Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever.
Two friends, Stan and Billy, take a road trip down south but run into trouble when they are mistakenly arrested for murder in Alabama. The hapless youngsters have no money to hire an attorney but Billy's cousin Vinny (Joe Pesci) is a lawyer so they call on him to help. What they don't realise is that Vinny took 6 attempts to pass his legal exams and, what's more, has no...
Published on 10 April 2006 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching
This is a funny film but a little dated. If you can ignor that it is a good film to watch.
Published 19 months ago by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest films ever., 10 April 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Two friends, Stan and Billy, take a road trip down south but run into trouble when they are mistakenly arrested for murder in Alabama. The hapless youngsters have no money to hire an attorney but Billy's cousin Vinny (Joe Pesci) is a lawyer so they call on him to help. What they don't realise is that Vinny took 6 attempts to pass his legal exams and, what's more, has no courtroom experience to speak of. What follows is none stop humour and 'laugh aloud' moments as the brash New Yorker sweeps into the hick town accompanied by his strident girlfriend, Mona Lisa Vito (Marisa Tomei).
Vinny's lack of court etiquette, such as dressing in leathers and arriving late, quickly upsets the traditionalist judge, played by a brilliantly dry Fred Gwynne. The judge decides to have Vinny investigated in order to prove he is not fit to take the case whilst Vinny races against time to complete the case before the judge finds any information against him.
Marisa Tomei is the real scene-stealer with her brilliant portrayal of Mona Lisa, her courtroom scenes are pure genius, and she deservedly won an Oscar for the part. The film is no high budget work of art and the DVD has little in the way of extras but the sheer quality of acting and the wonderfully funny script more than compensate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful surprise, 20 Aug 2002
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
With no idea what to expect from this DVD, the viewer is in for a wonderful surprise.
The writing was ingenius and the plot amazing. In order for this to be the five star caliber movie it is, the acting had to be superb and the viewer was not let down in this production of "My Cousin Vinny". Joe Peschi was at his all time best and Marissa Tomei heightened the importance of the woman behind by mountains.
Every detail was considered and carried out to perfection.
Comedy has a incredible new addition to the family with it's wacky and loveable, cousin "Vinny". If you have not seen this DVD, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No real Southerner would ever use instant grits!, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
The synposis of the story is well covered so I won't repeat. This is a great film,with sharp,witty dialogue,an interesting story and characters...and every actor in it is great.Marisa Tomei won an Oscar for her portrayal of a NJ Italo-American beauty with brains and eternal fiance to Joe Pesci who won't set the wedding date.You may recognise the presiding Southern judge from the Munsters,an old TV show,as well as the original Karate Kid.The story,the court scenes,the local characters in a small town in the South are perfect.Underneath their Southern manners and civility/politeness these are capable and educated people.For once they are not made out to be buffoons by Hollywood snobs.
And until Joe Pesci understands the Southern mentality,he flounders in his legal work as the defender of his cousin accused of robbery and murder.
The case turns on the way to cook grits(a Southern polenta made with white corn as opposed to yellow corn),and it is Joe's use of this that proves the innocence of his cousin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a neat little classic, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I'm not that fond of Joe Pesci because of Casino etc, where he scared the hell out of me. But it was great to see him being funny for a change! He should really do more as his timing is perfect. He's the useless rookie New York lawyer called in in desperation to save his nephew's from a murder charge in deepest Alabama. Of course he saves the day thanks to the smart, wise cracking, and divine Marisa Tomei who plays his girlfriend. It moves along really well and you're never given a chance for your mind to wander. It's a giggle from beginning to end, and the final court scene is a classic with Tomei saving the day, thanks to her 'expertise automotive knowledge'. Take the trouble and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pesci at his hilarious best, 4 Mar 2000
By 
G. Webley "Big George" (Stony Stratocaster. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Joe Pesci plays "My Cousin Vinny", brought in to defend his nephew against a trumped up murder charge before residing judge Herman Munster (who's real life name escapes me). This is a film that you can watch over and over again and still find yourself wetting your pants with laughter. Vinny's long suffering fiance, (played by the devastingly beautiful Marisa Tomei) is superb as a street wise Bronx broad with automobile expertise, which end up saving the day. This film has been sadly overlooked by the industry (both Hollywood and video rental stores) as a modern comedy classic. The sooner it comes out on DVD the better. Buy it and split your sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Gsp "gsp100677" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this film for many years on TV, before finally realising I enjoy it so much I may as well buy the DVD. I don't think I really need to write anything much here, I'm sure most people have seen it on TV before anyway. Marisa Tomei steals every scene she's in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Fun, 7 Dec 2002
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
It has been 10 years since this film debuted and much has happened to the careers of the two principles in the movie. In addition to Joe Pesci and Marisa Tomei, a great performance was placed on screen by Fred Gwynne, known by many for one of the quirkier characters to ever appear on television, Fred Munster. Mr. Gwynne died in July of 1993, and a memorable actor was lost. Marisa Tomei was the big winner in this outing as her performance earned her an Academy Award for her performance as, "Mona Lisa Lise Vito". Add to that name the most intense Brooklyn accent ever placed on screen, and if your curiosity is piqued, this film is for you.
The story is one you have seen at least a dozen times, but the performances, both individually and as a cast, make this familiar theme very entertaining and funny. Joe Pesci is the cousin in the film that is dispatched to Alabama fresh from his successful 6th attempt at passing the bar to try his first case, and a double murder case no less. His character, and yes all of them are used, include Vincent La Guardia Gambini (a.k.a Jerry Gallo/Jerry Callo/Vinny 'Bag of Doughnuts') are worth listing, as again, it gives you a taste of what the film has on offer. The closest he can come to the word youths is utes, and when placed in front of a hanging judge......well you get the idea.
There are no surprises in the film, with the possible exception that the stereotypes of North and South are fairly evenly distributed. The closing soundtrack is also a gem. So if you are looking for a bit of humor that will ask nothing of you, except that you sit, watch and laugh, this is an easy way to pass 120 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Cousin Vinny, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
my mum kept watching this film the day that she got the dvd, She's big into movies and this was probably one of her favourite films, thansk very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and beauty, 4 July 2003
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
I just watched this for the third time, something I do very rarely.
This is one of my top favorite comedies of all time.
The story is good. It is very original. It is totally hilarious. The dialogue is great. And not the least, this is Marisa Tomei's greatest role. She is not only funny, she is arguably in this role the cutest thing in the universe. Irresistable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE FILM, 25 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film and a comical masterpiece. The humour is so well written into the decent and original plot that it constantly keeps delighting you as the film progresses. The writing is excellent and the comic timing is superb. One courtroom scene in particular, involving the public defender, is my favourite all time piece of comedy and I can't help but chuckle uncontrollably when I think of it (which can at times be rather embarrassing). The two young actors playing the New York lads facing murder charges in the Deep South both put in decent performances and have some great comic lines but the star of the movie is Joe Pesci who just turns in a stunning performance. He is in trademark territory but is endearing as opposed to annoying as he was in the Lethal Weapon films. His one on one scenes with the judge and his girlfriend contain some excellent writing and Pesci and his co-stars just deliver them beautifully. Indeed, Marisa Tomei, who won an Oscar for her performance, is sensational and looks fabulous. Her Brooklyn accent, which would normally grate from anyone else, is beautiful and I would challenge any male not to fall in love with her by the end of the movie. My cousin Vinny is not totally in your face funny although it contains its elements of slapstick. Instead the humour is observational with wonderful attention to detail. Every now and then though it crescendos to leave you with a scene that sticks in your mind forever. If you want to feel better buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD]
My Cousin Vinny [1992] [DVD] by Jonathan Lynn (DVD - 2002)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews