Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2002
When you first start playing this game, you notice good smooth graphics with well crafted levels and good gameplay. There are variety of enemies each of which have to be killed in a different way. At first levels seem quite hard but it doesn't take long before you're doing them with perfection. However this leads to its only downside. The game is a little short. I don't play on my gameboy much yet I still managed to complete 30% in one weekend and a bank holiday.
But that weekend was full of fun. The game is just generally fun to play and it has an addiction in which you find yourself reaching for your gameboy at all times during the day. The biggest plus side is that you can't reaaly get annoyed much even if you find yourself falling of a cliff in a rather surprising death. Overall its good fun but could do with more than 20 levels and 4 bosses. If you persevere with braking every crate in the game it would be quite worthwhile but these things do get slightly boring.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2004
This game is one of the best GBA games I have ever played!
There's just so much action it's hard to take in!
The levals are not to easy and not to hard,just perfect!
I recently played Crash on my Playstation and then when I found out that I could also play crash on my Gameboy, I was over the moon! I had previously thought that this version of crash wouldn't match up to the playstation version but I was so surprised!
All I can really say is GO OUT AND BUY THIS GAME!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2002
When it comes to platform games, this one has taken into account a lot of elements that build a challenging piece of entertainment. I have now owned this nifty little platformer for a few months and have found it to be as challenging, if not even more challenging than the playstation versions. It does not emulate the quality of graphics, obviously, but a lot of the original magic has been preserved that made the original games so good. The sound is obviously also degraded, but recognisable non the less. Another thing that makes this game so good is it contains a story line which most handheld games don't pay as much attention to. You'll notice that developers when developing a handheld game, go for something quick and addictive that'll last a few weeks at the most, however a lot of thought has been put into this game, it's challenges are difficult and its gameplay is chunky. Overall you won't be dissapointed on spending money for this game, and will it will be amongst the current greats such as Sonic Advance and the Super Mario games. If there's a game you're gonna buy this month, make it this one!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2002
I was quite amazed that Crash Bandicoot was coming to the GBA as one outstanding feature of the Crash series has always been the graphics and sound, which I was not sure the GBA could manage.
On that score, I was wrong. The GameBoy Advance produces some excellent graphics and sound here, complete with the traditional 'Crash running into/out of the screen' moments and all the familiar animations and enemies. The range of moves is also pretty much present.
There are 20 levels, fleshed out with collecting crystals, gems and relics (through time trials), so there is a lot of game going here.
That is, if you can overcome the problems of Crash Bandicoot XS. First up, it can be teeth-clenchingly difficult and just plain unfair. There are leaps of faith galore (where you are forced to jump having no idea what you are going to land on) which frequently involve you dying so you know what to do next time, some overly pixel-perfect jumping and some dodgy collision detection with enemies. OK, all platformers require precision, but the problem here is one hit kills most times so constantly repeating sections leads to the odd close-to-throwing-your-GBA moment.
This is all compunded by some suspect controls. Too often the jump button does not seem to work in time and you fall. Carrying out double-jumps and getting your spins right can be difficult. Sometimes control is far too sluggish and you die largely though no fault of your own. This is extremely frustrating when you are trying to grab every crate or whatever.
Frankly, Naughty Dog's decision to pass on the Crash franchise to other developers is not a good one for gamers. Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath Of Cortex was disappointing on PS2 and in many respects it's the same here. The polished, fun feel of the original games is just not there.
BUT, it is still one of the best platformers on the GBA (especially if you are not a Mario fan) and you find yourself wanting to play through the difficulties so the game is doing something right. Worth buying, just try to keep calm!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2002
I bought this on day of release, and it hasn't really disappointed. Do not listen when they say it recreates the experience of the PSOne version, because it doesn't, as it is inferior in most ways. The graphics are generally in 2D, with only about 10-20% of it being in (fake 3D) which is disappointing, and it only has 20 short levels which are not very varied. Also, the music quality is not so good compared to the original versions, with the most annoying title music I've heard for years. I completed the main part of it in a day, but despite all this I still give it 4 stars.
This is because the controls are so perfect and when you die, you know its your fault. The time challenges after you complete the game will keep you busy, and the animation is smooth and a big step up from the original gameboy.
Overall, its a cheap game, but for nostalgia and te long term challenges, it it seriously worth picking up, and will not leave you feeling cheated. Go for it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
I never realized that there would be a Crash Bandicoot sequel coming on to the GBA. So when I bought it I wasn't sure if it would be worth buying because the graphics and the moves might not be up to standard, because it is on the GBA.
But hek was I wrong the moves are the same as the other sequels the graphics are pretty good but it does seem a bit fake. The levels are a lot harder, it can get very frustrating, but if you overcome that bit of frustration the game will become challenging and fun.
Then only reason why I gave this game a 4 star is due to the fact it only took me a day to complete and the graphics were a bit Tacky.
I suggest you buy this game, its a great laughe.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
The game is very enjoyable. It is based around the levels from crash bandicoot 2 and 3 which were brilliant. It is a side scrolling platforming version of the older games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Does everything it's meant to, had no problems with it at all. Runs fast and the graphics are as good as they can be on gameboy advance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
Crash Bandicoot is a great game for the GBA. The graphics are close to those on the playstation1 version and the gameplay is as sweet as ever.The new side view is good but can sometimes get annoying but does not stop this from being in my opinion one of the best Game Boy Advance Gmaes yet. Buy it NOW!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2002
This is truly a great piece of work, for the best handheld console around.Crash Bandicoot is by far better than Mario, and his fat brother.If I were you, get this, Sonic, and Super Mario Kart:Super Circuit.The gameplay-10,sound-10,graphics-10. A perfect TEN. GET IT NOW
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.