Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brushfire Fairytales
I bought this album after buying 'In between dreams' Needless to say I was not dissapointed by this purchase. From start to finish, the album is amazing acoustic songs, and is lyrically speaking, fantastic. Johnsons style is very relaxed, and after a few songs you will find yourself immensley relaxed and immersed in the music. There are no real weak tracks on the album,...
Published on 25 Sep 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY IF YOU LISTEN ON A PC>
Copy received will not play on a PC, apparently it is designed like this. My PC is my primary listening equipment and can only listen to this CD in the car. Music is great as usual but will not buy any more Jack Johnson CD's.
Published 2 months ago by P Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brushfire Fairytales, 25 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
I bought this album after buying 'In between dreams' Needless to say I was not dissapointed by this purchase. From start to finish, the album is amazing acoustic songs, and is lyrically speaking, fantastic. Johnsons style is very relaxed, and after a few songs you will find yourself immensley relaxed and immersed in the music. There are no real weak tracks on the album, but for me the highlights have gotta be Inaudable Melodies, Bubble toes, and posters.
I now own all 3 Jack Johnson albums, and urge you to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friend of Ben Harper with his own very special thing!!!..., 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: BRUSHFIRE FAIRYTALES (Audio CD)
I'm a longtime follower of Ben Harper's work... Jack Johnson is/will be opening for him this year in the states... so i checked for an album... got it from amazon.com a few days ago after hearing bits of his songs on the net... The album (mainly acoustic material guitar-vocal/bass/drums not so far sonically from Ben's first, same producer!) is very good and i don't want to recommend any particular tracks except maybe for 1 (inaudible melodies) & 5 (flakes with Ben on the slide!)... Jack's singing is very broad (again if you like Ben you won't be disappointed) and his lyrics are great (he wrote the song 'rodeo clowns' for G.Love & special sauce, it's on Philadelphonic)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new listening experience, 30 July 2005
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim and fell in love with it after a couple of listenings. It's down to earth music, with just a singer accompanied by guitar, bass and drums. The songs often begin inconspicuously, but soon a melody starts that grabs your attention. The music is very relaxed, and somehow I've been looking for this in the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
i was introduced to this album by a friend who had been travelling. With in a short time of listening i was blown away by it. Like many others i cant't believe that Jack hasnt become more well know in the UK-he is after all, superb.
Its an extremely chilled out album but is not mellow enough to be dull.Jack makes a refreshing change by writing lyrics that consist of more interesting/deep things than most current music. I fail to see how this album can not be liked. I dont usually listen to this kind of music(im more of a hiphop fan) but i think Jack has converted me. You dont know what you're missing out on- buy it and you wont be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emotional and heart-felt. absolutely brilliant!, 13 Jan 2003
By 
Elizabeth (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
i heard this album at a friends house, and fell in love with Jacks voice instantly. i got home and ordered it, and it is worth every penny! my brother even loves this cd, and has since taken it to his friends houses so that they too can share in this delight!
my favourite tracks on this cd are "flake" - i defy anyone who can listen and not smile or sing along. another favourite is "the news" with lyrics such as "why don't the news casters cry when they read about people who die? at least they'd be decent enough to put just a tear in their eyes." this song actually forced me to stop my car and listen to Jacks smooth as cream voice. the live UK bonus tracks prove this mans talent, and popularity as you can hear the audience hanging off of every word that flows from his mouth.
Jack Johnson has obviously poured his heart into writing these songs, and it shows. not only are there some superb lyrics, but the simplicity of the music will calm you down, make you smile and wana dance. it's so refreshing to hear music of this standard. i can't wait for his next! i can't recommend this enough, go out and buy it. this is the soundtrack of your life...so order it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good.... it's a secret, 14 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. A. Maclarty "Andy MacLarty" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
I heard someone elses' review quoted on a television advert shown on CH4 last night.
All I can say is the record company has been pretty lazy not getting this man more exposure.
A heartfelt and wonderful collection of songs, perfect for any time of your life. Almost provoking tears with the humble lyrics topped by a voice that is warm and full of emotion.
This album is to be highly recommended; and I am not a core member of his audience demographic and would normally steer clear of this genera.
You will not regret the money you spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 2 Oct 2002
By 
Lindsay (American living in Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This is a stellar album, worthy of adding to any collection for those who like Ben Harper, Mason Jennings, G. Love, etc... Jack Johnson blends a variety of rhythms and styles into an album that has a unique, but familiar sound. Don't just skip to the more well-known songs like "Flake" and "Bubble Toes" as the whole album is excellent. Try to see him in concert, as he does some great covers and mixes up the songs a little from the CD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive showcase of songwriting ability, 15 Jun 2003
By 
L. Hardt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
This album is one i came across totally by chance, just browsing my LAN. It near blew my head off! This is a quietly confident piece of amazing acoustic guitar based music that i might recommend to fans of Ben Harper, Kathryn Williams or Nick Drake. A particular favourite of mine is "F-stop blues", songwriting which makes me seethe with envy!
Jack's voice is soft and cool and the music is simple and accessible. I would reccomend this album to ABSOLOUTELY ANYONE! You cannot go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY IF YOU LISTEN ON A PC>, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales (Audio CD)
Copy received will not play on a PC, apparently it is designed like this. My PC is my primary listening equipment and can only listen to this CD in the car. Music is great as usual but will not buy any more Jack Johnson CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant album from a brilliant artist, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brushfire Fairytales [Us Import] (Audio CD)
a brilliant album from a brilliant artist and i would recommend any of Jack Johnsons albums to all of my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brushfire Fairytales [Us Import]
Brushfire Fairytales [Us Import] by Jack Johnson (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews