Customer Reviews


16 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best just got better!, 10 Feb. 2004
By 
S. Adamson "adder77" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
This was always the seminal live Camel album but with the addition of the bonus tracks it has quite possibly become the best live album ever.
The bonus tracks do not feel like 'add ons' but they help to give a true concert feel to the first CD.
The second CD remains quite superb, with the spoken introduction a great bonus, and the bonus tracks here give an encore 'feel' to the disc.
If you are new to Camel or simply wishing to update your collection, this is the album for you. 5 stars is not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original live album and now the best, 11 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
I always felt this album was under rated but my vinyl copy has seen some serious wear over the years and what a delight to see it re-issued, digitally remastered and enhanced with bonus tracks. Fans tend to gravitate to the official bootlegs issued by Camel and, in fairness, they have the advantage of being from a single gig by and large so as to provide an accurate portrait at a particular point in the band's history.
With the re-issue of "A Live record" what we now get - more even than when it was released - is a virtual greatest hits album live but to describe it as such would be to under-sell its appeal.
The first disc has been significantly bolstered by five bonus tracks - four coming from the 1977 tour dominated by the Rain Dances tracks hence this release now provides a higher than average quota from that album. These tracks were originally omitted as the live release followed on so closely from the studio album and, in truth, the live versions are pretty faithful renditions of their studio counterparts. "First Light", which opens proceedings, is however a lovely version. "Metrognome" is a bit more of a throwaway track and "Unevensong (one of my favorite tracks on Rain Dances) doesn't quite gel live as well as the other tracks. Chord Change is, however, a worthy addition from the 1976 tour and is a tight version.
The remaining, original tracks, all benefit from the remastering and sound quality throughout is excellent.
Disc 2 concentrates on the Hammersmith '75 Snow Goose show complete with Royal Philharmonic orchestra and I believe it to be the definitive version. The sound quality is truly awesome as is the performance and, to be honest, I would rather this disc than the original studio release.
Two extra bonus tracks from the Hammersmith show in 1976 round off proceedings very nicely.
If I have any quibble it is that the other tracks from the Marquee 1974 shows and Hammersmith 1976 are spread over the remaining re-issues but at least we now have the opportunity to obtain them all.
If you like Camel buy this release. If you want to hear Camel for the first time I would actually prefer this to the greatest hits releases also - although it does not provide a particularly balanced set (there are too many tracks from rain dances for that) it gives a pretty good feel for what Camel were about and shows what great musicians they were live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camel's Finest, 30 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Finally replaced my ageing vinyl copy with this new remastered cd. It is a 2 cd set which also has several unreleased tracks added. A nice touch is the spoken introduction by Peter Bardens before the start of the Snow Goose.

This is one of just a few live albums that I own that I think has been so well recorded and mixed that you could imagine being there. So often I have found live albums disappointing but not this one. As regards the Snow Goose this version is better than the original studio one.

Probably Camel's finest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of live performances, 13 Oct. 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
This is an intense live experience by Camel, including songs from several shows between 1974 and 1977.

Cd 2 Features The Snow Goose played in it's entirety and I personally prefer hearing this live rendition compared to the studio album. In addition, this version of A Live Record includes various bonus tracks, and a different track order overall from the original edition. The bonus tracks are mainly songs from Raindances and all sound great, (also included are two favourites of mine form the great Moonmadness: Chord Change and Another Night, so all in all the bonus songs contribute to make A Live Record an even bigger live Camel experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Camel album ever IMHO, 23 Mar. 2011
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
The original vinyl issue of this album was and is my fave Camel album. This CD incorporates all the tracks from the original issue and adds some other tracks that mostly should have been left in the can. Judicious use of the advance button sorts that however. Recommended for anyone who loved the original Latimer/Bardens lineup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its the fruit of five studio albums, 16 Mar. 2006
By 
Nizar Al Musawi (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
it was back in 1995 when i first introduced to Camel and this live album with Camel first album "Camel" were awesome. this album comes after five successful studio albums and it reflects the musical talents of all Camel members. Peter Barden Keyboard playing was amazing along with latimer's guitar which was stunning especially on "lady fantasy" and (unevensong" and let's not forget Mel Colins dazzling Sax. which you miss it on their ealy studio works.
the second set is "Snow Goose" in its entirety in The Royal Albert Hall with London Philaharmonic Orchestra which really gave the album a classical dimension which it lacked in its studio version.
I really recommend this album for people who are new to Camel and it is a must-to-get in any Camel's Fan Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded - got it right this time!, 18 Oct. 2008
By 
A. ADAM - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
It's not unusual for beefed up versions of 70's prog albums to prompt a resigned sigh of 'sometimes less is more'. It just is the case that, 8 times out of 10, all those tempting bonus tracks are no more than leftovers that should have been left where they were. This time, my friends, things are different - 40mins of extra music that very definitely earns its keep, turning quite a decent live album into one that borders on the exceptional. At the very least, it shows just how much we've underrated the Sinclair/Collins version of the band. Splendid stuff - a credit to the compilers, and a fine band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never Let Go of this one, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Ok, so I was at the Marquee when they recorded Lady Fantasy and Ligging at Louis. This set contains bonus material from Raindances era as well as an Orchestrated version of the Snowgoose at the Royal Albert Hall with the Original group line up: namely - Bardens, Latimer, Ferguson & Ward. For any Camel an out there, this is one not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars massive, 15 May 2014
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
When I was at Uni Camel were massive. Or at least The Snow Goose was because they had played it live there. This double CD has a complete performance of that album plus the other CD shows what a great live band they were full stop. Top musicians at the top of their prog rock game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't sound as great as it does on LP, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Live Record (Remastered/Expanded) (2CD) (Audio CD)
A truly superb live album. Doesn't sound as great as it does on LP; then again, what live recording of this era does ? If you're a Camel fan this is (in my opinion) an essential purchase. Even if you're merely curious about prog rock this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews