles each on their own way until a car crashes. The dying man states there is hidden loot under the big W in a park. The personality changes, showing human nature in all it's faces, greed,obsession,anger and frustration. They are unaware that every move is being watched by the police, waiting for them to find the money! The film contains everything,mother in law, slimy salesman, innocent female and drunken pilots who leave an inept person in charge! I can guarantee you will laugh until you cry, whatever you do, do not miss the fery end of the film, it has to be seen to be believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Screen Bonanza !, 17 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I also saw this in a big cinema 40 years ago, when cinemas were one screen only and holding a couple of thousand people all told - the atmosphere of communal enjoyment was electric.

This underated film directed by Stanley Kramer (and what a job that must have been, handling what are some of the biggest and most ego-driven actors going) is a must for comedy fans.

Featuring some of the 20th century's biggest stars, and to a person, acting their socks off and giving 110% all the time, is wonderful. The car stunts, and skills of the stuntpeople generally, as another reviewer notes, are breathtaking, given that no CGI existed. Yes, it can be over-long in parts, but you are swept along with all the characters to the mayhem of the last scenes.

For some years you couldn't even get this on video, so I was thrilled to buy the DVD recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see this film, 13 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This first effort at a comedy by Stanley Cramer features almost every comedian available in the early 1960's. All of the famous television and film comics from 1963 appear in this wild comedy.Appearances by some of the most popular stars such as Jerry Lewis, the three stooges, Jack Benny, Joe E. Brown and others. Regular characters are played by Mickey Rooney, Sid Caesar, Ethel Merman, Buddy Hackett, Milton Berle, Don Knots, Phil Silvers, Terry Thomas and Jonathan Winters. It's difficult to find anything not to like in it.It's fun just watching for who will appear next in the action. The humor is timeless and will appeal to all ages.
The DVD edition includes quite good documentary. There's also 1 hour of "out-takes" from the original Cinerama 70mm release. And there's two trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Movie, 8 Feb 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World is a classic comedy. Combining big name talent, it tells the story of what happen when a group of strangers finds out where $50,000 is buried. Soon, these normally law-abiding citizens are speeding, stealing, and destroying property. What they don't know is the police are observing them the entire time. As the situations get more out of hand, the movie gets funnier.
I wasn't that impressed the first time I saw this movie. But on repeated viewings with friends, I've come to enjoy it more. The actors are phenomenal and the material has a timelessly funny quality to it. I'm young enough that I don't recognize all the stars, but that doesn't diminish my enjoyment at all.
This is a classic movie that everyone should see. It'll leave you laughing your head off, exactly what a comedy should do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning quality on blu-ray, a classic film., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although an import, the film itself is region free but the menu and extras seem blocked on a U.K. player (Oppo 105) ... so don't be alarmed if you see a blank screen when starting it, just forward into the film itself.
Putting so many comedy stars together is usually a recipe for disaster but for once it actually works! Remarkable detail in this blu-ray transfer, surpassing many modern films. The transfer is a visual treat, on a 65 inch plasma at 8ft away you will be totally immersed in early 60's California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Comedy Classic, 6 July 2004
By 
Kevin Austin (Langdon Hills, Nr Basildon England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It's A Mad...World is one of the finest comedies evr and an all time classic. I rmemeber seeing this for the first as young boy when shown on TV. I loved it then and continue to love it whenever I put it on, which is very regularly.
The basic plot revolves around a car accident, where the driver, Jimmy Durante, tells a group of fellow drivers who se him crash and go to his aid about hundres and thousands of dollars in cash buried under a 'Big W' in a park in California hundreds of miles away.
Mayhenm ensues as all the rescuers race for the cash using any form of transport they can can beg, steal or borrow.
The script is sharp, with several sub-plots keping the action moving right to the climax of the movie when all the cast come together at the park under the 'BIG W' where the treasure is supposdly buried.
The cast is superb, with some very well known stars of the time on show, includong Phil Silvers, who basically plays the role of Bilko (another great classic comedy), a sharp, fast talking opportunist. Milton Berle (Mr TV in America), a hen pecked husband supported by Ethel Merman as a loud brash mother in-law. Other stars include Mickey Rooney, Jonathon Winters, Sid Ceasar and terry Thomas playing a very typical English gentleman, a role he often played to great effect.
There are seveal cameo appearances by very well known actors, Buster Keaton, Jerry Lewis to name two.
One of the starring roles goes to Spencer Tracey in one of his last roles as a totally despondent Police Chief about to retire after 40 years service with a measly pension, who sees the opportunity to set himself and his wife up for retirement by taking the buried treasure from the motley crew after they discover it sating he is going to hand it in.
Obviaously this doesn't go down well and once the rescuers work out that they have been tricked, a chase and more mayhem ensues.
Who ends up with the money...Buy the film and find out. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'D BE MAD NOT TO BUY IT, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great car chase comedy the kind they don't make anymore ,full of the best comedy actors at the time of production.I rate this as the best comedy film ive seen,and ive seen quite a few.I now own 3 versions of the film VHS,DVD and now this wonderful Blue-ray transfer that brings out the best in picture and sound.The one disappointment for me is that the original VHS version is 188 minutes long while both the DVD and Blue-ray versions are much shorter at 159 minutes leaving out many funny scenes.Hope that one day they will release the full version on Blue-ray.Never the less great value for money so get yourself laughing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963]
It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World [DVD] [1963] by Stanley Kramer (DVD - 2002)
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews