Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
Don't take this film seriously or you will be disappointed. I thoroughtly enjoyed it. This film is pure entertainment and has a surprising but excellent soundtrack that really polishes the film off. The extras on the DVD are okay with the trailer and some good cast interviews. The behind the scene filming is just that, a film about the filming but without any commentary...
Published on 27 Aug 2001 by lcb97@aber.ac.uk

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film shame about the transfer
Having seen the film previously, probably on the telly or round a mates, I was overjoyed to find it available on DVD.

From the cast of some the best known names in British film acting including Alan Cumming and Michael Gambon to name only two you'd have thought that the powers that be would have done justice to what is an innovative piece of cinema (I mean not...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Wil Longman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Stand and deliver, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Great fun to watch film. Based on real life people, though I prefer how the film ends as they both get away.... Unlike the real end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plunkett and macleane dvd [1999], 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
this is an excellent film with some very good actors it is a true story about two highwaymen i recommend this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just go with it, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's a mish-mash of period/modern and, as long as you're not a purist, it works. On the whole the mix of costumes, music and language from past and present makes it lively, cheesey and only occassionally jarring. There are some cracking one-liners. And you can play spot the comedian. Jonny Lee Miller's accent is uncharacteristically wandering, but I could probably forgive that face anything. The supporting cast is full of big names giving great performances. Daft but entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome film!!, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is incredible all round. The modern application of music and the almost gangster approach of the highway men is genius. The acting is superb - especially Mr Chance (the baddie). Awesome! AWEsome! AWESOME!!! It is a cult classic that no matter who you show it to will love it like they love puppies and kittens. PLEASE WATCH THIS FILM if you have not. You will not regret it and don't believe the rubbish reviews. They are out of touch and out of time. X!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plunkett and mcleane, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
i loved the dvd it was funny in some places but overall very good i was well happy with it thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A highly underrated gem, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Every time I seem to ask people, have they watched Plunkett and Macleane, they never seem to have heard of it, which I always find surprising, as it's so damn good!

It's - very loosely - based on the true exploits of British highwaymen, one of which was a `gentleman,' but still went on to rob the rich to fund his lavish lifestyle. And it reunites Trainspotting stars Johnny Lee Miller and Robert Carlyle in the title roles, plus adds Liv Tyler as a bit of `love interest.'

It's one of those rare films which mixes action, adventure and adult humour extremely well and pulls everything off. There's very little not to like about the film. However, every time I read something negative about it, it's someone always slagging off the music. Yes, the film uses highly modern dance music for a film set hundreds of years ago. Some people seem to find that very difficult to take. Personally, I thought it worked a treat.

Whether you like action or black humour, you have to watch this film. Also, a special mention to actor Ken Stott for his sinister portrayal as the thoroughly nasty captain of the police, charged with bringing the highwaymen to justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My personal taste, 28 Feb 2013
By 
E. H. Muller (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I haven't actually watched it all the way though yet so rating may change. the rrason for the rating is that I saw a little too my yuck for my taste Yuck in the sense of maggots and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was a gift for a friend & she loved it!!!!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This was a Christmas gift for a friend she thought it was great, she said its one of those films you can watch time & time again.
Delivery was very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent British Film - Only the Brits can do this, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Excellent film, what can you say, but brilliant cast, cracking sound track and some really off beat acting from some faces we all know. Look out for some of the supporting actors; they have some of the best lines. I can thoroughly recommend this film; a good nights entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plunkett and Macleane (DVD), 9 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A great film, rude, brutal, but at the same time hilarious.
The rock 'n' roll soundtrack goes great with this period action adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999]
Plunkett And Macleane [DVD] [1999] by Jake Scott (DVD - 2010)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews