Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalleled depth and freedom and utterly compelling
This was one of the first games I bought to go with my shiny, new Playstation 2 - it was going cheap and I thought "Why not?" As I write this review, I'm about one third of the way through it and I can't wait to start playing again. Yes, even though I'm in my mid-thirties, 'Deus Ex' is so compelling that it's made me regress about twenty years!
This is a hugely...
Published on 8 Jan. 2004 by C. C. Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique and pleasing gaming experience
A unique FPS/Adventure game with very some original touches, at times the dark storyline can seem depressing but this is without doubt a quality adventure game with plenty of shooting action thrown in. The game is surprisingly long too for one of its genre and whilst there are many superior games out there this one comes highly recommended for those trawling the bargain...
Published on 27 Feb. 2008 by N Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalleled depth and freedom and utterly compelling, 8 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
This was one of the first games I bought to go with my shiny, new Playstation 2 - it was going cheap and I thought "Why not?" As I write this review, I'm about one third of the way through it and I can't wait to start playing again. Yes, even though I'm in my mid-thirties, 'Deus Ex' is so compelling that it's made me regress about twenty years!
This is a hugely impressive game. You are more-or-less free to do as you please - you can deliberately disobey your mission orders (and the game engine somehow tidies things up for you so that you can progress), you can turn traitor, you can even commit casual murder if that's your thing. If something can be done within the limitations of the game engine, you can do it.
Actually, you're not quite free to do as you please. For example, if you run into a new area, guns-a-blazing you're likely to end up dead very quickly, or run out of ammo at the very least. Instead, 'Deus Ex' rewards a cautious approach to play - you sneak around trying to take out enemy agents cleanly with a head shot. Indeed, if you're of an ethical bent you can simply render enemies unconscious with tranquilizer darts. Often you then need to hide the bodies so as not to alert their colleagues. This does mean that playing 'Deus Ex' takes a VERY long time, but you never feel that it is tedious - the atmosphere and constant tension mean that you never get bored.
The game world is wonderfully realized. Yes, we're in the classic distopian future beloved of game designers, and it's always dark, but you really feel that you're in a living world. You can talk to everybody and they all have many different things to say. You can talk to even the most miserable of bums several times before his dialogue starts to loop. As for plot characters, you can talk to them all you like. They often give out crucial information (such as keypad combinations and passwords) after several conversations; even if they don't they still impart information that deepens your understanding of the world and the events going on in it. More impressively, ALL the dialogue is voice acted.
The game design is peerless. The environments are highly interactive: you can flush toilets, read newspapers and books, turn on desk lamps, hack unattended PCs, hack ATMs for cash, all sorts. If you need to get into an enemy stronghold, there are always multiple ways of doing it: you can go in the front door and face whatever welcome has been prepared for you or you can smash a window at the side and sneak in or you can pick the lock of a grating and come in from the basement or you can climb a fire escape and get in through a skylight, whatever suits your style of play. Last night I was trying to get into a warehouse over rooftops crawling with enemy snipers. At one point I found myself crawling on a billboard ("Holy Smokes Cigarets - They're Saviorific"), hundreds of feet above the ground lining an enemy soldier up in the sights of my sniper rifle. Did that feel good? You bet it did!
'Deus Ex' may look like a first-person shooter, but it's really an RPG, like 'System Shock', for example (another Warren Spector game). You have upgradable skills, such as lockpicking, computer hacking, swimming, various weapons, etc. and because of your unique nature you can fit yourself with various nanotechnological augmentations which make you faster, stronger, able to see in the dark, hold your breath, etc. However, as far as I can tell, you never become more resilient.
The plot is deep, involving and well told. However, I do have an issue with the paranoid-UN-taking-over-the-world-by-stealth conspiracy nonsense that the plot hinges on. It's the sort of idiocy spouted by American white supremacists and gun nuts who then stockpile enough hardware to furnish a decent sized army and start firefights with justly concerned BATF agents. I don't know whether the story reflects Warren Spector's world view - I sincerely hope not.
The graphics are perfectly OK, if far from the best I've seen. The models are quite good and the environments are often spectacular. However, I do wonder why the game looks slightly inferior to the PC version given that the game was released on PC in 2000 and the PS2 should be more than equal to PCs of that time. Sound is also very good and the music is among the best that I've heard in a game, all dark and futuristic.
The controls are quite good and very intuitive. Moving using the left analogue stick is much easier than moving using the cursor keys of a PC keyboard, although using the right analogue stick for aiming is harder than using a PC mouse.
I'm not sure yet, and I'll know when I've finished the game, but 'Deus Ex' may be the best game I've ever played. Certainly I recommend it without reservation.
Quick aside to people who've not played the game yet: 'Deus Ex' has an optional training section which is quite tedious. Do not judge the game by this as I did initially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUGMENTASTIC!, 19 Mar. 2004
By 
wilco121 (A long time ago, In a galaxy far, far away) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
deus ex. my favouritist favourite game on the PC ever. an gaming experience never touched upon. I was a cross between Neo from Matrix and James Bond from, well James Bond. Travelling the world, shooting, stealthing, manipulating , hacking, exposing, breaking into, blowing up and generally having the time of my life. I was thus very enthusiastic to see what the transition over to PS2 brought.
I once read prior to PS2 release - that it wouldn't work well on consoles; as the PC version uses most of the buttons on the keyboard, it would have meant a 'wrestling combination' i.e. X, X, up, left, triangle, O, O, X just to whip your bi-noc-u-lars out! as I suspected - this was just a little exaggeration from a bitter PC reviewer, angry that the consolers had access to PC's sacred game. Controls are not overly complicated - (you can always press pause or access yr weapons / augs menus to give you some breathing space and time to get your head together). Deus Ex makes use of the analogue sticks to move around - a little tricky at first (and similarly after completion and you revert back to other games with the D-pad - mega confusion). Also main configuration utilises R1 button to shoot - I actually liked this set-up as felt a bit like a trigger, if needing a bit of getting used to. The other good thing was the vibration mode. Should a humungo security bot walk by you can feel their footsteps. ditto electric shocks / bullet wounds - actually any health deteriation gave a little tingle... this was a nice touch even if evocative of pins and needles to the hands ( does anyone else get this?!)
although a couple of years between playing PC and PS2 versions - I really noticed differences in the game. And I must say I do prefer it on the PC. Apart from small areas of maps which have been shaved off to reduce memory usage, it was small things I missed. such as being able to type passwords/logins in (even guess at them in some cases). with PS2; if you had been given a code - then it worked. if not - it didn't. I guess I just felt like more of a hacker when typing.
As a summery of the game - You play JC Denton, a nano - augmented special agent in the anti terrorist division. (augmentations make you stronger / faster / see further; basically do amazing things) you start off on liberty island to 'clean up' a terrorist situation. as you progress through the game and interact with different characters - you go to different world locations to unravel the master plot & mysteries surrounding this recent terrorist threat. The great thing about this game is the freedom of choice - depending on how you choose to deal with situations affects your game and which road you go down. the final section even gives you multiple choices on how the game ends. You can interact with the world you are in. most things can be used / picked up / thrown - even down to a plant pot / basketball / can of soda. You can choose / install & upgrade your augmentations as you see fit, similarly you can upgrade your skills accordingly (ie rifle training / enviromental skills). You can handle a situation in many different ways - do you go in like the proverbial Rambo? or sneek in through that unlocked airvent? hold on, couldn't you hack into the security mainframe and reprogramme their own security system against them? So many choices - and that is why this game is so so good - Choice. Lots of them. You feel as though you are controlling the game rather than just playing through it.
With the best storyline I have ever experienced - and the most intriguing characters this is a must play game. if you haven't played on the PC, go play it on either format. if you owned and liked the PC version - would still recommend giving it a go on PS2: you will be pleasantly surprised - tis good to relive the experience + using a controller certainly adds a new dimension to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, absorbing and unputdownable, 13 Nov. 2002
By 
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
One of the best games I've ever played - certainly the best for this genre. I'm amazed that others on this panel can rate Max Payne or Half Life in the same league. I'm assuming they're more fans of the hard-hitting side of the shoot-em-up?
Perhaps to draw distinction, Deus Ex is a very immersive game, probably best played by those who enjoy more of a stealth aspect. I never even bothered with the "kick the door in and go in with the heavy weapons" approach, since I find it far more fun creeping around with a silenced pistol and a scope, and a sniper's rifle for longer range, subtly murdering people while their mates have their backs turned!
More entertaining is the fact that you can hack into computer terminals and muck around with security cameras, turning gun turrets against their own side and clearing areas without wasting a single shot. You can also choose which way you approach each mission, such as picking locks, bypassing security grids, weeding information out of passers by, crawling through sewers or whatever takes your fancy! It even has three different endings to choose from, depending on your own dystopian ideals.
In short, if you're fond of strategy, a good plot and delving around before committing to any one particular course then you should love this game. If you're more into gunning people down as fast as possible then go for something more like half life. This is a BIG game, so perhaps rent it before you buy and decide that way. I'll say one thing - it's the FIRST game I've ever finished and immediately started again. I found it that good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern classic, 24 July 2002
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
Deus Ex is perhaps not a game for everyone. This is a first-person shoot'em-up/adventure that requires the dedication usually demanded of games like Final Fantasy. In my opinion, its more than worth it.
The game offers a multitude of custmisable options, allowing you to become near invincible to bullets, ro to breathe underwater, or to see through walls. The story changes depending on the choices you make; there is no set path to the game. You can kill who you like, when you like, or choose not to complete a secondary objective; it all has an effect on the way the story unfolds. Whichever path you choose, the story is always captivating - classic conspiracy stuff, reminiscant of the best of The X-Files.
The game plays extremely well, and is absorbing stuff. It took me six weeks to complete, and every minute of it was well spent. An essential purchase for any FPS/RPG fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 18 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
This is definetly on my top 10 games list it i kind of a mix between an RPG and an FPS with you ableto customise and increase your abilities in things such as hacking and swimming and the ability to use 'biomods' which allow you to allocate one of 2 skills to each body part and use them such as making you run faster and jump further or making you invisible to humans even weapons can be customised by fitting silencers and and scoped and even mods which alloew you to increase accurcy etc.
But by far the most important element of the game is the fact that you can go anywhere and do anything you want, for example you can tackle missions my stealth or force you can kill anybody you want when your walking down the street or help people by 'taking out' criminals the freedom in this game is vast but hard to explain to see its easiest to buy it for the almost criminally low prices.
This game well deserves its place as a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some good things come in old packages..., 13 Sept. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
First the bad news...as this game is now 5 years old, it is a bit dated in its graphics, enemy AI is spotty, and cut-scenes. The good news is, it doesn't matter!

This is one of the best games I have ever played,the depth and level of story is unbelievable. I could not believe how many hours of gameplay I got from this game. The controls take a little work, but stick with it, it gets easy very quickly.

The game itself is essentially a conspiracy thriller, and would make a great film in its own right (has quite a bit of philosophy, politics, triads, aliens etc). If anything, the game packs in too much and almost outstays its welcome...almost!

At the bargain price this can be bought for, I cannot recommend it enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent port of the superb PC version!, 25 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
After playing Half-Life, I thought I would never find a game that raised the bar so far and away over the competition. I was wrong. Deus Ex takes not only the first person shooter action you expect to find in a game from its genre, but combines it with the dialog and evolution of plot from games like Soldier of Fortune. To put it over the top, it adds an element unique to roll playing games, upgrading a character's abilities and unique skills.
The environment in Deus Ex is 100% immersive and is so detailed that it is almost rediculous. The detail does not stop at being "just for show," as the game itself has three (count 'em, three) different endings.
It should be said that this game is not for those seeking total action, kill them all, throw caution to the wind, as running into a situation guns blazing will most likely get you killed, or will get the hostages killed (on some missions). Deus Ex makes "sneaking around" a more viable option. Playing as JC Denton one almost feels like a cyber James Bond.
Do be wary though, the game takes well in excess of twenty hours to play. It ends up being very enjoyable, but it's unlikely one would play it over again. The endings are kind of dull and leave the player wanting more for their effort. In the end, Deus Ex introduces many new features that designers should look at carefully and introduce them in their own titles. A perfect port of the PC Version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best game that i have ever played!, 28 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
Deus Ex is the most amazing first person shooter that i have ever played. It has a gripping storyline with lots of twists and what you do and say to the other characters influences the games ending. The weapons include hi-tech firearms, explosive devices and melee weapons. This game is not for people who want a good clean shooter as it has losts of gore and some swearing which adds to the realism of the game. Deus Ex is set in the future and at first is hard to take seriously as some of the characters are geneticly altered with mechanical implants which make their performance level much different to regular human beings. The character can learn and improve skills which include computer hacking, lockpicking, bypassing security, swimming and many more. Weapons can be upgraded to improve their performance in aspectes such as accuracy and recoil which helps. There are capsules around the game which can be picked up called augmentations which allow the character to have improved body parts eg. one of the augmentation capsules allows you to have light amplifications and infra red sensors in its eyes. The detail of the surroundings and other characters is amazing. All-in-all this game is a game you must have on the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A unique and pleasing gaming experience, 27 Feb. 2008
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
A unique FPS/Adventure game with very some original touches, at times the dark storyline can seem depressing but this is without doubt a quality adventure game with plenty of shooting action thrown in. The game is surprisingly long too for one of its genre and whilst there are many superior games out there this one comes highly recommended for those trawling the bargain bins (now under £1 second hand on Amazon).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 9 July 2008
By 
Mr. M. L. Hanford "MH74" (Hereford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex (PS2) (Video Game)
At the time of writing this I have probably finished it(on easy at least)eight or more times and am still finding new things,most people know by now what game it is so here's just a few points of interest:
Compared to the PC version,some of the areas have been 'cordoned off'obviously to allow for less loading etc,the PS2 has auto aim and the scope(s)don't shake about half as much as the PC version even when they've been upgraded,I've seen my brother play the PC version and I don't think there are any major bits taken out of it,all I can remember is that a gunfight outside the hospital is missing and the descent to rescue Ford Shick has been 'edited'
There are moments of slowdown when it gets busy but they're infrequent at best and as for the stealth,I've not had a problem,granted it's a bit random sometimes but it is old now and compared to the first Thief game it's much better
The music is much more atmospheric in this than the second game but some of the voice acting is awful,I still haven't worked out what nationality the barman in Tokyo is?
None of this puts me off what is a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deus Ex (PS2)
Deus Ex (PS2) by Eidos (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews