Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Ingmar Bergman's Most Notable Films
Upon its release CRIES AND WHISPERS was hailed as one of Bergman's finest films. Although it has not quite held onto that original evaluation, it remains an excellent film--a subtle and delicately performed drama as remarkable for its silence as for its occasional moments of dialogue. And in many respects it offers an extremely good introduction to Bergman's work...
Published on 28 Dec 2002 by Gary F. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sisters
bergman experimenting with colour in this bleak drama about the relationship of three sisters one who is dying, and the inter relationship of the sisters and how unhappy their own lives are. th maid tends to produce the values of life into the film. when caring for the sister who is dying and is more of a sister than a maid. enthralling drama and another great from...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Ingmar Bergman's Most Notable Films, 28 Dec 2002
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
Upon its release CRIES AND WHISPERS was hailed as one of Bergman's finest films. Although it has not quite held onto that original evaluation, it remains an excellent film--a subtle and delicately performed drama as remarkable for its silence as for its occasional moments of dialogue. And in many respects it offers an extremely good introduction to Bergman's work.
Like many of Bergman's films, CRIES AND WHISPERS shows the director's preoccupations with memory, communication, time, community, and death. The story is bleak: Agnes is dying and her sisters Karin and Maria have come to attend her during this final illness--but they prove unable to communicate in a meaningful way with either Agnes or each other, and Agnes' emotional care is left largely to her long-time maid, the devoted Anna.
As the film unwinds, we are bought into the memories of each woman in turn. The dying Agnes (played with powerful realism by Harriet Andersson) not only graples with increasing pain, she recalls with regret the emotional separation that existed between her long-dead mother and herself. Sister Maria (Liv Ullman), a mindless sensualist, recalls an act of adultry that has poisoned her marriage; Sister Karin (Ingrid Thulin), who is emotionally cold, recalls an act of self-mutilation designed to thwart her husband's desires. Only the maid Anna (Kari Sylwan), with a peasant's directness, actually works to be of comfort, even going so far as to cradle Agnes' head on her naked breast.
The film is ever so delicately tinged with subtle elements of lesbianism, sadomasochism, and incest, and the emotional problems experienced by Maria and Karin are at least partly sexual in nature--but these are not the focus of the film so much as they are surface indications of a deeper internal turmoil. As to what that deeper turmoil is... Bergman might say it is the nature of life itself. We each stand alone, usually in denial of our own mortality, usually unable to reach each other in any meaningful way. A deep film, and in spite of its occasional awkwardnesses a memorable and touching film. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars undeniably powerful, 23 May 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
This film strikes me as being quintessential Bergman in its themes and unvarnished presentation of the human condition. I have to say, though, that for all its depth, I find the picture too skewed in favour of misery and negative emotions. Do the sisters played by Liv Ullmann and Ingrid Thulin have to have quite such a depth of resentment towards each other? And would the moribund state of the third sister really bring all this to the surface as it does, even as she lies dying? The final scene, by contrast, is absurdly idyllic, as if the aesthetic of the director demands these extremes, like a Romantic landscape of impossibly high mountains and unfathomable lakes that a 19th century German painter might depict. My biggest reservation is with the indescribable suffering of the dying woman that is presented so graphically. I always hate being forced to see extremes of suffering on screen, as we cannot stop it, and it is serving the interest of an artistic vision and is hence being calculated in a wider aesthetic. These sequences are awful to sit through. I won't deny that the view of the world is deeply etched into the metal plate that gives us the final picture, and I admire his unflinching gaze, but I do question whether this is the 'ultimate' truth of our relation to others as many claim it to be. Bergman's vision is fascinating but in film after film the negative dominates and then he twists the knife ... he is comparable to Michael Haneke, in a sense, who is relentlessly negative also. But whereas Haneke is ice-cold, Bergman presents us with startling, very warm reds in this film; visually there's no denying that it has tremendous impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bergman., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a powerful and intense film depicting the relationships between three sisters, one of whom is dying, as well as their maid, Anna. Colour was still a relatively new tool for Bergman when this was made, and the way he uses it adds to the visual power of the film, with an almost overwhelming amount of red being employed both in the sets and also in between scenes. (Instead of the usual cuts or fades, Bergman fades to a pure red screen and then fades into the next scene.) Viskingar och rop features outstanding performances from three of Bergman's favourite actresses: Harriet Andersson, Liv Ullmann and Ingrid Thulin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a roller coaster of emotion, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
the acting in this film is excellent. it has you feeling everything from total pity for the sister who is dying of cancer, and the maid who cares for her better than her sisters, to shock and disgust when one of the supposedly sane well sisters mutilates herself. it was a very difficult film to watch because of the subject matter ie death but it's worth viewing because it is well directed and compelling, like all seven of the Ingmar bergman movies I've seen. perhaps this work was cathartic for bergman as his wife was dying around about the time he shot it. I would recommend only adults over 18 should watch this as guided because it is heavy sometimes horrible stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sisters, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
bergman experimenting with colour in this bleak drama about the relationship of three sisters one who is dying, and the inter relationship of the sisters and how unhappy their own lives are. th maid tends to produce the values of life into the film. when caring for the sister who is dying and is more of a sister than a maid. enthralling drama and another great from bergman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
An extraordinary film, though not alt all everyone's cup of tea, as I have always realised. Once seen, never forgotten, like most of Bergman's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
Another Bergman masterpiece. The acting performances of Liv, Ingrid and Harriet are of an ultra high level. The film starts with sunrays through the trees and a view of the large house. Within the house the color red is dominant. The first minutes you only hear clocks ticking. There are so much details worked out in this film. It is not going to be an easy movie. It is about death, about friendship and relationships. No one seems to be happy. No one want to be touched except for the dying character Agnes played by Harriet. When the priest is crying when he declares that Agnes her faith is stronger than his it is one of the many highlights of this unique Bergman masterpiece. Not to be missed in any collection. A red Bergman masterpiece. Red the colour of love. Of blood. Amongst others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very beautifully filmed, but not easy watching!, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the most disturbing of the few Bergman movies I've seen so far. The last one we watched previous to this was Smiles Of A Summer Night, an altogether different beast, being the comedy of relationships on which Woody Allen's Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy is based.

Cries And Whispers is hard going, as it forces you to confront a long, slow, agonising death, topped off with a close study in family disfunction, amongst three sisters. So rather than being escapist movie-making, it rubs your face in some of the harsher and less pleasant aspects of real life. Having said this, it's a very beautifully filmed and highly stylised piece. Whilst very well acted it's not exactly naturalistic in the normal sense either.

As well as the sisters there's their housemaid, and some other male and female relatives and associates, including a cameo from Smiles Of A Summer Night's Gunnar Björnstrand as their doctor (and one of the sister's previous love interests). Bergman gets fantastic performances from all concerned, with the strong female leads all being very impressive.

Visually the film is stunning, with an amazing house as the main setting, filled with stark Scandinavian interiors with beautifully choreographed colour schemes, black white and red, especially striking rich blood red, being a dominant and striking colour in the interiors. Red is also used to strong effect in cross fades, along with doleful chimes, evoking the sanguinary theme of mortality.

Thematically it's hard going, meditating as it does on some less than pleasant aspects of life. Whilst it's a very admirable (and understandably lauded) film, i.e. very 'worthy', it's not one I think I'll watch very often! Still, it's a good addition - for me at least - to ones knowledge of Bergman's work, all of which, so far, has really impressed, moved and interested me. So, difficult as it is, I would certainly recommend it to lovers of serious film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his greatest works., 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] (DVD)
A frightening and disturbing piece of filmmaking from the Swedish master. One of his greatest works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Ingmar Bergman's Most Notable Films, 27 Nov 2002
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Upon its release CRIES AND WHISPERS was hailed as one of Bergman's finest films. Although it has not quite held onto that original evaluation, it remains an excellent film--a subtle and delicately performed drama as remarkable for its silence as for its occasional moments of dialogue. And in many respects it offers an extremely good introduction to Bergman's work.
Like many of Bergman's films, CRIES AND WHISPERS shows the director's preoccupations with memory, communication, time, community, and death. The story is bleak: Agnes is dying and her sisters Karin and Maria have come to attend her during this final illness--but they prove unable to communicate in a meaningful way with either Agnes or each other, and Agnes' emotional care is left largely to her long-time maid, the devoted Anna.
As the film unwinds, we are bought into the memories of each woman in turn. The dying Agnes (played with powerful realism by Harriet Andersson) not only graples with increasing pain, she recalls with regret the emotional separation that existed between her long-dead mother and herself. Sister Maria (Liv Ullman), a mindless sensualist, recalls an act of adultry that has poisoned her marriage; Sister Karin (Ingrid Thulin), who is emotionally cold, recalls an act of self-mutilation designed to thwart her husband's desires. Only the maid Anna (Kari Sylwan), with a peasant's directness, actually works to be of comfort, even going so far as to cradle Agnes' head on her naked breast.
The film is ever so delicately tinged with subtle elements of lesbianism, sadomasochism, and incest, and the emotional problems experienced by Maria and Karin are at least partly sexual in nature--but these are not the focus of the film so much as they are surface indications of a deeper internal turmoil. As to what that deeper turmoil is... Bergman might say it is the nature of life itself. We each stand alone, usually in denial of our own mortality, usually unable to reach each other in any meaningful way. A deep film, and in spite of its occasional awkwardnesses a memorable and touching film. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD]
Cries And Whispers [1972] [DVD] by Ingmar Bergman (DVD - 2002)
£5.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews