Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars20
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2006
Just like Jason and The Argonauts, and the Sinbad films, The Three Worlds of Gulliver delivers fun and entertainment for all the family.
If you want to spend a pleasant afternoon watching, on your own or with your kids, check this out.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
Its an older film, so its classy, i.e. no swearing, no flatulance jokes, or burp jokes, entetainment you can trust with young impressionable minds. My 5 and 7 year old were glued to the screen, it held their attention throughout, with no hiding behind the cushion moments for them. It also lead to some good discussions with my older child about being tolerant with other peoples views, how wars start, right and wrong. As an adult, I enjoyed the film, the stop motion crocodile and clever use of distance and perspective added to the films entertainment. I recommend this film to everyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 February 2011
The Three Worlds of Gulliver is produced out of Columbia Pictures and is directed by Jack Sher. It stars Kerwin Matthews as Lemuel Gulliver, June Thorburn as his fiancée Elizabeth, with support coming from Basil Sydney (The Emperor of Lilliput), Grégoire Aslan (King Brob), Mary Ellis (Queen), Charles Lloyd Pack (Prime Minister Makovan) & child actor Sherry Alberoni as Glumdalclitch. Filmed in England and Spain, it features stop-motion animation and special visual effects by Superdynamation genius Ray Harryhausen. Sher & Arthur Ross adapt for the screen with a loose reworking of the 18th-century English novel Gulliver's Travels written by Jonathan Swift. And music maestro Bernard Herrmann provides the score.

Swift's biting satirical novel has been watered down and given a romantic edge for the family market. That said, as the kids are enjoying the froth and tickle, the adults will note that there's just enough caustic comment in the piece to get the message across. This adaptation has slimmed down the four parts of Swift's work to just the two; Lilliput land of the little people and Brobdingnag land of the giants. With our intrepid normal sized hero Gulliver and his stowaway fiancée Elizabeth under threat either way.

While the script has its pleasing moments it is still only serving as a bridging work for Harryhausen's effects to be shown. Be it the giant and tiny people sequences or the perils that come to our undersized protagonists courtesy of a Gator and a Squirrel, it's these that the children will find beguiling. This, however, can not be said for Harryhausen aficionados or adults more accustomed to more modern advancements. For this is bottom rung for Harryhausen, not bad at all, yet although there's a charm here, and no one should ever dismiss the painstaking amount of time it took him to weave it together, the work is creaky and lacking the dynamism so befitting his best work.

Major bonus' come with the swirling and pounding score from Herrmann and the vibrant performance of Matthews. The role of Gulliver was first offered to Danny Kaye, which naturally makes sense given Kaye's previous work on Hans Christian Andersen some years earlier. That it was also offered to Jack Lemmon, tho, makes no sense at all. Anyway, Matthews got the gig, and following on from his fine work in The 7th Voyage of Sinbad, he laid down a marker in the fantasy adventure genre that secured him fondness from legions of fans throughout the years. A safe, colourful and pleasant enough piece if ultimately not one for most fantasy adventure fans to revisit often. 6/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Many regard this as one of Harryhausen's minor efforts, but I've liked it ever since I saw it in a double bill at the cinema, with 7th Voyage of Sinbad, also starring Kerwin Matthews. He was the best leading man Harryhausen and co had in their films, and had far more nautural character and personaility than the bland actors in the company's last two Sinbad films, John Phillip Law and Patrick Wayne. And while Jonathan Swift's classic story is heavily edited down, it does a good job of focusing on the adventure side, and the two best known Worlds of the film's title, that Gulliver comes across on his famous travels.

Apart from the nifty effects, only a ground hog (fur was always a sticking point for Harryhausen's animation) and a crocadile for the 'Dynamation' treatment this time around, the film boasts the second of Bernard Herrmann's amazing music scores for the Harryhausen series. It was these films that gave me a life long start in appreciation for the man's music (and film music in general). The movie is worth the price of the dvd for that alone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
Yes,all fans of the great masters work will agree that this is not the best,but still has that magical touch of the master(Ray Harryhausen)having spent a whole day with him here in the south west of England it was possible for me to get inside this gentlemans brain,and he is a child still thrilled by magic,and most of all the magic of the movies.
This wonderment shines out in this film,as indeed all his classics,Go compare "Clash of the Titans"the new version with Rays original,the new version just falls flat,and why i hear the sighs of all you weathered movie fans out there,there is no real magic in it,no love of construction,just a summerblockbuster to make money for the big studios.
Its worth collecting all of Rays work,because he willk go down in Cinema history as the man who gave us back our magic,its the magic we love, at24 frames a second,thanks Ray!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
An old fashioned family film telling the story of Gulliver as he finds himself first as a giant in a land of tiny people, and then himself shrunk down to small size, chased by giants in another land.

This is a charming film from another era, without CGI, and it's effects are quite impressive for the period.
Probably a bit dull for the under 6's but should keep older children amused for the duration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
I watched this years ago one xmas eve and iv loved it ever since, not only is it in technicolor which gives it a more attractive look than the more realistic photography of today, it has kerwin Mathews who I had a crush on for many years , it's a lovely fairy tale and I only watch it at xmas as it has a xmassy feel to it, it's a pity the films made today lack that sort of charm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
If you like sex in movies, if you like bad language in movies, if you like gratuitous violence in movies, then steer well clear of this classic. Made at a time when few, if any, films contained the above. A good family movie that brings back memories of a treat going to the afternoon matinee to watch a movie in colour, something that was not possible on TV in those days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Passes the time, and reasonably entertaining, but a bit long, and the title is misleading - the first 'world' is the normal world he lives in, so only includes the usual Lilliput and Brobdignag. I had expected more of the original stories as it said 3 worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
A nice family type of film,takes you back to childhood.I realy enjoyed it,excellent special effects would highly recomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)