Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most perfect records ever made.
Don't be fooled, the title of this review will not apply to all of you. Personally I am a Bright Eyes fan, and I adore the alt country whinings of the wonderfully talented Conor Oberst. However, while Bright Eyes achieve a sublime sense of a broken human, this record does not. It is entirely different. For one, essentially it's a pop punk record. The anti consumerist...
Published on 3 May 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Just Because You Like Bright Eyes
Bright Eyes is my favourite artist of all time. I think Conor Oberst is the most talented songwriter of our generation. However, I verge on hating this album.
Why? Quite simply because this album is full of thrashed 'teen-angst' sounding power chords and shouting vocals which instead of sounding fragile and emotive like in Bright Eyes, sound like awful American-emo...
Published on 6 Mar 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most perfect records ever made., 3 May 2005
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled, the title of this review will not apply to all of you. Personally I am a Bright Eyes fan, and I adore the alt country whinings of the wonderfully talented Conor Oberst. However, while Bright Eyes achieve a sublime sense of a broken human, this record does not. It is entirely different. For one, essentially it's a pop punk record. The anti consumerist lyrics speak from Obersts screaming voice, articulating what I suspect a thousand american kids in garages are trying to achieve in their own bands, and the music to accompany this is angular, heavy, and astounding in it's simplicity.
Nothing here is majorly complicated, as with Bright Eyes, but as with Bright Eyes again, it fits so brilliantly well it can only leave budding musicians with their aspirations set. A brilliantly inspiring record for anyone anywhere that wants to be in a good band. This is a great album, with not one song that could come under the 5 star rating. Everything a good album by a good band could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars angry, energetic and heartfelt, 21 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
"it can be murder on your folk career/to make a rock record with the Disappeared" sings Conor Oberst, a particularly choice quote given that this album will be anything but murder on his career, folk or otherwise. After gaining substantial praise with his 'Fevers and Mirrors' album, Oberst turns away from the introspection of Bright Eyes, and turns his attentions to what is happening to his country under the Bush regime, attacking everything from Disney to Starbucks, whilst beating up himself along the way.
The music could not be further from Bright Eyes, with its driving punk guitars, random screeches of feedback and seething lyrical anger, but you never doubt Oberst's sincerity, this is not just a genre-shifting exercise. If you're still lamenting the passing of At The Drive-In, I cannot recommend this record fast enough. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this album while listening to it for the first time, 6 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
The fact that I can't even pronounce the band's name yet and heard only the first 3 songs before buying this album speaks volumes!
An eclectic blend of crunching, addictive guitar riffs, odd but highly satisfying ambient background sound effects, all culminate into a completely unique sound as soon as the tenderly screamed vocals kick in.
A superb example of this is Greater Omaha.
Remeniscent of Thursday & At the drive in, but arn't scared to explore a wide variety of music styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is like a work of art put onto CD, 12 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
im into punk rock, and i bought desaparecidos' read music speak spanish on the off chance that it would live up to a good review i previously read. after a couple of listens i realised this album was far superior to most of the CDs in my collection. there is an unreal maturity behind every song, and the guitar riffs are awesome and refreshing. 'man and wife the former' is probably my favourite track, as you can really feel the emotion in conor obersts voice, which is complimented by the raw sound of the guitars.
get this album now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desa, Read Music Speak Spanish, 8 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
How much can one person enjoy this CD? It's not very long, but it's too much fun. Conor Oberst bleats and screams the lyrics like he's gone over the edge, and the music accompanying has a kind of mad quality that makes you think of jumping around, and drinking too much and doing mad things in general. It's full of energy, and full of angriness, but pretty genuine and clever which is annoyingly rare in these days of media controlled crap. The best tracks on the album I think have to be the American single, Happiest Place on Earth, that is just kind of frenzied, and glad to be screaming, and Man And Wife The Latter which has this sort of story, carried on from the opener, and lovely tangled up guitar riffs that kind of tingle. I'm very enthusiastic about this album because it suits you when you're smiling, or raging, it's just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder on his folk career? I'm not mourning., 28 Feb 2003
By 
Sean (Watford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
With the messy split of the mighty At The Drive-in still fresh in the minds of rock fans, there has to be something to fill the void. Sparta's ATDI-Lite doesn't quite hit the spot, and neither does The Mars Volta's experimental prog rock. Enter musical prodigy and leader of Bright Eyes, Conor Oberst. Instead of responding to America's wrongs with a subtle Bright Eyes album, he decides to risk it all and release a cathartic and emotional punk rock album. And boy, is it great. Angry at seeing a Starbucks and a McDonalds on every corner of America, he rages against the destruction of his small town life. Turning his feelings into an album following the life of a pair of lovers who wish to leave their little town behind, only to have their dreams crushed when they get where they weanted. With tracks like 'Happiest Place On Earth', 'Man And Wife, The Former' and '$$$$' ripping apart the American Dream with talent that people Oberst's age shouldn't have yet. Any person who has ever wondered what Cedric Bixler fronting Weezer would sound like needs this album. The next album will be undescribable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oberst vocals + rock = awesome, 21 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. Samuel L. Nair "cheltsam" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
Different music from Bright Eyes, but Conor's voice is just as fantastic as ever.

The punk/emo/whatever rock is great and the lyrics do support a cause.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disparate, 15 Feb 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
A very consistently good album that is both a debut and complete works of the band. As a genre it stands somewhere on the cusp of emo (before it was plundered by the mainstream) and alternative rock. Think Pavement, Taking Back Sunday, Jimmy Eat World and American Football exploding onto a CD and you'll be halfway there. They have such a distinct sound that it's hard to imagine why they didn't continue although it was only really a side-line project for the Bright Eyes frontman, especially when pretty much every track on the album is gold. Highlights are the first 4 tracks and '$$$$'.

A great little left-field gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This Just Because You Like Bright Eyes, 6 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Read Music/Speak Spanish (Audio CD)
Bright Eyes is my favourite artist of all time. I think Conor Oberst is the most talented songwriter of our generation. However, I verge on hating this album.
Why? Quite simply because this album is full of thrashed 'teen-angst' sounding power chords and shouting vocals which instead of sounding fragile and emotive like in Bright Eyes, sound like awful American-emo. You know, the sort of stuff most people should grow out of when they hit puberty.
The lyrics are undeniably Conor's yes, but when put to such a horrible American din you just want to hit the off button. Not good at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Read Music/Speak Spanish
Read Music/Speak Spanish by Desaparecidos (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews