Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars119
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2007
A perfect duet of Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger makes you forget about everything, lose your head and yourself in the world of love, passion and sexual fantasy.

Perfect style of movie, perfect match of actors - that makes big value of film. Very sensual movie that have nothing to do with all bad things that was said about it.

5 stars for actors, scenario, directing and perfect act.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2006
I just love this movie, its a must see for all those who loved 'basic instinct'. Tense, daring, sensuous as well as sexual, this film has it all. It really was before its time and is still very original. Its not just 'erotica' as some would think, there is fantastic and thought provoking storyline. The sexual chemistry between Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger is sizzling and palpable. It stands still as one of the best 'sexual thrillers' a real fight between the heart and the mind. Be prepared for some shocks and some dark moments in this movie, but it is well worth the watch and one for the collection I think!
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
An attractive art dealer meets a wealthy broker in a a sandwich shop and first what is seen as a passionate relationship spirals into a dangerous affair, a dark obsession. She thinks she has met a wonderfull guy but is fooled by the masquerade he projects, this guy has a hidden agenda and he has caught her in his web. A great film which youd love to watch over again with lots of edge on the seat moments, great believable acting from two of films prestigious names. Is a must buy!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2009
"9 1/2 Weeks" is an erotic thriller about the romance between Elizabeth (Kim Basinger) and John (Mickey Rourke). As the name implies, their time together is not long, but without a doubt steamy and memorable. John had his eye on Elizabeth from the beginning and swooped down like a hawk, while she could not resist his advances.

Elizabeth falls in love with him very fast, and even as John becomes increasingly controlling and dominating, she still cannot break free from his charms. He showers her with gifts almost continuously, but I hardly think they had much affect on her, since it was him and his excitement she seemed to like most. The interactions and intimacy between two people are taken to a high level as she is blindfolded and he touches her body with ice cubes, as he feeds her with her eyes closed, and has sexual encounters with her in places such as a back alley and a clock tower. The film does have more than a few erotic/sexual scenes, but not as vulgar as it could be, leaving some things to the imagination.

Because I really did not know what to expect with John and if and when he would snap from being calm to angry, I was on edge for most of the movie. Actually, he retained his exterior calmness even when he was dominating her, giving him a true covertly hostile personality. On the other hand, Elizabeth was often timid and just wanted to be loved. Moreover, although she may not have enjoyed all the games he wanted to play, it did look like she enjoyed much of them. Seeing them both interact will leave an impression on you and may rank among one of the most memorable films about lust you may ever watch.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2000
On the beginning I was surprised of opinion of my mates that the movie is not so bad. I was very dissapointed. But after few times my opinnion changed about 180 degrees. Now this is my one of the best movies and I can not stand fact that it is not yet realized in DVD format in Europe. Mickey and Kim are so real and they created lovers as nobody before. I am so sorry for my english but I hope that you understood my review.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I'd say there's no better piece of art to define what the eighties were about - a sort of superficial puzzle of comme des garcons shirts, nakamichi tapedecks & sex with characters styled to the max and all of this watched through glasses configured by Michael Mann. When you grew up in those times you'll love it. You have to be ready to accept that the story is thin, the dialogues raise eyebrows here and there and some scenes leave you wondering what the hell that was supposed to be. But, anyway, this is one of my favorite movies. And Mickey Rourke is just fantastic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
love it in blu ray - beautiful... the part where she goes to see the old artist in his garden .. the blue ray effect is stunning
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
I met my husband in the eighties and he took me to see 9 and a half weeks.....so when i saw this at Amazon i treated him to it, and it brought back good memories of our youth. It is quite dated, with a much more handsome Mickey Rourke, but still enjoyable to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
50 shades of the 80's. Not quite the happy Ending but all the intensity is there between John and Elizabeth. Mickey Rourke is a hot buisness man of Wall Street and Elizabeth a beautiful curious art dealer. Amazing glimpse into an intense complicated relationship!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
A rather strange film that always threatens to become very sinister but never quite does.
Good performances from Rourke and Basinger about a classy but mixed up couple in the buisiness world - Art and Finance who are bordering but never arriving at a very kinky sex relationship until the last scenes where it all gets a bit out of hand. Very nicely filmed and very watchable but the lack of a developing plot leads to some sense of wandering and tedium before the end, so not one you'll be watching over and over. Just the same not a bad view and if you don't pay too much for it as I didn't , you'll probably think it was OK value, as I did.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.