Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sizzlingly Sexy....
I just love this movie, its a must see for all those who loved 'basic instinct'. Tense, daring, sensuous as well as sexual, this film has it all. It really was before its time and is still very original. Its not just 'erotica' as some would think, there is fantastic and thought provoking storyline. The sexual chemistry between Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger is sizzling...
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by Kerry Benjamin

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but underdeveloped plot.
A rather strange film that always threatens to become very sinister but never quite does.
Good performances from Rourke and Basinger about a classy but mixed up couple in the buisiness world - Art and Finance who are bordering but never arriving at a very kinky sex relationship until the last scenes where it all gets a bit out of hand. Very nicely filmed and very...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by Peter Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but underdeveloped plot., 25 Feb 2012
By 
Peter Taylor (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
A rather strange film that always threatens to become very sinister but never quite does.
Good performances from Rourke and Basinger about a classy but mixed up couple in the buisiness world - Art and Finance who are bordering but never arriving at a very kinky sex relationship until the last scenes where it all gets a bit out of hand. Very nicely filmed and very watchable but the lack of a developing plot leads to some sense of wandering and tedium before the end, so not one you'll be watching over and over. Just the same not a bad view and if you don't pay too much for it as I didn't , you'll probably think it was OK value, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sizzlingly Sexy...., 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I just love this movie, its a must see for all those who loved 'basic instinct'. Tense, daring, sensuous as well as sexual, this film has it all. It really was before its time and is still very original. Its not just 'erotica' as some would think, there is fantastic and thought provoking storyline. The sexual chemistry between Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger is sizzling and palpable. It stands still as one of the best 'sexual thrillers' a real fight between the heart and the mind. Be prepared for some shocks and some dark moments in this movie, but it is well worth the watch and one for the collection I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when a man loves a woman, 5 Aug 2007
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
A perfect duet of Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger makes you forget about everything, lose your head and yourself in the world of love, passion and sexual fantasy.

Perfect style of movie, perfect match of actors - that makes big value of film. Very sensual movie that have nothing to do with all bad things that was said about it.

5 stars for actors, scenario, directing and perfect act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, edge of seat film, 30 Jun 2004
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
An attractive art dealer meets a wealthy broker in a a sandwich shop and first what is seen as a passionate relationship spirals into a dangerous affair, a dark obsession. She thinks she has met a wonderfull guy but is fooled by the masquerade he projects, this guy has a hidden agenda and he has caught her in his web. A great film which youd love to watch over again with lots of edge on the seat moments, great believable acting from two of films prestigious names. Is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see it., 8 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 9 1/2 Weeks [VHS] (VHS Tape)
On the beginning I was surprised of opinion of my mates that the movie is not so bad. I was very dissapointed. But after few times my opinnion changed about 180 degrees. Now this is my one of the best movies and I can not stand fact that it is not yet realized in DVD format in Europe. Mickey and Kim are so real and they created lovers as nobody before. I am so sorry for my english but I hope that you understood my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars misunderstood thriller, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Rourke and Basinger share character chemistry (despite rumoured creative differences) in what is actually a psychological thriller about the tragedy of obsessive relationships. What begins as a lighthearted, idealized yuppie romance becomes by turns a claustrophobic trap. (It thus makes a great and revealing double-bill with "You've Got Mail".) Lyne's pacing and cinematographic choices enlighten McNeil's much less accessible novel; the method characterizations are spot-on believable, the sad deneument inevitable. (Viewers cannot hope but that the utterly charming yet dangerously disfunctional John Gray goes on to some sort of psychotherapy before he kills someone.) Erotic but to a purpose, this is a perfect 1980's period piece which only rings truer in the commercially hypersexualized present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing them both interact will leave an impression on you, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Richard J. Brzostek (New England, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"9 1/2 Weeks" is an erotic thriller about the romance between Elizabeth (Kim Basinger) and John (Mickey Rourke). As the name implies, their time together is not long, but without a doubt steamy and memorable. John had his eye on Elizabeth from the beginning and swooped down like a hawk, while she could not resist his advances.

Elizabeth falls in love with him very fast, and even as John becomes increasingly controlling and dominating, she still cannot break free from his charms. He showers her with gifts almost continuously, but I hardly think they had much affect on her, since it was him and his excitement she seemed to like most. The interactions and intimacy between two people are taken to a high level as she is blindfolded and he touches her body with ice cubes, as he feeds her with her eyes closed, and has sexual encounters with her in places such as a back alley and a clock tower. The film does have more than a few erotic/sexual scenes, but not as vulgar as it could be, leaving some things to the imagination.

Because I really did not know what to expect with John and if and when he would snap from being calm to angry, I was on edge for most of the movie. Actually, he retained his exterior calmness even when he was dominating her, giving him a true covertly hostile personality. On the other hand, Elizabeth was often timid and just wanted to be loved. Moreover, although she may not have enjoyed all the games he wanted to play, it did look like she enjoyed much of them. Seeing them both interact will leave an impression on you and may rank among one of the most memorable films about lust you may ever watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sexual Metaphors in the Kitchen, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very 80s looking film with 80s music, costumes and gooky looking characters. There are also substitutes for genuine sex scenes. For example, when Kim Basinger is gulping down a glass of milk it looks more like cum pouring out of her mouth. The same applies when Mickey Rourke squirts honey into her mouth. In the same scene he is squirting a bottle of champagne in her face which is a metaphor for squirting something else.

When they do get down to having sex in a back alley it is in bad taste. The pipes are squirting out water, and they are on the steps making out in a tasteless liaison. There is obviously something odd about these two that you don't quite connect with. They are not real people and so you don't have any sympathy for them.

I truly believe that the director, Adrian Lyne, has a fetish for this sort of thing because he goes on to make 'Fatal Attraction', 'Indecent Proposal' and 'Unfaithful'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great in blue ray, 1 Feb 2014
By 
P. Lloyd "peterlloyd150" (Colchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love it in blu ray - beautiful... the part where she goes to see the old artist in his garden .. the blue ray effect is stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars classic title, 7 Aug 2013
By 
A. Tullett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought to replace the video verson, like the film and its classic style. General average film to todays standard but you dont buy an old film expecting top quality of todays standards do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD]
9.1/2 Weeks [1985] [DVD] by Adrian Lyne (DVD - 2002)
£3.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews