Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on the old story.
This was available as a free DVD in a Sunday newspaper a couple of years ago so I assumed it would be rubbish but it was surprisingly good, the basic story is similar but brought up to date. It starts with the discovery of a huge skeleton during the building of a new casino and carries on from there. It is quite long (about 3 hours because it was originally an American...
Published 16 months ago by David H J Ashdown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Was good would order again.
Published 10 months ago by j a harding


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on the old story., 18 Feb. 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This was available as a free DVD in a Sunday newspaper a couple of years ago so I assumed it would be rubbish but it was surprisingly good, the basic story is similar but brought up to date. It starts with the discovery of a huge skeleton during the building of a new casino and carries on from there. It is quite long (about 3 hours because it was originally an American mini-series in 2001) but is never boring and introduces some interesting concepts including time passing very slowly when in the giants kingdom (one day in the giants world is 1 year on earth). Worth watching whether you're 9 or 90 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magic lives on, 12 Jan. 2004
A truly fantastic story - and it's wonderful to see the use of pagan characters as well.
Gorgeous and clever story, truly spellbinding, even for an adult. I would like to have seen more creature shop animatronics, but i thought the meld of CGI and traditional was very good.
Put this with the Labyrinth as an all time favourite film. More please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Tales?, 2 Nov. 2003
Well most people might be put of by the idea that this is just a retelling of the Jack and the Beanstalk story, but in reality it is so much more. It is one the most entertaining programs i've seen for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack & Beanstalk: Real Story [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Love this epic film, great love story through time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Imagination, 12 July 2008
A superb film...really, really great. A clever take on the story, well written, well acted, great sets and costumes, imaginative and... well...I could go on and on! I was a bit apprehensive at first, thinking that it would be another fairy-tale remake by numbers, but decided to give it a go because I love The Henson Company. I dont think i've ever been so gripped by a film. The acting is top notch all the way through, partly thanks to a strong star cast. Matthew Modine gives a strong performance as Jack, faultless throughout. Mia Sara plays Ondine (Jack's love interest) with emotion and depth. Other names to add to the list are Vanessa Regrave, Daryl Hannah, Jon Voight, Richard Attenborough, Bill Barretta (who has done tons of stuff with the Henson Company) and James Corden (from Gavin and Stacey) All of whom are equally strong. There's so much more I could say, but I think you should watch it for yourself... in fact you'll be doing yourself an injustice if you don't watch it! Last words... I defy anyone not to feel their heart wrenching when Thunderfell falls. Buy....Now....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Was good would order again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleased, 18 May 2009
have already sent a review for this item but here goes again was pleased with it loved watching it and children loved it to.very quick service thanks again/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hallmark moment, 19 May 2011
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack & Beanstalk: Real Story [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Hallmark went through a really interesting phase a few years back and I have a horrible feeling that in the none too distant future we will become very nostalgic for this era - their glory years as it were.

Basically they went on a production spree and made heaps of fairly lengthy TV movies with big name actors but not quite enough big money, so some of the CGI isn't overly amazing. That, however, is not really the point. If you look at the effects as simply enabling the storytelling, there's no problem. This applies to 'Merlin' (which is heaps of fun) as much as it does here.

Basically Hallmark set about drastically revising wellknown stories, and of course this is one of them. Much to my surprise - cos in truth I was expecting a pretty lame contemporary reworking without much thought - by and large these TV movies have been very successful. It took me a little while to work out just why that is (I am not the fastest of thinkers) ... here's the answer:

The rags to riches meta-story behind many of these tales is, in their original form, often taken to literally mean that social justice has also been enacted. But of course that's nonsense - moving the wealth from one person to another doesn't actually make life better for everyone. Yet somehow that implication persists.

So what Hallmark's done with Jack and the Beanstalk is actually very logical - they've forced the theme of social justice into the original narrative. And kudos to the actors who (aside from Daryl Hannah who appears to be coming out of an anasthetic haze post-cosmetic surgery) commit to their parts without the slightest irony.

Great fun - a good one for all the family but probably worth breaking down into parts as it is a long TV movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes a while to wind up but its worth the wait., 4 Dec. 2009
By 
A lot of people I have played this to haven't got into it because they have watched the first half hour and turned off, this is understandable because for about the first three quarters of an hour not much happens, there is a lot of people not talking about things and other people trying to find out why which frankly needs to be removed but I guess they were just stalling for time to meet quota, eventually the laying of the groundwork starts proper and the story begins to get interesting and builds momentum. As soon as the story gets over the hill (when he reaches the top of bean stalk the film starts proper) and starts playing its hand it quickly excuses the dragging start and you are swept away in a story that is both inspiring and tear jerking that explores some very human feelings while asking some serious questions about the 'capitalist' mindset and the price others pay for you to live in luxury. In total a good film on all levels but could do with the beginning re editing to remove waffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great take on a classic fairytale!, 10 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great take on a classic fairytale. My 7-yr-old son was hooked. It really captured his imagination. Originally aired in two sittings, it is over 3 hours long, so settle in! Fairytale, fantasy, love and happy endings - great family viewing! This version came from the Netherlands, so remember to switch off the subtitles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews