Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good Stuff!
This is the Damned album that all fans should have especially if they are more into the old styles of Punk with more resmblance to that of The Clash and Sham 69 to name a couple, which is definitley more to my liking. With great songs like New Rose,Smash it up, Neat Neat Neat and Love Song that break through into your head like a demon that just won't go away.Great guitar...
Published on 10 Sep 2002 by gottsy

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eternal Damnation
In the late 60s the Young Blood label issued a single by the Damned but its NOT these guys its a different group! You presume they no longer existed but if they had then the Damned would have had to become the Damm or something
Whatever I can take or leave the Damned but at least they were a different beast to the appalling Sex Pistols and had a great name which...
Published 22 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn Good Stuff!, 10 Sep 2002
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
This is the Damned album that all fans should have especially if they are more into the old styles of Punk with more resmblance to that of The Clash and Sham 69 to name a couple, which is definitley more to my liking. With great songs like New Rose,Smash it up, Neat Neat Neat and Love Song that break through into your head like a demon that just won't go away.Great guitar work and vocals that help echo the words "Pure Punk" and it is nothing less...The Damned hepled bring Classic Punk kicking and screaming into many peoples lives, and this double Cd covering probably the best years of this fantastic band is a definite Must Buy for the "Punk Obsessed".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive..., 12 Jan 2009
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
As already mentioned, if you have to buy one Damned album, this is the one you want. It covers the group's portfolio as well as any one work can from the primitive New Rose thrash to the wonderfully camp Eloise. As the sleeve notes say, it's hard to credit that these two tracks come from the same band which makes the collection all the more important.

There are a couple of ditties that I'd never heard of, including In Dulce Decorum and Curtain Call and I feel much better person for having heard them. There is also one surprising ommission - I Think I'm Wonderful - a track that I reckon sums up the group better than any other they ever did - better even than Smash It Up itself. So I downloaded that one track from Amazon MP3 downloads and added it to the album myself.

Go Get 'Em Floyd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever Damned., 2 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. David J. Garrett "dizzy" (uk, sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
From the spoken opening "is she really going out with him?" by Dave Vanian folowed by Rat Scabies crashing drums on "New Rose" to the later Gothic/ Psychedelic era, this album is a rollercoaster of speed,fun, noise and tunes.
The Damned were always the real deal in the Punk era and though less political than others their more U.S imfluenced sound stands up well. The Stooges, MC5 and Ramones are clear influences as is older '60's garage music such as the Sonics and tunes like "Surfin' Bird". The Damned were never afraid of a chaotic, fast paced attack in their music !
In '79 they re-formed with Captain Sensible switching to guitar and had a top 20 hit with Love Song and sucess with "Smash it up" (banned by radio 1 !) and "I just can't be happy today". The epic "Curtian Call" shows the breadth of their talent with other highlights being "Wait for the Blackout" and "Street of Dreams" imo.
A great place to start with The Damned. But don't forget the classic "Machine Gun Etiquette" , "Black Album" very underrated "Strawberries" and gothic "Phantasmagoria". There are hidden gems worth down loading and go on recommendations as most Damned fans agree on their highlights. Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life goes on........., 5 July 2013
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
If like me you have/had all of the Damned's albums on vinyl and simply could not be bothered to replace them all (except of course the 1st) with CD's then look no further. Only one gripe though, why include the over long 'Curtain Call' when the Damned have such a back catalogue to choose from? That said it is a very good example of how much the Damned changed throughout the period covered by these CD's. Notwithstanding this it could and should have been replaced by up to 5 other songs which would also have earned it 5 stars. Still worth every penny though so buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Damned!, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
A double CD of The Damned hits. A great listen, especially if you like The Damned! What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 23 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
If you like The Damned then this is a must to replace your old albums. Covers a long period of line-up changes and different styles.

Great stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
excellent many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Damned had more about them than I remembered, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
I never really bothered with the Damned at the time, I was into other punk bands, but they were really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Goes On..., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
This album has been on repeat countless times on my iPod and none of the songs have grown old at all.
I discovered The Damned only a few months ago after finding Eloise and falling in love with Dave Vanian's voice. Although this was after their punk ear in the 70's. Their new romantic songs with a slightly gothic hint to go with his deep vocals, their songs clash beautifully together from New Rose and Love Song to their anti war songs such as In Dulcea Decorum based on a Wilfred Owen poem which proves they have a very particular style in lyrics speaking their points of views meaning their a punk group that should have been better known since they came out just before Sex Pistols with God Save The Queen.
The band is still going today with their latest album in 2008 So Who's Paranoid? which I listened on YouTube, although with an uninteresting cover, their tracks reminisce on their earlier stuff, it'll be like they're still in the 80's, the greatest decade in my opinion for music.

Although I was a little disappointed the compilation didn't include Is It A Dream? which is one of their better songs with the strangest of lyrics such as 'stand in a line like a parking meter' & 'then, suddenly like fly in a cuppa tea, I'm stirred and no longer free, to fly away' which just made me an instant fan, they definitely stand out from most bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not all there!, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 (Audio CD)
Well, firstly ignore Garry Mulholland's 'review', it's just factually incorrect and rose-tinted towards the fashion 'punks' i.e Malcolm McLaren's Sex Pistols. I would advise punters to buy the full albums on cd instead of this compilation. The Damned were the first and are still the best, but in my opinion, rather like The Clash, they only had a couple of good albums in them - the first two. Others disagree. Mr Mulholland, get your facts straight, and remember that until Bill Grundy the Pistols were playing to 30 hippies in anoraks at gash venues and the Damned were blazing a trail of chaos that turned the world of music (not fashion) upside down!! Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987
Smash It Up: the Anthology 1976-1987 by Damned (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews