Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, naive, thought provoking and poignant
These are just some of the words you can use to describe this wonderful film. Although it's now thirty years since original release it is anachronistic neither in terms of story nor special effects, and one could argue even more relevant three decades later with America's reluctance to sign the Kyoto Treaty.
For ME it has all the hallmarks of what great art SHOULD...
Published on 14 Sept. 2003

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once again short changed by the DVD company
Whilst I love this film & on it's own it warrants 5 stars I refuse to buy it on the grounds that once again
region 2 customers get dumped on when compared to region 1 customers. The region 2 version is the same as the previous incarnation & is in 4:3 format meanwhile the region 1 is widescreen format & has been remastered.
Perhaps if this ever comes out on...
Published on 1 Mar. 2010 by Mr. G. Cabell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 415 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Running - Cult Masterpiece, 29 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
My third all time favourite film; Withnail & I, Dark Star then comes this delightful rather sad and thought provoking Sci-Fi cult classic. Almost a 'one actor film' - Bruce Dern pulls off an inimitable portrayal of despair of seeing the remaining forests & wildlife blown to smithereens to make room for a 'Utopian' Earth. The 'robots' - named after cartoon characters are wonderful. Anthropermorphisim at it' best! Slow, moody, settle back in your comfy chair and truly enjoy a film that despite being 30 years old will entertain greatly. Buy this, treat yourself! Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST THE DEFINITIVE DVD !, 17 Feb. 2005
I spent ages going round and round in cyberspace trying to find the 'Making of Silent Running' documentary.Here it is now - 50 minutes of heaven showing Joan Baez recording the title track and more about the Drones than you could ever need to know. In addition theres an excellent 30 minute new documentary and a conversation with Bruce Dern. SO although all of the releases of this film look the same, pay whatever it costs to get hold of this DEFINITIVE collection. Its the best by a long space voyage !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Dern - Silent Running, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This is one of those films that have stayed in my memory since watching it as a kid. It's lost a little bit of magic now that i've supposedly grown up but is still one of my favorite movies. Although set in space it's messsage rings true, let technology take over then you're asking for trouble.
The combination of the droids and Bruce Derns character really make the film, it's funny how the droids seem to be more humane than most of the crew. It will probably be a bit slow for a lot of people but in my eyes it's still a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally different from how I remember the film, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Very enjoyable film. Perhaps when I was 10 I looked at the film in one way.. now, I just wondered why they would have allowed the Bruce Dern character to even be allowed on the mission. Still, I loved the robots but even there, I just wondered about the programming of the robots, also they just didn't seem to be some prominent in the film as I recalled.

Still, definitely a lovely film - and some lovely music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Running (DVD) 1972, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Conservationists and scientists were concerned about Global Warming before it became embedded firmly within the social conscience and this film from 1972 is a testament to this. Bruce Dern plays Botanist Freeman Lowell, involved with an Outer Space experiment, growing organic food, flowers, and taking care of wild life in vast transparent domes attached to enormous Space Freighters. It is in the future when the Earth has become barren. When Earth control recalls them and aborts the experiment, Lowell can not bear to destroy his domes and return to an Earth devoid of surface life, and so kills his three fun loving companions who are eager to return, faking a fault on the Freighter to abort communications with earth and the companion ships.
Drifting in Space with three little square maintenence Robots on legs (Drones) Lowell forgets a vital fact-the light from the Sun is becomming too weak to support life, and he has to use artificial light. Having lost one Drone passing through the Rings of Saturn, by failing to recall it, he sentimentally names the remaining two Huey and Dewey, reprogramming them with almost human qualities.
Earth control has sent a rescue ship to meet him on the other side of Saturn, and so in a panic driving to the Dome in a kind of beach buggy, he collides with Drone 1, who is too severeley damaged to function completely. The hopeless predicament is completed hauntingly and perhaps touchingly when he jettisons the final Dome with Drone 2 to maintain it for eternity, or as long as the batteries last. The remainder of the Freighter he blows up with himself and Drone 1.
Special effects man Douglas Trumble Directs the poignant film, which also stars Cliff Potts, Ron Riffkin, and Jesse Vint, with original songs by Joan Baez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Sci-Fi's finest, 19 Sept. 2001
By 
David Parker "i2dave" (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of those rare films that everyone should have in their collection. I always watched it when it came around to airing it again on BBC2 (UK) where it always enjoyed a good late-night slot, to add to the atmosphere. The premise is still relevant to today's eco-paranoid culture (man's ultimate destruction of his environment), and still has those touches that don't rely on expensive special effects. The next step must surely be to release it on DVD, with an assortment of extras to do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eco warrior in space, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic Scifi film with iconic scenes, and iconic robots. It is about a fleet of ships carrying the last plants to survive from earth on a mission to preserve them. The main character onboard the Valley Forge loves his garden more than the rest of the crew and eventually has to fight to protect his garden from orders to destroy all bio domes and return home. Worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last forest, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Luckily these funny drones were walking around because i became sadder and sadder watching this movie in which the last forests floating in space are destroyed and there is no explanation why they are destroyed. I was very touched by the ending but there is still hope out there because one forest might be saved by a drone. Imagine that it really would come to this because humans are not taken care of the forests which are the lungs of our planet. This is a beautiful film with a beautiful soundtrack by Joan Baez. The opening shot in fact already sets the tone that this film is going to be something special and if people do not get it well they do not get it. The numb will stay numb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Edition for a Great Science Fiction Film, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Flawless transfer (as faithful to the source as I can imagine without overbearing digital tinkering) and lots of special features, plus Eng subtitles to help non-native english speakers like me to follow the dialogues.
There aren't subtitles on the special features but this is compensated by the 48-page color booklet.

About the film itself: in my country (Italy) the local ditributors changed the title to distribute it as a sequel to 2001 altering also some of the dialogues and transforming most of the radio communications in HAL 9000.
I came to really know this film only recently (before that I only knew it with its italian title because of an ignorant-about-sci-fi major newspaper critic defining it a "cheap sequel to 2001") reading about it on a forum, and thank goodness for that!
This is a moving film, and great sci-fi too, the only thing that I didn't like was the design of the space suit (visible only in a brief scene in the second half).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1970's, cool spaceships, theme is still relevant., 16 Mar. 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Running [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In an age before SGI and digital effects real men built model spacecraft out of old airfix kits, and hairdrier parts. I just love the spaceships in this film and their classic geodesic forest domes.
The premise is that Earth has become an ecological disaster area, no more forests, no more open spaces, polluted seas and air, the last forests are preserved in huge dome structures attached to 3 American Airlines transport ships in orbit somewhere near Saturn. Out of sight and out of mind, the project is eventually cancelled and the order comes through to jettison and destroy the domes so that the transports can return to commercial service. The film follows Bruce Dearne as he fights to save the last remaining dome with just the assistance of 3 of the ship's robots. Songs by Joan Baez. Classic 1970s, looked for it a long time before Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 415 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Running [DVD] [1972]
Silent Running [DVD] [1972] by Douglas Trumbull (DVD - 2008)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews