Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Kinks
The Kinks' hits have been endlessly repackaged over the years and no doubt this collection will not be the last - but it is unlikely to be beaten. It contains (as they all do) the great sixties singles and the number and consistent brilliance of those singles is astounding from 'You Really Got Me' through 'Waterloo Sunset' (one of the greatest singles of all time) and...
Published on 4 Jan 2003 by J. Skade

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horribly disappointing sound... distorted, compressed, and shrill...
Wow. I was very excited about receiving this album: 44 amazing Kinks songs at a great price! So what's not to like? Well, a lot. Namely, the sound is virtually unlistenable. From the opening chords of You Really Got Me, I was thinking, "wow, something sounds wrong here... it sounds very distorted, compressed, and shrill... I've never heard Really Got Me sounds this...
Published 12 months ago by JBS husky


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Kinks, 4 Jan 2003
By 
J. Skade "joeskade" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The Kinks' hits have been endlessly repackaged over the years and no doubt this collection will not be the last - but it is unlikely to be beaten. It contains (as they all do) the great sixties singles and the number and consistent brilliance of those singles is astounding from 'You Really Got Me' through 'Waterloo Sunset' (one of the greatest singles of all time) and 'Sunny Afternoon' to 'Days' and 'Lola' via less obvious gems such as 'Autumn Almanac', and the gorgeous 'Wonderboy' . Everyone will have special favourites. this collection also includes (as others do not) the perfect 'Come Dancing' from 1983.
The second cd collects album tracks, b-sides and non-hit singles and shows another dimension to the band. Listen to the sheer genius of 'Celluloid Heroes' and ask yourself why it flopped.
'Where Have All The Good Times Gone' (b side of 'Till The End Of The Day') will be better known to many through Bowie's cover version, and 'Stop You Sobbing' will be more familiar by the Pretenders - the originals here are excellent. 'I'm Not Like Everybody Else' (another b side) is almost a personal manifesto.
I could go on forever, there is so much here and all so good.
One quibble - why no 'Sitting In My Hotel'? One of the greatest of the band's album tracks. Grumble over.
The material on this album belongs in every good cd collection. I promise it will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate collection by the ultimate band., 19 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of The Kinks for years the time had come to replace old vinyl with c.d.'s.
There is no better place to start than this, there are many cheaper but inferior collections out there, this includes all the
classic hits and more.
At this price disc 1 would be enough but throw in the extras of disc 2 and you have a stonking bargain.
The songs speak for themselves from the jagged edge of "You Really Got Me" to the perfect pop of "Waterloo Sunset", the ultimate summer song "Sunny Afternoon" singalong to "Dedicated Follower Of Fashion" and the contoversial at the time "Lola".
Song-writing doesn't get any better than this and when you take into account such tracks as "David Watts" (covered by The Jam), "Stop Your Sobbing" (The Pretenders) "Living on a thin line" (The Sopranos) and even the camp disco feel of "Superman", are all relegated to disc 2 you realise how jam packed with goodies this set is.
You've heard all the bands (Blur,Jam, e.t.c.) who have been influenced by The Kinks so have a listen to the original and best
and then treat yourself to "The Village Green Preservation Society" and "Muswell Hillbillies" albums for an extra helping of Britain's best ever song - writer.
If you've never heard the band before treat yourself, my kids are 6 & 4 and even they love The Kinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Virtually the ultimte Kinks collection, 4 Sep 2006
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
So, is this double CD the ultimate collection of the brilliant Kinks? Yes, probably - well it's certainly the best Kinks compilation on the market with the only real fault being only one track featured from their acknowledged masterpiece The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society. Not really a problem though as the Village Green should be bought separately (and guess what, a 3 CD Special Edition has also been brought out by the same canny label, Sanctuary!), and there is plenty to enjoy in the Ultimate Collection.

The Ultimate Collection contains all the band's hits plus key B-sides and album tracks from their 60s heyday right through to the early 80s. This ranges from absolute classics such as Sunny Afternoon, Waterloo Sunset and Days through to under-rated gems such as the epic Shangri-La and touching God's Children which on their own justify this compilation being two CDs rather than a hits-only single disc.

There are a few stinkers, most notably the appalling Apeman and Plastic Man, though virtually all of the other material here is worthwhile with even the latter tracks sounding OK if rather dated with their 80s gloss.

With a good accompanying essay by David Wells, the Ultimate Collection by The Kinks pretty much is what it says on the tin. An excellent compilation by one of the key 60s bands and best acts ever. Buy it - but make sure you buy the Village Green Preservation Society as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Collection, 6 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
It has been difficult for some time to buy a Kinks compilation that truely represents how good a band they were.

For me, this collection does just that. The real advantage is the second disk which I, contrary to the previous reviewer, think is the main reason for buying this cd above any of the other alternatives.

In particular, the tracks David Watts, Dandy, Mr Pleasant, Where Have all the Good Times Gone?, Well Respected Man, Starstruck and Shangri La are all fantastic songs. Shangri La in particular is an overlooked gem.

If you are speculating whether to get a Kinks cd or not, then this should really be the place to make your first stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quaint and classic, 11 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
A few months ago, I bought the singles collection, thinking that one disc was enough, it was also half the price, I'm a cheapskate. Anyway, it wasn't enough, the Kinks have become one of my favourite bands on the strength of that singles collection, so I bought this as well. There are some lovely tracks, making you hum, sing, and dance along. Dandy and Mr Pleasant are a couple of my favourite, more obscure Kinks tracks. Having got this, I'm now considering buying the Village Preservation society, my collection grows.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly but not quite, 3 Mar 2006
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This collection is superb BUT a third disc would have allowed for a full appreciation of The Kinks when they were stadium rockers Stateside in the late 70s and early 80s. Tracks from the Sleepwalker, Misfits and Low Budget albums would have added an extra edge. The mid period RCA albums and singles are also sadly underrepresented. The Kinks were an album band as well as being devotees to 45 rpm! Might I suggest that folk wishing to gain a truer insight into the Kinks work post 1970 would be better directed to the comilation albums 'Celluloid Heroes' (RCA material) and 'Come Dancing' (Arista later material).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could anyone give this less than five stars?, 27 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
First, the real truth : the absolutely-essential Kinks collection does not contain more than about eight tracks. But those eight tracks - all featured here - are so perfect, so utterly indispensable, that this collection must surely feature in the collections of anyone who is remotely interested in music. I'm talking about the likes of Waterloo Sunset - songwriting perfection, and without a doubt London's finest song, ever - and, You Really Got Me, which rocks timelessly, and will undoubtedly have people grinning madly and singing along when it is rediscovered, like an archaeological relic, for countless centuries into the future. Forget comparisons with Blur and the rest, songs like these - together will all the others that chronicle the fractured relationships between the band members, and the relationship between the band and the world - make for a collection that should be regarded as a national treasure as valuable as a Turner seascape or the crown jewels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive hits collection plus rarities and B-sides, 2 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The first CD of this collection contains all of their UK hits in chronological order, from their first success (You really got me) in 1964 to their last (Don't forget to dance) in 1983. All the classic songs are here including You really got me, All day and all of the night, Tired of waiting for you, Dedicated follower of fashion, Well respected man, Sunny afternoon, Waterloo sunset, Autumn almanac, Days, Lola and Apeman. It also includes Dave's two solo UK hits - Death of a clown and Susannah's still alive (inserted in their correct places chronologically between the other Kinks hits).
Being presented in chronological order, this CD shows their progression from their musical roots in R+B to more of a mainstream pop group and continually changing their style thereafter. Nevertheless, their songs were always distinctive because of Ray's talent for making ordinary situations into extraordinary songs. My favorite Kinks song is Waterloo sunset, a huge UK hit but not an American hit. It is about romance at a railway station that I am familiar with, though I cannot possibly imagine what inspired Ray to write that song, but he was a genius.
The second CD is less instantly appealing, containing a mix of B-sides and rarities as well as songs that were hits for others although not for the Kinks, including David Watts (a minor UK hit for punk-rockers The Jam) and Stop your sobbing (a minor UK hit for the Pretenders). If you enjoy listening to more than just the hits, you will find plenty to interest you here.
The best tribute to the quality of the Kinks' songs lies in the diversity of the covers that have been recorded by singers in several genres of music. Apart from the aforementioned tracks by the Jam and the Pretenders, Kirsty MacColl (Days), the Stranglers (All day and all of the night), Petula Clark (Days - and a French version of Well respected man), Cathy Dennis (Waterloo sunset, Sunny afternoon), Green day (Tired of waiting for you), Jimmy Buffett (Sunny afternoon), Van Halen (You really got me) and Barb Jungr (Waterloo sunset) are among those who have covered Kinks songs.
Despite the brilliance of some of the covers, here you get the chance to hear the original versions of their classic songs, plus a selection of their other music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kinks Kornucopia, 22 Dec 2010
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
There is no 60s band whose collected `best of` CD gives me more pleasure than this magnificent Kinks compilation. On any Beatles anthology you have to wade through dross like Ballad of John & Yoko or dated guff like All You Need Is Love. On a Stones collection the skip button is essential for such aberrations as Dandelion and We Love You, not to mention the sub-Kinks Mother`s Little Helper. This Kinks overview needs no such editing. Naturally, there are one or two less good songs - the more recent Superman and Do It Again are a little anonymous - but out of 44 tracks, an incredible number are gold-plated classics.
There are a handful of musicians from the 60s/70s era that I hold in the highest esteem, as catalysts, very special, almost `haloed` key figures in the popular music of their time. John Sebastian, John Fogerty, Lowell George, Stephen Stills (this is a personal list, so bear with me)...and Ray Davies. They tend to be in bands, and their number could be boosted by Ian Anderson, Rick Danko & others. No matter...
If you`ve never thrilled your socks off to Ray`s cry of "Oh, come on!" just before the break on All Day And All Of The Night; the raunchy intro chords to Lola; the dreamy timelessness of Days; the delicately insistent Marilyn-obsessed tribute of Celluloid Heroes (rather better than a certain song by Elton J); the euphoric Come Dancing - why wasn`t this a No 1 hit everywhere? - or the beyond perfection of the inexpressibly wonderful Waterloo Sunset, a real contender for the best single of all time...then you have not heard The Kinks in their quirky, wonky, punky, kinky pomp.
There is no false nostagia here. No Gilbert & Sullivan parochialism, or Noel Coward jingoism. That`s not Ray Davies`s thing. This is very English Music, often steeped in regret or longing for Lost Worlds, but not at the expense of the present. A wonder is that he & the band managed to marry, in many of their hits (all included here in this sensibly compiled non-chronological double-CD pack) grungy garage rock, with the most literate, ironic, wry lyrics this side of Randy Newman - Davies`s nearest comparable lyric writer, though they sound very different. On their first couple of singles & EPs they rocked out like the Stones or the Pretty Things, not always to good effect, it must be admitted. But when Ray set pen to paper...
Magic.
I want the endlessly beautiful Waterloo Sunset played at my funeral, or at least my wake. (I can think of only one other pop song that captivates me the same way, every single time I hear it, from its opening notes: Glen Campbell`s Wichita Lineman.)
This is more than just another pop/rock compilation of hits. It will see you through fair weather & foul. It will rock & rest you. It will probably bring you to the realisation that Ray Davies was & is something close to a genius. We should relish these unique, diverse songs. They may be from the 60s/70s era but they are timeless.
Great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's something missing !!, 10 Mar 2005
By 
Mrs. F. E. Boyd (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Probably the best Kinks collection so far, and there have been a few. But without "Village Green Preservation Society" there's definitely a missing gem. That track and many others on the album of the same name would fit in well.
It doesn't matter though there's just another opportunity to buy another Kinks masterpiece.
Waterloo sunset, Days, Lola, Autumn Almanac - all brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection
The Kinks - The Ultimate Collection by The Kinks (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews