Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The F*ckest Uppest
I didn't think it possible but Spaced series 2 has managed to improve on the first series. Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson continue to excel as twenty somethings Tim and Daisy and the decision to give extra screen time to Mike has proved a huge success as he manages to produce some of the funniest lines in the series (which takes some doing). edgar Wright continues to...
Published on 30 July 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as decribed
Not as described.... was listed as very good condition. I would say it was quite poor

Looked tired Case was scuffed and looked old not match the listing

big let down
Published 20 months ago by Stan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The F*ckest Uppest, 30 July 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't think it possible but Spaced series 2 has managed to improve on the first series. Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson continue to excel as twenty somethings Tim and Daisy and the decision to give extra screen time to Mike has proved a huge success as he manages to produce some of the funniest lines in the series (which takes some doing). edgar Wright continues to prove what an excellent director he is and Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson have continued to produce a flawless script and Spaced is now a programme that surpasses The Office and Knowing Me Knowing You With Alan Partridge. This DVD offers an interesting insight into Pegg, Stevenson and Wright during the commentary as they talk about how many of the jokes originated and also about other cast members who also make occassional appearances on the commentary.
As well as deleted scenes and outtakes this DVD also includes a Homage-0-meter which was excluded from the first DVD. This is very interesting as their is a large number of references that I missed while watching the series first time round.
Overall i would reccomend this DVD to anyone who has a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the hell is this not on American TV anywhere?, 22 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In reading about "Shawn of the Dead", I learned that the creative team behind the film had this show called "Spaced". Thanks to the miracle of Region Free DVD players, I ordered both seasons of "Spaced" and have to say that I have not laughed as much since watching other British shows that have been totally butchered in their remaking on American TV. Simon Pegg and the entire cast handle their characters with both honesty and a little over the top-ness that totally works and is never not funny or truthful. As a Jersey City, NJ native who grew up on Benny Hill and Dr. Who, and loved "Hawk the Slayer", and still does, I wish this show would end up here so others would be exposed to it. Now I'm hoping that "Shawn of the Dead" will be here in theaters before 2005. Awesome, awesome shows and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The second series of the surreal comedy keeps up the pace, 12 April 2002
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Spaced is a little known (although it is gradually gaining a significant cult following) British semi-sitcom. I say 'semi' sitcom because, despite showing all the usual signs of being a sitcom, it is definitely a little unusual. Sure, it is about a group of friends and how their group interact, their loves, sorrows and losses, but you would be hard pressed to compare it to Seinfeld beyond these basic components. Each show is characterised by strange events, unusual characters, flash (but not flashy) editing, and a host a geeky fan-boy in-jokes, referencing everything from The Matrix to the old Kiora adverts (it's too orangy for crows!).
Being pretty serious geeks themselves, Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson have made quite an effort with the DVD. It is unusual to see TV shows recieving such attention in this medium, and also quite refreshing. The menu screen are, as with the first disc, very cool, and consist of animated cartoony versions of the characters, and soundbites from the series.
The audio commentarys, featuring Pegg, Stevenson, the director Edgar Wright, is as strong as it was on the first series disc. Although they occassionally speak over each other, resulting in possibly interesting subjects being dropped, the episode commentaries remain informative and quite funny.
An unusual feature called the 'homage-o-meter' tells us whenever a film, tv show or comic is being referenced in the show. It is not as useful as I thought it would be, and is just plain text at the bottom of the scene whenever a reference is made. It is interesting though, and there were plenty of little references that slipped me by.
The out-takes are very funny, and often quite touching. The same goes for the raw footage, which proves to be an interesting watch. The deleted scenes are interesting, and are accompanied by a useful commentary. A couple of them are very funny indeed, but most were cut for obvious reasons.
Other features round the package off, making it one of the best television series dvds available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure, never a chore, 4 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, Pegg, Stevenson and co hit the bulls eye in this fantastic second series of what is becoming a cult classic. Barely a line is wasted throughout, every scene has the attention to detail you'd expect of a big budget Hollywood masterpiece and its all set in and around a road called Meteor Street.
The references to comics, films and television series have always been a pivotal part of the programme. They obviously feel a genuine affection for their references (although "The Phantom Menace" takes a bit of a battering throughout!) and they are all here: Bagpuss to Buffy, Robot Wars to Star Wars. Occasionally there is a feeling that the references are a little of the time (the interesting homage-o-meter seems to have a lot of references from 1999), but each one is relevant and generally well placed.
Lines like "I could murder a pint of the black stuff" "Don't be ridiculous, you couldn't drink a whole pint of Bovril" give an impression of the kind of direction Spaced is coming from - off the wall, out of left field but right on target.
If you are bored of run-of-the-mill sit coms, this is made for you. Can we have a 3rd series now please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 5 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched and loved this on TV, I looked forward to this DVD with much anticipation. And I wasn't disappointed. This is how these things should be done. The menu screens are thoughtfully compiled, both visually and aurally. The extras are comprehensive to say the least, one of the highlights being the episode audio commentaries. Simon Pegg, Jessica Stevenson and director Edgar Wright comment on all 7 episodes with other cast members chipping in on odd episodes. Although they appeared to be running out of things to say by the last two episodes, Jessica Stevenson's laugh is so infectious it had me laughing out loud along with them.
Visually, the quality is to broadcast standard and the overall impression is of a disc put together with love for the show and, more importantly, respect for the fans who are actually parting with cash for it.
I can't recommend this highly enough either to fans or to those just interested in fab telly. Well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPACED - SERIES 2, 9 Feb. 2004
By 
E. Davies "Polkadot" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoyed and marvelled at series 1 of this excellent series, then Series 2 is even better! Brilliant writing by Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson, this series is again full of film references for buffs and non-buffs to enjoy and the lovely sexual tension between main characters, Daisy and Tim escalates even though, their love, once again, is thwarted.
Mike is madder than ever, his return to the Territorial Army a triumph, Marsha still hankers for Brian but is he still happy with Twist? There's a new rival for Colin's affections and a mysterious love interest for Tim.
A treat that you can watch over and over again. Why do these episodes seem only 5 minutes long? I wish there was a third series! Fantastic! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW BRILLIANT, 15 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Well Im a englishman living in USA and I must say my one true saviour is Spaced, it makes me laugh like crazy and really cheers me up when I need some classic tongue in cheek humour, and all my american friends find it ridiculously funny as well which is great. BUY IT NOW you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit comedy series returns for a second season, 7 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Tim and Daisy are back for a second series as the mis-matched friends pretending to be a couple in order to rent a flat from the nymphomaniac landlady, Marsha.
The second season follows the format of the later first season episodes with references to everything from the Matrix to Robot Wars. The second season is even funnier than the first (no mean feat). With the characters well established, there are plenty of opportunities to play to play with ideas that were only touched on in the first season.
The best part of Spaced remains it's sense of familiarity. There are many moments when I caught myself chuckling and thinking "We do things like that". That is the best part of the series, it is the life that you think you lead with a sound track and perfect timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim And Daisy Stike Back, 25 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
With more pop culture references than you can shout a cliche at Spaced is something we've been lacking for years - a great new British Sit-com. But it's much more than that. It's gorgeously filmed, not infront of a studio audience, as genuinely funny and has fully fleshed out characters you care about instead of dull 2d stereotypes that litter our TV screens.
If you've never seen Spaced then here's your chanve to catch up on the flatmates , especially as a third series is now in pre-production. If like me you're already a fan then the perfect DVD awaits! (And hey if you haven't already check out the Spaced soundtrack, the best CD i bought all year!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Quirky Series., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic off the wall series that is rarely repeated on TV.

Very quirky but well written and acted.

A wacky and novel comedy that thinks outside the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD]
Spaced: Complete Series 2 [DVD] by Edgar Wright (DVD - 2002)
£12.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews