Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Film
This film suprised me. I have to say right off that the bad rap this film got upon it's release is undeserved. It's really a quiet little film with a nice story propelled by the charm of pop star Mariah Carey. It may be a standard and time worn rags to riches, broken home to pop star formula but it is done nicely. Since we know much of this is based on Mariah's childhood...
Published on 28 Jan. 2003

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars camp classic
First off I have to be rude about some of the other reviews on here: Can people please at least learn to spell before posting reviews? Some of them are un-readable.

Anyway, this film Glitter [DVD] [2001]is in the 'so bad its brilliant' category. Carey cannot act for toffee [she's worse than Spears if that's possible], the story line is standard 'girl makes...
Published on 14 Nov. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars camp classic, 14 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
First off I have to be rude about some of the other reviews on here: Can people please at least learn to spell before posting reviews? Some of them are un-readable.

Anyway, this film Glitter [DVD] [2001]is in the 'so bad its brilliant' category. Carey cannot act for toffee [she's worse than Spears if that's possible], the story line is standard 'girl makes good', the music is great of course [if you are a Carey fan]. It's not just Carey's acting that is atrocious here though, it's all bad...and that's what makes it compulsive viewing. Can the acting get any worse as the movie goes on? Hell yes! This is a movie that has slowly joined the likes of Crossroads, BarbWire et al, in the 'must have to own and put on when drunk'. If you like cheesey storylines, mawkish [at best] acting and laughing out loud at the awfulness of it all, then buy this for a couple of quid and enjoy it for what it is...not what it's meant to be:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, good feeling and entertaining movie, 7 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Mariah Carey I expected this film to be good despite the reviews from the critics. Ok her performance was not oscar winning and the film wasnt either and it didnt deserve the bad reviews it got but I think people, especially the critics were expecting too much of Mariah for her first real role in a film. As far as the soundtrack music goes it was good enough and clever and to say it was based on 80's music what do people expect? Its the theme of the film. If your a fan of Mariah then you will no doubt enjoy it anyway, but if you aren't then it still is worth renting out on video/dvd to watch and to give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD..., 11 Nov. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
I viewed this film with some trepidation, given the panning it got from the critics. Well, to my surprise, it is nowhere near the worst movie of the year. While it is not in the same league as the film, "A Star Is Born", from which it borrows heavily, it is certainly not without some redeeming qualities.

The film basically chronicles the rags to riches story of talented singer, Billie Frank (Mariah Carey). Her mother, a woman with a substance abuse problem, sang in dives for a living, before abandoning Billie to the custody of the state. Motherless, Billie grew into a lovely, young woman. Having inherited her mother's talent, she, too, became a singer, working as part of a trio, until discovered by DJ of the Year, Dice (Max Beesley).
Dice, in effect, becomes her manager and producer. They also become an item, until his svengali act wears a bit thin. Struggling to be her own person, they part company still loving each other. Just before disaster strikes, they realize just how much each loves the other. Billie also realizes that, despite personal trials and tribulations, the show must go on.
While Mariah's performance has been heavily criticized, I think that she has taken a drubbing that has not been totally warranted. Her singing in the film is top notch, though her acting, admittedly, is a bit wooden and limited. It runs the gamut from sheepish grins to deadpan delivery. She needs work in the acting department, no doubt about it.
Max Beesley, however, is surprisingly good in the role of Dice, though he is hampered somewhat by the screenplay. His lines are not much better than Mariah's, though his delivery of the lines is superior to that of her delivery. The rest of the cast is fine, as well, doing the best that they can with the lines with which they have to work.
Part of the problem, obviously, is the material with which the cast had to work. Kate Lanier's script is nothing to write home to mother about, with stilted dialogue and a story line that fades once it stops borrowing from "A Star Is Born". The thing to do, when borrowing heavily from another film, is to do it better not worse. In this, the screenplay fails.
The screenplay, however, is not the only problem with this film. Director Vondie Curtis Hall was a trifle ham handed in his direction, at times. This is no surprise, if his DVD commentary, which was surprisingly inarticulate, is any indication.
Still, though not the best film, it is far from the worst. If one is not, however, a Mariah Carey fan, deduct one star from my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALL THAT GLITTERS IS NOT GOLD..., 26 Jan. 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Glitter [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I viewed this film with some trepidation, given the panning it got from the critics. Well, to my surprise, it is nowhere near the worst movie of the year. While it is not in the same league as the screenplay for the film, "A Star Is Born", from which it borrows heavily, it is certainly not without some redeeming qualities.

The film basically chronicles the rags to riches story of talented singer, Billie Frank (Mariah Carey). Her mother, a woman with a substance abuse problem, sang in dives for a living, before abandoning Billie to the custody of the state. Motherless, Billie grew up and also became a singer, working as part of a trio, until discovered by DJ of the Year, Dice (Max Beesley).
She and Dice become an item, until his svengali act wears a bit thin. Struggling to become her own person, they part company still loving each other. Just before disaster strikes, they realize just how much each loves the other. Billie also realizes that, despite personal trials and tribulations, the show must go on.
While Mariah's performance has been heavily criticized, I think that she has taken quite a drubbing that has not been totally warranted. Her singing in the film is top notch, though her acting, admittedly, is a bit wooden and limited. It runs the gamut from sheepish grins to deadpan delivery. She needs work in the acting department, no doubt about it.
Max Beesley, however, is surprisingly good in the role of "Dice, though he, too, is hampered somewhat by the screenplay. His lines are not much better than Mariah's, though his delivery of the lines is superior to that of her delivery. The rest of the cast is fine, as well, doing the best that they can with the lines with which they have to work.
Part of the problem, obviously, is the material with which the cast had to work. Kate Lanier's script is nothing to write home to mother about, with stilted dialogue and a story line that fades once it stops borrowing from "A Star Is Born". The thing to do, when borrowing heavily from another film, is to do it better not worse.
The screenplay, however, is not the only problem with this film. Director Vondie Curtis Hall was a trifle ham handed in his direction, at times. Still, though not the best film, it was certainly not the worst. If one is not, however, a Mariah Carey fan, deduct one star from my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Film, 28 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
This film suprised me. I have to say right off that the bad rap this film got upon it's release is undeserved. It's really a quiet little film with a nice story propelled by the charm of pop star Mariah Carey. It may be a standard and time worn rags to riches, broken home to pop star formula but it is done nicely. Since we know much of this is based on Mariah's childhood it is to the credit of everyone involved that it is not melodramatic but quietly restrained. In fact, some of the best moments in the film come during the early life of Billie Frank, played movingly by young Isabel Gomes, someone to watch for in the future.
The nice thing about this film is though it is following the basic formula of "A Star is Born" it doesn't try to be more than it is. Mariah's music is used effectively for atmosphere, but more as background to help drive the story rather than a gratuitous reason for her to sing. Max Beesley does a nice job as the DJ who discovers her and the romance is handled in a realistic manner.
Valarie Pettiford gives a nice performance in her brief screen time as the alcoholic mother who finally has to abandon young Billie in favor of the bottle. These memories shadow Billie throughout this film and the more touching moments come from this relationship. A scene where she passes her now successful daughter on the street and walks right by without recognizing her is quietly moving because we know how much it means to Billie.
Carey doesn't try to do more than she's capable of and blends right into the melancholy tone of this film. I won't give away the ending but a scene between she and her mother is quite moving and Mariah Carey does a pretty nice acting job here for a first timer. Much of the story here also may help explain why Carey still has trouble keeping it together in real life.
This is a pretty good little film to watch with your teenage daughter, who is probably a Mariah fan. Normally I would not feel it was a five star effort and would not review it. But the fact that it was so unfairly panned by critics, to the point of being a joke on talk shows, coupled with my enjoyment of it with my own daughter, prompts me to give it five stars. This is a pretty nice little film. So there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 5 Aug. 2004
By 
Lucy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
When I first read the synopsis of Glitter on Sky, I have to admit, I really didn't thinkit was going to be any good! But it was! I enjoyed every bit of it! It provided a good storyline, with emotional bits too! Im a girl who enjoys having a good cry when watching a sad film, so Im not sure this will appeal to everyone, but if you like a sad romance story, then this is one film you don't want to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars which a few have criticised - I've seen worse - it's just a boring non-event of a movie, 2 Oct. 2014
By 
AK 1957-05 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
It's not the acting, which a few have criticised - I've seen worse - it's just a boring non-event of a movie. When it ends you say "What just happened?" and if you've seen A Star is Born and countless other movie/entertainment industry dramas you can hazard a guess. The music, of course, is execrable and leaves absolutely no impression - you won't remember the tunes while they're PLAYING, let alone after the movie. there's no Born In A Trunk here. I admire Mariah Carey as a person, even though I don't like her music - she is an extremely caring and generous person - but to be honest I only watched this because it was coming up on How Did This Get Made! I don't know what they'll say about it because it's not "so bad it's good", it's just tedious and empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glitering performance, critics can be wrong, 5 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore the critics! Glitter may not have been the best film ever made but it certainly wasnt the worst. Glitter is quite a girly film and can be emotional. The story line is basic but keeps you interested. Mariah delivers a great performance and film has a lot of little comments that make you snigger to stop it from becoming over the top. It may be a musical but its not as drastic as julie andrews in the sound of music, its a musical because its about a singer Mariah doesnt just burst into song. If your a true mariah fan u will love or even you like a good chick flic, its worth everybody seeing once (and its alot better than Britneys Crossroads!) enjoy it happy shoppers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Never Too Far, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
First off this film is no way as bad as some reviews i have read, it's actually quite a sweet sad story and people need to look behind the cheesy lines. I dont rate Max Beesley but he is quite cute as the love interest. The soundtrack is actually the best reason to see the film along with Mariah. This is a perfect kind of movie for Mariah to appear in as she is kind of playing herself so isnt a stretch for her but she can act and its not a long film so great for a girlie night in. I would recommend this if you want a simple film with some good music. Watch it you may be surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shining Star, 9 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Glitter [DVD] (DVD)
When this film first came out every one every where seemed to be slagging it off. i've been a mariah fan for many years but i decided to stay away from the film believing the comments i had read thinking no more of it.
until the other day that was, when i saw it was on one of the sky movie channels.
i couldn't believe how fabulous it was. mariah does a great job and i was so impressed by her. it's filled with mariah's singing but also some pretty fine acting by not only her, but the rest of the characters aswell. and as for this being lame and repetative, i have never seen a film like this before. it has an unusual edge.
i have to say that 'never too far' is my favourite track on the film and album but there isn't a bad song on there. of course some of the clothes are a bit cheesy... it's set in the eighties!
but honestly, you should really see this film. i'll bet you'll be pleasantly surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glitter [DVD]
Glitter [DVD] by Vondie Curtis-Hall (DVD - 2002)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews