Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Affecting
This film runs 'The Godfather' close for arguably the finest cast of any movie. The acting is second-to-none and boasts the combined talents of De Niro, Streep, Walken and Cazale. The early part of the movie is devoted to the relationships between the main characters and a marvellously joyous Russian Orthodox wedding scene that sets up the tragedy that befalls the three...
Published on 14 Feb 2003 by Steven Moses

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the masterpiece it once seemed, but not the propaganda its detractors claim either
For all the naturalism of the presentation, the plot of The Deer Hunter is melodrama and metaphor, sometimes effective, often contrived, and seen today it's hard to get over how the main characters seem far too old to be going to Vietnam. Indeed, the film itself seems so much less impressive than Heaven's Gate today that it's surprising that this is the one the critics...
Published on 10 Nov 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD HOMETOWN SCENES, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
There were strong performances from all the cast. I preferred the hometown scenes which captured life there in fascinating detail. The Vietnam scenes were harrowing at times and didnt really get close to the Vietnamese people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
thought the quality was great bought it for my boyfriend he loves it as he had seen it before he wanted it to add to his collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Deer Hunter, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a present for my hubby and we really enjoyed it ,I would recommend it to all my friends great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
the dvd was to the highest quality and it only two dayy to arrive unlike some componies where the item arrives damaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Won BEST PICTURE! What else can I say? And great seller! BUY FROM THIS SELLER! Honest too! And FAST! Cheers!, 23 July 2009
By 
Liz Maldonado-askedall "PauLIZ" (NEW YORK, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great, excellent movie! Wanted the commentary by the director, which the USA version does not have. But buy from this seller, as this seller is honest, fast and great! Thanks! CHEERS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Film Ever, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
The Deer Hunter was a film based upon the lives of three men,who have grown up together in their home town.They took a decision to join the army,and then were drafted to Vietnam.The film follows a very graphic insight both physically and mentally during and after this gruelling war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly average 'classic' movie, 5 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Naturally, I'm watching this movie almost 30 years after it was made, so things have changed a little in regards to audience expectation around movies. However, this is one slow movie. The first hour we watch a group of ordinary American Joes going about their days, drinking, shooting, larking around. It's not that interesting, and it doesn't need to be an hour of the screen time.

The scenes in Vietnam is when the film gets going, but they seem exaggerated. I was neither moved by them or excited by them, and normally war movies do just this for me. For me, De Niro is the reason to watch this film, turning in another great performance. In fact, I thought the acting in general was pretty good all round.

But damn, is this movie slow. I found the climax slightly contrived and ridiculous. But anyway, if you like ponderous war movies, or like watching classics of cinema to see what the fuss is about, it's worth a watch. Just make sure you're alert when you press the play button, 'cause this goes on for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zoverstocks rule!!!!!!, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
I can't rate zoverstocks high enough. If there's a dvd or cd I want, they've got it at the best price around. Thanks again zoverstocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong DVD sent, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
I ordered the HD version shown here but was sent an old original copy. The quality was absolutely dreadful in terms of both colour and sound quality. Ruined what should have benn an enjoyable viewing of an old favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More right wing than Rambo, 16 Dec 2007
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
So, here is the - ahem - classic film that won five - five!!! - Academy awards in 1978. It must have been a bad year for films because this is a real howler. This is a review of the first 70 minutes because after that I switched off. It may have improved in leaps and bounds after that. I have my doubts, but you never know. The first 50 minutes or so deal with a group of Pennsylvanian steelworkers: their lives, their fights, their bonding, their background, culture, etc, all of which is quite entertaining - but not very - and then goes on to the war in Vietnam. It is from here where the film goes from being mildly engrossing to being an insult to the intelligence, a disgraceful rewriting of history and a hysterical jingoistic piece of flag waving.

The first scene in Vietnam shows our Pennsylvanian ex-steelworkers trying to protect Vietnamese villagers from the Vietcong, who are portrayed as a bunch of blood thirsty crazed geeks who shoot dead mothers and their children with gay abandon. Thank God for the Americans, eh? Anyone remember My Lai? Imagine a film set in France during World War II which showed German soldiers protecting French villagers from the French Resistance and with the French resistance portrayed as blood thirsty demons and the German soldiers as decent, brave Caucasian heroes. There would be a howl of outrage and everyone involved in the making of the film treated like a pariah. Deservedly so, too. In the same way that the French were fighting against a German invasion, the Vietcong were fighting against an American invasion, and no amount of Hollywood re-writing of history will change this fact.

The Russian roulette scenes are ridiculous -and a complete invention, they never happened in real life- and show the director's racist attitude towards the Vietnamese.

The best that can be said for this film is that some of the set scenes in Pennsylvania are quite good, especially the wedding scene, and shows Michael Cimino has a talent as a 2nd Unit film director. The acting and the cinematography are fine. One star for each. Avoid this film. It is awful. It makes the Rambo movies look like Pontecorvo's "The Battle of Algiers."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1979]
The Deer Hunter [DVD] [1979] by Michael Cimino (DVD - 2005)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews