Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the world of tomorrow
Most people assume that the future will be better than the present. Not so in Futurama. Even a thousand years from now, politicians are still crooked, the Internet is still full of porn and people are just as stupid as they ever were. Maybe even slightly more so.
Futurama is Simpsons creator Matt Groening's second animated show, crashing together the worlds of Star...
Published on 2 Feb 2003 by martin_clark005

versus
5 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but no simpsons
Futurama bursts onto our screens with 9 above average episodes. There are some great ones, the one where Bender gets addicted to electricity and goes to hell for example, but all along you do think that you would expect better from the creator of the simpsons. I love the program, but this season does'nt have many episodes that you want to watch again and again. Saying...
Published on 20 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money and more!, 3 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Living in Japan, I had only heard of this show from the Internet. When I finally had a chance to see Futurama I was absolutely blown away! If you are a fan at all, buy this DVD if not, take a chance and pick it up.
Color and sound are very good, but the menu structure is a bit odd. You can not get to the special features from the root menu, but only from the episode menues. Not a big complaint though. The extras are good and most of the audio commentary is worth listening to. To me one of the great things about getting a TV show on DVD is I can finally see the credits clearly and the Futurama DVD includes the credits for every episode.
Thanks to FOX for releasing this as a Region 2 DVD so I can "legally" enjoy one of my absolute favorite TV shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FUTURE IS HERE!, 29 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When I heard that Futurama season 1 would make it to DVD, I was over the moon! Season 1 is my favourate season out of the 3 seasons which have currently aired and it contains many classic episodes.
I think that Futurama is better than The Simpsons but only a little bit. I'm also very happy that it contains all 13 episodes rather than just the 9 which aired followed by a gap before the remaining episodes aired at the begining of season 2. Here is a list of the episodes included in this 3 disc set:
01) Space Pilot 3000
02) The Series Has Landed
03) I, Roommate
04) Love's Labour's Lost In Space
05) Fear Of A Bot Planet
06) A Fishful Of Dollars
07) My Three Suns
08) A Big Piece Of Garbage
09) Hell Is Other Robots
10) A Flight To Remember
11) Mars University
12) When Aliens Attack
13) Fry & The Slurm Factory
I can't wait for this DVD set to arrive, surely the best DVDs money can buy. I hope that subsequent seasons are also released just like The Simpsons, One Month to wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Finally it's here. Futurama has been put onto DVD
These box sets are way better than THE SIMPSONS box sets.
With hilarious Commentary by MATT GROENING, DAVID X COHEN and co the extras are fantastic.
Original Storyboards
Deleted Scenes
Featurettes
and lots more
From when the DVD goes on the visuals are excellent. Little cartoons are on screen before you have even selected an episode to watch.
This DVD features all episodes from the series and along with the other 3 box sets , makes a terrific collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Better than the Creators First!, 1 Jan 2002
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
In case you didn't know, Matt Groening(who created the wonderful Simpson family) also created this masterpeice. It is hilarious and has many cleverly planned jokes. The charecters obviously have had an awful lot of imagintion, patience and creativity. The charecters include an everyday human( Fry ) 1,000 years into the future, A 1 eyed "Human" looking women ( Leila ), A talking crab ( Dr. Zoidberg ), A talking bending robot ( Bender ) and a 160 year old professor with many different inventions.
These are just some of the grotesque and indifferent creatures from this marvellous, inventive television show. The crew of the spacecruiser come across many exciting adventures.
I recommend this for everyone who likes comedy. If you enjoyed this, I recommend The Simpsons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - In it's own right!, 2 Jan 2002
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When watching Futurama, people tend to compare it to the Simpsons, rather unfairly. The Simpsons is one of the greatest cartoons, if not THE greatest cartoon of all time. Futurama is totally different, but just as brilliant. If all of Matt Groenings future work is to be compared to the Simpsons, then people will wrongfully think that he is regressing in his quality.
The truth of the matter is that Futurama stands out on it's own as a brilliant cartoon series, with plenty of well thought out characters and storylines to get people hooked from the off. Those who compare it to anything else are doing it an injustice. If you do have to compare it to something, atleast get the genre right, and in that sense, it is leagues ahead of The Jetsons!
The extra features on this DVD are superb, with the highlight being the original drawingboard sketches. This is a MUST for any selfrespecting cartoon fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, very funny,the funniest thing ever!, 28 Feb 2004
By 
Garion (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
"Good News Eveyone" this DVD is just great, the funniest thing ever, a mega brilliant series.
I love Sci-Fi and as this takes the rip out of Sci-Fi it makes it all the more funny, i love to spot all the geeky Sci-Fi and computer references that are thrown in and about each episode. All the characters of Planet Express are hilarious and perfectly voiced, from Fry to Dr Zoidberg, each getting an episode to shine. Even the subsidary characters are funny as well, my favourite is "Kiff",Zapp Branigans lowley 2nd officer, every time he sighs it just makes me giggle.
Every episode on this DVD is laugh out loud funny. Ever since I first saw this on T.V. I couldn't wait for the day that it was available on DVD. The extras on the DVD's are O.K. but nothing special, except the commentaries, by cast and crew. There almost as amusing as the episodes themselves, its great to listen to them just sitting around and having a laugh, as they watch each episode.
If you love funny animation and a good poke in the eye for Sci-Fi stories. Then this is for you. If not, then "Bite My Shiny Metal A**"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sit-coms available, 24 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Comparing Futurama to the Simpsons or Family Guy, as everybody does, only serves to distract people from this show's individual style. Futurama doesn't try to cram 2000 jokes into every episode, relying more on a handful of strong characters and plotlines that are so tongue-in-cheek and flimsy that you've got to admire this show's simple and unfaltering style. With repeat watching, Futurama gets better and better; running jokes which may go over your head on first viewing become steadily funnier and more apparent. People who say 'It's no Simpsons' are right. It's not. It's Futurama, and it's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama is outstanding.., 7 Feb 2002
By 
J. Taylor (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Regardless of whether you compare it to the Simpsons or not, Futurama is an excellent series. There is just as much (if not more) of the subtle humour, the animation is top notch, and the stories are entertaining every time. And hey, who couldn't like Bender!
Excellent series - cant wait for more DVD's !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama = most underated cartoon, 24 Jun 2005
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
First of all many people compare the Futurama to The Simpons, and they are quite right to as they are from the same writers. However Futurama gives that extra punch compared to The Simpsons. Granted, The Simpsons is a very funny cartoon, but Matt Groening really went to town on Futurama as it is very very funny and a bit more adult orientated compared to The Simpsons sometimes seems a bit too young and lacks the older jokes.
Futurama starts well and continues to get better and better through the four series, shame it got cancelled! Worthy of any DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see season 1 before the others, it's very exlaining, 15 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Futurama is absolutley amazing. All the charachters are unique and individual. Each character produces different jokes in their own way. Every episode is brilliant and as it is set in the future the idea possibilities are endless. Why did Futurama get canceld!? What a terrible mistake! Curb the Simpsons and bring us more Futurama..
The first Season of Futrama sets the tone and the standard for the seasons that follow, the only negative point is there are only 3 more seasons. Sadly Futurama was cancelled long before its time, it could have potentially been bigger than its sister show, "The Simpsons".

In this boxset we me Phillip J. Fry, the down on his luck delivery boy from the 20th Century, he is acciddently frozen and wakes up in a scary new world full of aliens and robots in the year 3000. With the help of Leela, the cycloptic purple haired alien babe and Bender, the alcoholic, cigar smoking, bending robot he tracks down his great great great... nephew, Prof. Hubert Farnsworth. Prof. Farnsworth gives the 3 a job as delivery guys for his company Planet Express.
The basic plot of the episodes follows the planet express crew, also made up of Amy, the chinese millionaires daughter, Hermes, a jamaican limbo champion who is also the accountant and Dr. Zoidberg, the lobster-like ships doctor.
The stories are always full of laughs and even some emotional moments, just as you would expect from the creators of "The Simpsons". Scenes are constantly stolen by the fantastic Bender and Dr. Zoidberg, probably the best 2 characters on the show, absolutely hilarious.
Don't miss out, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Season 1 [DVD]
Futurama: Season 1 [DVD] by Billy West (DVD - 2002)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews