Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Sandler's Best, But Still A Bit Of Fun!
To be honest, i think that Adam Sandler is definately comedies funniest actor that we have seen for several years, and lately i have become quite a big fan of his. While i don't think that Billy Madison is one of his best films, its still a laugh and a real treat for fans of Sandler himself, or just slapstick comedy fans in general.
Sandler plays a lazy, slightly...
Published on 11 Aug 2004 by no1filmaddict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best!
Not as good as other Sandler films but I have to say that if you have found Sandler funny in his other films i.e - The Wedding Singer, The Water Boy or Big daddy you have to see this one. An earlier film from him but still funny!
Published on 20 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hes the best acter and comdion, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I lost count how many times ive watched this movie i find it so funny thouout the whole film if you like funny films this is the one for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funnyish, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
it was funny back in the day. but when i watched this again after ages. i kinda found cringeworthy seein sandler do this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars adam sandler, 19 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Bought for an Adam Sandler fan who loved it havent watched it myself but paid a good price for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably best appreciated... drunk, 3 Nov 2002
This review is from: Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This lowbrow Adam Sandler, vehicle manages to raise a few chuckles, but is hardly a classic, that said those who can’t get enough of Sandler’s goofball mugging will lap this up and those who hate Sandler (and he is the type of ‘talent’ to split the vote) will find this whole film hugely irritating. With Billy Madison (his first hit film) he manages to convey a performance where I can see it from both sides of the argument, often you cannot help laughing at his silly often childlike antics but a lot of the time they do go overboard and fall into being irritating.
Basically the plot is an excuse for Adam Sandler to act like a big kid. Billy Madison (Sandler) is an underachieving slacker who sponges of his dad a multi millionaire owner of a hotel empire. When his father says he will have to hand over the reigns of the company to his vice president Eric Gordon (who Billy knows his a bad seed), Billy makes a bet with his dad that he will retake all the grades in school from 1-12. Obviously the scheming weasel-laughed Eric (Bradley Whitford) does his best to sabotage Billy’ progress and a love interest is thrown in the form of Billy’s third grade teacher Veronica Vaughn (Bridgette Wilson) who is as expected won over by Billy eventually, even though initially she thinks he is an immature annoyance.
The fact that this brain dead character can breeze his way through school in 12 weeks or something, is utterly unbelievable, but that’s the least of this film’s weaknesses…the major qualm I have is, that sometimes you can’t tell whether or not Sandler’s character is an underachieving slacker or almost retarded. The film works best when Sandler calms his act down, and the interaction with the kids in elementary school does have a certain charm, I remember the bit where he starts playing dodge ball with the little ones, is when I started to warm towards the film a bit more. There are some well used supporting characters too, the gay headmaster (who always seems to be horny for Billy) and Miss Lippy (Billy’s first grade teacher) are funny in a bizarrely silly sort of way and look out for small but quite effective cameo’s by Chris Farley as a school bus driver and Steve Buscemi (in my opinion one of the best character’s actor in Hollywood) as a loner who was picked on by Billy, when Billy originally went to school. And one cannot help but laugh at the family of school-bullies the O’Doyles and their battle-cry of sorts…O’Doyle rules ! These minor characters are actually one of the films more notable charms and often upstage Adam Sandler’s often irritating lead character.
The films other key performance is that of Bridgette Wilson as Billy’s object of his desire. She pull’s off being hot (which is a big part of the role) with some ease and plays a fairly straight role to Adam Sandler’s silly billy, with a great deal of competence. A scene where she strips as he gets answer’s to questions right is is one of the films best scenes and a song and dance number, where she takes a prominent role (when Billy finally realises his potential) is amusing but more in an absurd, than a painfully funny sort of context.
Billy Madison is the sort of film that is so stupid you can’t help laughing sometimes, but a lot of the time the jokes fall flat and the silliness is often too much. In the terms of Adam Sandler’s resume this is not one of his best though he has done worse than this, but he’s done plenty better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 2 Nov 2008
By 
I absolutely love adam sandler and i have to say this is one of my favourites, I have seen it about 30 times and i still laugh as hard as the first time i saw it. I will definatly be getting this when it comes out on blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Madison, 3 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
JACKPOT!!!---gotta be the FUNNEST film EVA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who is the target audience?, 6 Jan 2004
By 
Mark R. N. Jones (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am amazed that this film was ever made. Adam Sandler squanders what talent he may have goofing around in an infantile manner as an educationally subnormal man sent back to school. This much might appeal to young children who find gurning hilarious. But then crude sexual gags are grafted on to the mess, which are aimed at viewers with a more worldly knowledge. Retarded adolescents might find the result watchable, everyone else should steer well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Billy Madison [DVD] [1996]
Billy Madison [DVD] [1996] by Tamra Davis (DVD - 2008)
8.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews