Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Robot? The Saddest Robot Film You Will Ever See
I first saw this film with friends one day after we were at the rental shop trying to figure out what to get. I think we were first drawn to this because of the original 1927 film by Fritz Lang which this is loosely based.
Moving to the present day, I now own the DVD and the soundtrack and love every minute of this film. Its beauty is only overwhelmed by its shear...
Published on 6 Mar. 2006 by J Baker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Noses
Impressive backgrounds and an ambitious story should ensure this film is up there with the likes of Akira - but it isn't.

The characters seem like they belong more in a serialised childs cartoon. There is a degree of loyalty to the original Manga series - but decisions were made to remove some of the more fantastical elements from the original (such as flying...
Published on 12 Jan. 2008 by @GeekZilla9000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far, far better than Akira. No, really., 6 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
This film possesses a certain touch almost completely lacking in Japanese animated films- heart. Based loosely on the 1926 silent film of the same name, this stands alone as a landmark film. While retaining the original's robot/humanity/revolutionary themes, this take on the story proves far more astounding.
The aspect of the film that really does capture the viewer's attention, is it's extraordinary ability to break almost every convention of Anime. The characters have a strong, appreciable humanity about them while physically and visually they seem to owe more to early 40's animations, with traditional rounded features and beeming eyes. This film surpasses every other Anime movie with its stunning 2D and 3D vistas and environments, akin to the ambitious creations of the Final Fantasy series. The dialogue flows naturally, and works well in both Japanese and English without being stilted by lip synching compromises like so many other translated films.
Also of note is the incredible soundtrack, a mish-mash of blues, jazz and orchestral pieces that adds to the on-screen story so much more than a comic could achieve. The use of 30's style parlour-room songs in the finale forms such an incredible atmosphere of emotion, that one doesn't know whether to laugh out loud at the pure (and very un-Japanese) cynicism that the movie seems to revel in, or cry for the anguish of the very believable protagonists. Rock, the villain who is anything but black and white, and devoted to his estranged father Duke Red is a character immediately loathable but just as easy to sympathise with, and while the film's creators may have wanted you to pay more attention to the political violence that courses through the story, the sheer wealth of personality and humanity force the idea of the film itself to take a back seat. Tima, a robot supposedly created not to love but to rule, and who's speech is simple and straight-forward is adorable and not even remotely hackneyed or cheesy. When anything gets too good-to-be-true in Metropolis, the underlying and strangely comforting irony keeps you hooked, and the contents of your stomach intact. The sheer quality of the scene settings, the sublime juxtapositions of visual chaos and musical relaxation and the use of the elements to lend feeling is beyond measure when going up against any other Anime.
The refreshing lack of sex and perveted school-boy antics that seem to permeat even the most innocent Japanese animations, in Metropolis makes the film so much more enjoyable, knowing that everyone everywhere is studying this film for its message, and not its animated cleavage. I mean geez, it's not real boobs! For once I can sit tight in the knowledge that Japanese men aren't trying to get kicks out of playing the same five frames over and over...
But in conclusion, this is the best Anime film around, and it will probably be a long time before anyone has the guts to come up with something better. Anime fans may have noticed that for some reason Anime writers seem to rejoice in the wholesale and needless slaughter of thousands of innocent people, for no particular reason (think Akira, Orguss Two etc). In fact the film's human touch is on a par with that other classic The Wings of Honneamise. The stops have all been pulled however for Metropolis, and this really is the mut's nuts. All hail the new gods of film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Noses, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
Impressive backgrounds and an ambitious story should ensure this film is up there with the likes of Akira - but it isn't.

The characters seem like they belong more in a serialised childs cartoon. There is a degree of loyalty to the original Manga series - but decisions were made to remove some of the more fantastical elements from the original (such as flying and sex-change) in order to give it a more realistic feel. Given that these were dropped, I'd have thought a less 'kids cartoon' style would have been better for the characters - what's with the massive noses?

The characters never really seemed to get interesting, the emotional side to the story was so important but it wasn't given the attention it deserved. It left me wanting to see the film to the end in order to see what happened, but I didn't really care much about what happened to the characters except for Tima the robot.

I'll not bleat on anymore about this, so, in a nutshell: Some fantastic backgrounds, a dystopian future, a resurrection of a 50 year old Manga series - but one which doesn't capture the magic it should have. For fans of the film though this will be a great DVD, complete with a second disk of extras including a 'making of' documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 21 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
I can't place my finger on it, but there's something lacking in this film. The animation is beautiful, the selection of music is brilliant (I read a comment someone else had made about the selection of music for the big scene near the end of the film and couldn't agree more), and there's nothing particularly wrong with the story, but somehow it all seems to lack that spark that usually defines great anime.

All in all I'd say it's a film that's well worth watching, but mainly for the artistic beauty rather than enterntainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good......, 7 Mar. 2007
By 
J. W. Sykes (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching Metropolis. The DVD package is superb, featuring both English and Japanese soundtracks. I must say that the English dub is one of the best i've heard so far, normally they dont do a good job, but this one is excellant. The DVD extras also provide interviews with the creators and a lot of background info on the film.

The animation is top notch, using a combination of Computer Graphics and traditional cell animation.

The plot is pretty good and gives the viewer a complete portrayal of the future with robots and people living in the world together (although there is some class type seperation between the rich and the poor and the robots).

Overall i would say that this is one of the best anime films ive seen so far. I think its worth 10-15 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was Fantastico, 9 Oct. 2002
By 
R J Faulkner (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metropolis [VHS] (VHS Tape)
And I really mean that, reading other peoples reviews I noticed they mentioned that you never got enough character development. Well I was very impressed by the whole thing and thought that an empathic connection between the viewer and the characters was definetly there by the end... I won't give any specific examples but I thought that the end sequece was very well directed, down to the music which seemed quite appropriate if a little bit of a humourous choice. Overall the CG city scape was great and I thought the old style characters blended well into it. This film defintely belongs beside Akira and Ghost in the Shell as a Genre Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CRIMINALLY MOST UNDERRATED MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF MOVIES., 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
Damn, how can someone in this world dislike this film????? Ridley Scott, Stanley Kubrick and Genndy Tartakovsky would be proud if they watch this film, because it captures perfectly their vision with their films (Blade Runner, 2001: Space Odyssey, The Clockwork Orange and Stalker). In many ways deeper.

Most people when praise Osamu Tezuka's Metropolis they often mention the art direction and forget to mention the vision this movie shows to the public. The way it criticize the future, the human nature and the terrible fate peoplekind's awaiting is simply genious. What I liked the most about this movie is how the 'villain' became the savior in the end and how he was the hero since the beginning. Rock knew what would happen if the Duke Red gave Tima the control of the ziggurat and tried to stop it. This Rock's quote is mindblowing: "It's you (the Duke Red) who should sit on the throne."

He means if the world is meant to be conquered, it should be controlled by human hands and not something you can't control. This theory reinforces the Terminator 2 one as well (Skynet became conscious and destroy the world). But here, Rock knew since the beginning that the human must control themselves, not a machine, not someone who can't speak for the human races.

The no-heart Tima is brilliant as well. Tima is an innocent, cute little girl who don't know the power she have on her hands, she even believe herself to be a real human girl. In my opinion, her innocent personality indicate the innocence and the impossibility of human race to control such huge power when is 'pure and docile'. Like saying: "When human race is fine with itself, they don't need this power." Rock says: "How can a baby like you sit in the throne?", referring to the 'docile' personality of Tima, knowing that she can't control such power because she's pure and innocent and don't have the coldness and ambition to rule the world.

When she became 'conscious', she lost her heart and turned back against the humans who created them. This is a metaphor on the human races when they become greedy and power-hunger (just as the members of the party are), they lost their humanity (heart) in exchange for domination and control.

SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING! SPOILER WARNING!

Of course, the ending is a piece of art. Yes, this theme was used before in 2001: Space Odyssey, Terminator series and Matrix series (machines turning back on humans), but here it's on another level. The sheer brilliance of the scene with the Ray Charles song and the meaning of it. Mankind reached the climax of it's technology superiority with the ziggurat but in the end all did wrong and fall down. Unlike Terminator and Matrix, the machines didn't conquered the world and both human's and machines's tools of domination were destroyed. Or... it could be a metaphor from a robot uprising foiled by human hands.

But what makes Osamu Tezuka's Metropolis so unique is the mythology that Tima and Rock create and the 'what if the machines didn't conquered the world' ending that many Terminator and Matrix fans certainly thought about on it. I consider this as one of the best movies of all time. Osamu Tezuka would be proud if he was alive at the time, unlike what the producers told, because this fits perfectly his vision not only on this original manga work, but in his other works.

ps...Speculation states Tima can be repaired, but it took the best cyber robotic inventor to create Tima, she will never be repaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New to anime, 19 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
I have long been curious about watching some anime, and so went out of my way to watch this, as it was something which I have actually heard of. I can honestly say I have no idea what to really think about this film.
The story is nothing like any films which I have seen before. It was interesting and a very nice change to watch a film where I had very little idea what was going to happen. The characters where defined, but not particularlly identifiable, which was a shame as the motivations in the film were all based on the relationships between all of the characters.
I am still slightly confused about the ending of the film, and exactly why everything played out as it did, but while I don't wholly understand the film I can see enough merits in it that I will try watching it again in an attempt to puzzle out what exactly happened and why.
It was basically a very good film which I did not quite get. Some bits were lacking a little, but I found it enjoyable enough that I will probably try watching it again. One nice thing is that unlike most foreign films which I watch in their native language because I cannot stand poor lip-sync, I was perfectly happy to watch this dubbed in English as I have grown up with out of sync cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Sad Anime Movie, But Very Awesome, Really Good Buy!, 25 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very sad movie about a robot girl called Tima who falls in love with a boy called Kenichi. The leader, Duke Red, is planning to use Tima to sit on his throne. Rock, his adopted son, wants to kill Tima but Kenichi is trying to protect her. Tima does not know she is a robot and she is horrified when she finds out she is.

I like the English dub better than the Japanese dub because the English made it seem sadder and more dramatic. I rated it 5 out of 5 because it is beyond awesome. My favourite charcters are Tima, Kenichi and Rock. I love Rock. I've actually fallen in love with him.

I'd say you watch it in English and Japanese to see the difference in drama and sadness. This was a really good buy and I hope you will also like it too because I adore it. I watch it nearly everyday now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Animé Classic, 29 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
Based on Osamu Tezuka's 1949 animé of the same name, Metropolis uses old style animation with lush CG backgrounds and a thrilling and moving story to create a classic Animé. Based around Kenichi, the nephew of a Japanese Private Investigater, and Tima the Humanoid super robot who has no idea who she is, in a great tri-levelled city where Robots have become the working class and poor humans can't get jobs. The Leader of the city, Duke Red, is trying to make a super weapon which will allow him to take over the world, and needs Tima, whom he got made based on his deceased daughter, to be part of the weapon. It is a moving and sad story as well as a fast paced actiont hriller. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Brilliant, 4 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Metropolis [DVD] (DVD)
This was my first Anime film and I must say it was a brilliant buy. The mix between cgi and drawn animation was excellent. I would definatly recommend this film to anyone wanting to buy anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metropolis [DVD]
Metropolis [DVD] by Rintaro (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £1.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews