Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars115
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2011
An absolutely fantastic film... you can watch it over and over and keep noticing hilarious details. Its not just for football fans either... anyone that appreciates a bit of dark English comedy will love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
Mike Bassett: England Manager is a great film.

The only gripe I have with it is the fact that its a film that tries to pass itself off as a 'Documentary'... at times it almost feels un-natural, such as when the characters deliver their lines, it seems scripted.
But i'm sure thats not the fault of the writers, many films trying to pass themselves off as documentarys have had the same feel to them.

Other than that it is a great film, Ricky Tomlinson was a great choice for the role of Mike Bassett, and I honestly couldn't have seen anyone else in the role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Good film, Tomlinson plays the luck and unlucky England manager and sees it through to the end, a good insight into the nonsense around England manager selection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Watch it now and get in the mood for Brazil!
I can watch this film over and over, absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I saw this film some years ago, but had forgotten how funny it was, my wife and I were in stitches. It's not too far from todays international football scene, the manager picks an overweight bunch of has beens to represent England at the world cup finals, a must for any England football fan in this, a world cup year!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I laughed at this film so much. I'm a female footy fan and loved the portrayal of the hopeless manager in charge of England. Shame that the game is so professional these days, this film made me long for the old days style of managing. If you are a footy fan and don't take films so seriously than watch this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
A cracking 'mockumentary' of English football. Yes it is over 1o years old, but a lot of the 'mock taking' of English football is still very much ripe today. Nowt has changed. Ricky Tomlinson fulfils the main role superbly and the support acting of Amanda Redman et al is good. A terrific comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Hilarious. You don't need to be a soccer fan to enjoy it but it helps. We love the mindless FA committee meetings! The film seems funnier each time we watch it - there are so many comic touches. Like all good comedy it seems so true to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This film, is set as documentary of the rise and fall of Mike Bassett.

The scenario is good, the current England manager has a heart attack, and they need to draft in a replacement. The film makes a mockery of the FA (half of it wouldn't surprise me, if it was true lol). Since nobody actually wants the job, they hand it to one man crazy enough to take it on. None other than Mike Bassett. It takes you right through his experience as manager of England right through the World Cup.

The humour is spot on, but you must really have a footballing knowledge to actually get the jokes. Thoroughly enjoyed this film, have watched it about 5 times in about 2 weeks. Some of the comedy is absolutely spot on, and a well thought out film.

If you like football and Ricky Tomlinson, buy this dvd!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
This was a hilarious look at life in the fast lane of football management, with a tongue in cheek look at the beautiful game. It made me laugh. I bought it for my grandson who has watched in many times. Always raises a laugh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)