Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savatage - Hall Of The Mountain King
Savatage's fourth studio album Hall Of The Mountain King is a cult classic Heavy Metal album, that was released in 1987 and which was the starting point in the band's gradual evolution from a more traditional 80s Metal band into a Progressive Metal band.

Sonically, the album shares moments of Power Metal, NWOBHM, Progressive Metal & Thrash Metal without ever...
Published 22 months ago by Gentlegiantprog

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad release, as far as re-issues go...
This is just one of all 14 releases being re-issued as a special digipak, which when stacked or lined up on the bookshelf with all the others as a complete set, the spines display the Savatage logo. Some albums contain bonus tracks (half of which were relased on previous re-issues in 1997 and 2002), and others contain brand new acoustic renditions of Savatage songs, by...
Published 18 months ago by W T WASP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savatage - Hall Of The Mountain King, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Savatage's fourth studio album Hall Of The Mountain King is a cult classic Heavy Metal album, that was released in 1987 and which was the starting point in the band's gradual evolution from a more traditional 80s Metal band into a Progressive Metal band.

Sonically, the album shares moments of Power Metal, NWOBHM, Progressive Metal & Thrash Metal without ever really settling on one or the other for a real long time, although in a way that always feels natural rather than a schizophrenic shifting between disjointed styles. If you come in to it expecting one particular thing then it may be confusing or even a bit annoying, indeed people often argue over what subgenre Savatage actually are since they sit perfectly on the borders of so many, but if you can stop yourself over-analyzing it in comparison to any set of genre boundaries, you'll get to hear a damn fine album of well written, quintessentially '80s sounding Metal.

Jon Olivia has a powerful voice that goes from throaty low pitched shouting to Dickinson & Halford style theatrics and melodies at a moments notice. Equally, the rest of the band are all impressive at their instruments, with each member shining at one point of the album or other, from a bass-centric intro to a lengthy guitar solo or some interesting drum fills everyone shows what they can do in a restrained but still impressive fashion.

The whole record flows really well and not a moment feels wasted or out of place, the production suits the musical direction perfectly and the album overall just feels satisfying. Its easy to see why it always makes it into lists of best metal albums.

Highlights include the rhythmic and interesting `Legion' the speedy `White Witch' and the brilliant and memorable title-track along with its classical-reinterpretation prelude track, for which most people will know the album.

Overall; Hall Of The Mountain King is something that pretty much any Metal fan should be able to find something to like about, and if you haven't heard it yet, you should at least consider trying it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metal, 26 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. T. Slaney (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first heard the title track when I was about 13 and it got me crazy about Savatage, just the one song. So I bought the album and it is now most definetely one of favourites.
From the glass-shattering '24 Hours Ago' to the melodic 'Strange Wings', this album, especially if you're a fan of power metal, will have you hooked. It represents what power-metal should be, meaningful, heavy and owning a certain sense of aura, unlike many power metal bands today, who mainly focus on speed.
I could only give it 5 stars, but this is worthy of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 12 Mar 2014
By 
S. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album on a whim after hearing the title track.

I proceeded to have my face melted by the entire album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's heavy metal!, 10 July 2009
This review is from: Hall Of The Mountain King (Audio CD)
This Savatage album came along after a failed attempt to break into the US charts with over the top (poor) arena rock on the previous CD.

realising where their true strengths lay, savatage hit us with this true masterpiece of metal. Some of the riffs and leads found in here are (in my humble opinion) some of the greatest ever written in the history of metal... thus was the genius of the late Criss Oliva. His brother Jon also excells with truely fantastic vocals.... all set behind the backdrop of great songwriting.

The songs range from the more stereotypical 80's anthems (strange wings) to the simply epic Hall of the mountain king..... not a weak link to be found aside from a slight filler track or two towards the end. All in all i find this to be savatages finest moment, combining all that was great about this band in a single crushing release.

Any fan of 80's metal should have this one safely nestled in their collection already, for those who havent yet, get clicking..... a masterpiece.

95/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Metal., 19 Aug 2007
This review is from: Hall Of The Mountain King (Audio CD)
Occasionally I decide to discover bands I have little or no idea about, I'd heard of Savatage being a long time fan of 80's metal but had not actually heard any music from them. However I reasoned because the cover art is brilliantly cheesy the music must be great as well. Thankfully, I was right.

Savatage were one of those bands in the American metal scene who didn't fall into either the thrash or hair metal movements (however they apparently flirted with hair metal on their previous album). However I would describe the bands sound as King Diamond with a proper singer or Megadeth if they slowed down (and had a proper singer). Apart from the excellent songs on this album I was most impressed by Criss Oliva's guitar playing which like most players in the 80's was Van Halen inspired but imaginative rather than derivative and he clearly had the technical ability to do this. Their were few players in the late 80's metal scene who were shredding but actually doing something interesting in the context of a band, Andy LaRoque, Chris Poland and future Savatage guitarist Alex Skolnick spring to mind and Criss Oliva can easily hold his own against the aforementioned players. Vocally, Jon Oliva has a unique voice which is probably an acquired taste but he can clearly sing very well and his lyrics are dated yet enjoyable most of them being about `children of the night' and equally metal fare. The rhythm section is completely nothing to write home about pretty typical of the time and one of few weak points of this otherwise exceptional album.

This album has many memorable songs and is consistently good with no weak moments. However the albums title track is easily the finest yet it is confusingly not based on Edvard Greig's classical piece (`Prelude to Madness', however does as well as echoing Holst's `Mars, the bringer of war'), however Criss Oliva does provide some majestic guitar riffs and solos. Other notable tracks include opener `24 hours ago' which yet again is a guitar master class and perhaps the most commercially minded track, `Strange Wings'. The band show some heavier influences in `White Witch' which is reminiscent of Venom and could of easily be on their magnum opus `Black Metal'.

I really was surprised I hadn't heard this album before, it's a masterful 80's metal album with a lot going for it, songs, playing and an interesting neo-classical tinge. I can highly recommend this to any metal fan unfamiliar with Savatage. It has the right balance between heaviness and melody, which the band, although the ballads were good didn't get right on their following release `Gutter Ballet'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad release, as far as re-issues go..., 14 Jan 2013
By 
W T WASP (Calgary, AB CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just one of all 14 releases being re-issued as a special digipak, which when stacked or lined up on the bookshelf with all the others as a complete set, the spines display the Savatage logo. Some albums contain bonus tracks (half of which were relased on previous re-issues in 1997 and 2002), and others contain brand new acoustic renditions of Savatage songs, by Jon Oliva.

However, there are a number of grievances I have about this set, which really hurt the integrity and overall quality of this latest incarnate of the Savatage library, things that cost this collection a full 5-stars (for EACH album) in my reviews...

First of all, these were released completely random and all out of chornological order (pretty stupid move, if you ask me), so anyone with mild OCD dispositions (like myself) may be tortured by having to make the choice between sorting them in their proper order, or in the mixed-up, re-released sequence, JUST to display the spines' logo "puzzle" correctly.

Secondly (and speaking of the spine-logo "puzzle"), while there are indeed only 14 studio albums from Savatage (including the mini-album/EP, THE DUNGEONS ARE CALLING), the first two albums (SIRENS, and the mini-album/EP THE DUNGEONS ARE CALLING) have been compiled together onto one CD, and entitled as "SIRENS & THE DUNGEONS ARE CALLING : The Complete Sessions".

So what is the 14th disc? Well, I didn't think there even WAS one, thinking the SIRENS and TDAC in a "twofer" format was still counted as "two spearate" albums. But,I discovered that there most certainly had to be a 14th disc, by how the logo created by the digipak spines appeared to be missing one last "piece" (the end of the last half of the "e" in "Savatage")

So, not only are the spines mixed up (according to the original album sequence), but now there is a missing piece for this "spine-logo puzzle" concept - and that "piece", that 14th disc/album, turned out to be the band's "greatest hits / best of" compilation release, called FROM THE GUTTER TO THE STAGE, which I have discovered to be a very very elusive component to this set. Either that, or, it is not being represented properly on the many many marketplace websites, with the correct images?

Thirdly, on top of all that, while MOST of these re-releases have all-new liner notes from Jon Oliva (of which, even these are inconsistent with their content ; some have song-by-song descriptions/explanations/anecdotes, other just have Jon's reminiscing commentaries), a couple of them DO NOT have any new content, and instead, have either recycled the previous liner notes from the 2002 re-issue (as with EDGE OF THORNS, the second album to be re-released in this set), or, retained their original release layout (as with WAKE OF MAGELLAN, the first album to be re-released in this set).

Either way, what could have been a BRILLIANT re-issue of an amazing heavy/progressive metal band's discography from 1982-2002, has been blemished by these pitiful and preventable oversights. If you are a "stickler" of a collector as I am, then these kinds of details may bother you as they bother me.

HOWEVER, if you don't care about the liner notes inconsitencies, the booklets' content, etc, and care ONLY ABOUTTHE MUSIC, then you probably won't be too terribly disappointed.

When it comes to all these remastered re-issues that have come out out in the past decade or so, many tend to sound anywhere from poor to downright awful, but this batch of Savatage albums did alright on that front this time around, with the ONE exception of THE DUNGEONS ARE CALLING -- I found it to be of poorer quality than the 1994 Metal Blade re-issue (which, along with SIRENS, contained some of the "lost Sava-tracks demos), but just marginally better than the "Silver Anniversary" edition (which, again, along with SIRENS, had a few "hidden" bonus tracks at the end of the disc, which followed like 80-90 blank tracks with durations of just 2-3 seconds each, placed in between the bonus tracks and the album tracks). All the other albums, however, sound anywhere from good to better, if not just simply sound almost the same as the originals.

The only reason I bothered with (yet another!) Savatage library re-issue set, is cos this time, all the albums are here (including the greatest hits/ best of FTGTTS, if you can find it), and more importantly 9for me), I wanted the new Jon Oliva acoustic versions of the Savatage songs. Rather than just buy those albums with the new track, the collector in me just said "get them ALL and be be done with it".

I hope this review made snese and was useful for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As It Gets, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the album that opened me up to Savatage's music. Cracking vocals and guitar work. Recommended for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ear candy!!!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First heard on cassette ! loved it then love it even more now !
For any lifer metalheads or novices a must have ! Pure riff heaven ! You wont be dissapointed ! TURN IT UP!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first listen, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall Of The Mountain King (Audio CD)
this is my first listen to this group.read someone,s review of it and decided to see for myself,and all i can say i am glad i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic album, 27 May 2013
One of there best albums. Still a classic after all these years. Up there along side Edge Of Thorns and Gutter Ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hall Of The Mountain King
Hall Of The Mountain King by Savatage (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews