Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love story with a difference
This film has just about everything: great direction by Richard Donner, who also directed The Omen, Superman and Lethal Weapon, beautiful cinematography by Vittorio Storaro and a wonderful cast - Rutger Hauer is perfect as the brave hero, Michelle Pfeiffer is breath-takingly beautiful as Isabeau and Matthew Broderick provides plenty of comic relief. There is a fine music...
Published on 20 Mar. 2007 by Jeremy W. Newbould

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a pity I didn't see it in 1985.
If I'd seen this film back in 1985, when I was a teenager, I probably would love it now and think of it as a treasured memory. I was right into D&D back then and I know this would have blown me away.

Viewing it for the first time as an adult has given me the seemingly unique opportunity to see it as a film, not as a part of my childhood/teenagehood, as so many...
Published on 20 Sept. 2010 by Marco M


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A love story with a difference, 20 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This film has just about everything: great direction by Richard Donner, who also directed The Omen, Superman and Lethal Weapon, beautiful cinematography by Vittorio Storaro and a wonderful cast - Rutger Hauer is perfect as the brave hero, Michelle Pfeiffer is breath-takingly beautiful as Isabeau and Matthew Broderick provides plenty of comic relief. There is a fine music score by Kate Bush's former arranger and producer Andrew Powell and there is romance, action, drama and humour.

This is the type of film which I never get fed up of watching time and time again and I am not ashamed to admit that the ending always brings tears to my eyes. With this DVD version the film can be viewed in its correct widescreen ratio, making the most of the stunning cinematography. This film is often shown on television but usually in a full screen, pan-and-scan version with the closing credits either edited or speeded up thus eliminating much of Andrew Powell's beautiful closing credits music. Therefore it is worth buying this DVD to see this film in it's complete and correct format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie to watch time and again, 3 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Ladyhawke [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this movie on video in the late '80s'. I was hooked and immediately bought a copy. The music, scenery and stars combine to make this a favourite. Michelle Pfeiffer looks terrific and Mathew Broderick is ideally cast, in fact it is the best thing he ever did. It does not date and I only hope I can get a DVD copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'AN ENCHANTING TALE' - 'A CURSE THAT HAS TO BE BROKEN', 22 Feb. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A magical fantasy adventure telling the tale of lovers that have been cursed
by the bishop at 'Aquila'
Captain Navare. (Rutger Hauer) becomes a wolf at night, 'Isabeau' a hawk
by day, the lovers destined by the curse never to be together as man and
woman.
The tale starts with young 'Phillipe Gastone' a thief being the first ever to
escape from the prison at the monastery in Aquila, the Bishop orders the
guards to hunt down the escapee, which eventually they do, however young
'Phillipe' is saved by 'Captain Navare' who has returned to the lands to
break he curse the Bishop has placed upon them, to do that he has to kill
the treacherous Bishop.(John Wood)
Young 'Phillipe' eventually works out that the wolf and his new companion
are one of the same, when, helping the injured Hawk by taking it to 'Imperius
for help, he see's the beautiful 'Isabeau'(Michelle Pfeifer)
To complete the quest the cursed couple need the help of 'Phillipe' (Mathew
Broderick) and indeed 'Imperius' (Leo Mckern)
The film, a love story, a fantasy adventure with swords and arrows, a pleasant
film that is family friendly in general, however I would advise caution with
younger viewers.....there are scenes of mainly moderate violence.
Good picture and Sound quality throughout this '1985' movie (121 mins)
English and French audio.....English, French and German sub-titles.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy done with Style, 12 Oct. 2000
By 
J. Carlile (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladyhawke [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The first time I saw this in the cinema I came out sayng -wow!. The dialogue is so up to date, the cast are brilliant, the photography awe-inspiring and that sountrack is fantastic. I couldn't wait to buy the video so I could enjoy it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always together, eternally apart, 18 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is by far one of my favourite fantasy movies. It is original, realistic, and romantic.

The storyline is wonderfully unique, and the gritty realism was a plus to me. In most medieval fantasy films the characters are always prefectly clean, and the set immaculate.
Here they are dirty, muddy and grubby, there is mud and rain.
These details, though small set the film apart, and make it some much more relatable.

Matthew Broderick gives an excellent performance throughout as the lovable rogue Phillipe. Rutger Hauer is a courageous knight, with a human side. The evil bishop was convincing, though I could never work out what he wanted with Phillipe.

Some of the fight scenes are poorly executed, with men falling off horses without being touched, the costumes are a little far fetched. Also as many have said, the 80s rock music adds nothing to the film.

Far more postives then negatives though, for a film that certainly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!!, 20 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Ladyhawke [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of Mathew Broderick's best (second only to "War Games") and Michelle Pfeifer's earliest, it is a delightful mix of romance and fantasy. Rutger Hauer provides a solid basis for the fantastic story of two lovers who are cursed to be "always together and forever apart." Broderick's "Mouse" provides a perfect foil for the lovers' intermediary communication and aide upon confrontation of their tormentor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST MEDIEVAL MOVIES EVER MADE. GREAT PERFORMANCE BY HAUER., 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

Let's be honest - how can you NOT like LADYHAWKE? It most definitely is one of the best medieval movies ever made.
Directed by Richard Donner who probably is best known for the great LETHAL WEAPON series does a fabulous job: the pacing is just right with plenty of action, while allowing enough time to develop all major characters thoroughly.
Stunningly beautiful cinematography by Vittorio Storaro - this picture was shot in Italy.
Edward Khmara wrote the story and co-wrote the screenplay. He also wrote the screenplay for ENEMY MINE and wrote the story of the TV mini series MERLIN.
Dutch actor Rutger Hauer as the black knight alone is worth seing LADYHAWKE, as he gives one of the best - if not the best - performances of his career, as does gorgeous Michelle Pfeiffer.
Matthew Broderick delivers some comic relief in one of his first starring roles as the thief Gaston.
John Wood as the malicious Bishop of Aquila and Leo McKern as Imperius were also a brilliant and most memorable additions to the generally great cast.
Arguably the movie's score was not to everyone's liking, and whereas a more classical approach presumably would have been more fitting because it is obviously more conventional, I can't help but ask, why? It's not the best of all scores, but it works quite well in the action scenes regardless.
Why LADYHAWKE didn't win the Academy Award for Best Picture is beyond me. It was nominated for two Academy Awards, Best Sound Editing and Best Sound Mixing, but ended up winning neither.

RATING: 10 / 10

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2002 20th Century Fox UK DVD
Feature running time: 116 mins. (uncut)
Rating: PG-13 (MPAA) / PG (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 4.1
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired, Danish, Norwegean, Finnish, Swedish, Hebrew, Czech, Hungarian, Islandic, Portugues, Polish, Croation, Turkish
Chapters: 15
Extras: Theatrical trailer
Region: 2

Picture: B-
Audio: B
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a pity I didn't see it in 1985., 20 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
If I'd seen this film back in 1985, when I was a teenager, I probably would love it now and think of it as a treasured memory. I was right into D&D back then and I know this would have blown me away.

Viewing it for the first time as an adult has given me the seemingly unique opportunity to see it as a film, not as a part of my childhood/teenagehood, as so many people who give it 5 stars do.

This is a nice little movie, but definitely not worth 5 stars and not worthy of the accolades poured onto it. The story is predictable and gets a bit boring once you work out how its going to end, and the effects are pretty bad, even by the standards of the 1980's. As another 1 star reviewer has mentioned, the musical score is atrocious 80's pop music that is completely unsympathetic to the material. What was the director thinking using hideous 80's rock for a medieval fantasy story?

On a positive note, the acting is superb. Rutger Hauer is always fabulous, Michelle Pfeiffer is always ravishing, and Matthew Broderick was always an excellent and cute actor at that time. Its a pity the material they're working with is pants.

I know I'm going to get some bad comments here, but if you don't see this while you're a kid, be prepared for some embarrassing movie making.

I'm giving it 3 stars for the hard work these actors put into this film. And the kids will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy for all ages, 18 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ladyhawke [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Fabulous movie. Captivated all eight of our family (age range 4 years to 45 years) for afternoon TV viewing some years ago.
Delighted to be able to see it again on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Shauna Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I'd seen the film on TV several times and had been keeping an eye out for it on DVD as I'd enjoyed it so much. The romantically-linked couple in the film have been cursed, he to live as a wolf by night and she as a hawk by day. They are deeply in love, but the only time they see each other in human form is for a brief moment as day becomes night and vice versa. The film is beautifully atmospheric, set in medieval times, has romance and adventure. Anyone who likes fantasy adventure films, then this you should enjoy. Romantic it is, but not in the chick flick genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985]
Ladyhawke [DVD] [1985] by Richard Donner (DVD - 2002)
£4.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews