Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already an album of the year?
Take all your preconcieved perceptions of hip hop, tear 'em up and throw 'em away! Andy Turner (aka Aim) a former indie rock loving anorak has redefined the genre. In many ways this is car boot sale hip hop in which obscure samples are snatched from old vinyl and put together in a breath takingly beautiful way.
To be honest, "Hinterland" is closer to the...
Published on 26 Feb 2002 by sensoria@tiscali.co.uk

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just not up to the standard of aims previous releases
i am a big fan of aim, particularly his early 12's and the album cold water music.
sadly, hinterland is, for me sorely lacking the elements that made his previous music so good. gone is the atmosphere of c.w.m. gone also is the big sound of his more up-beat hip-hop tunes such as loop dreams, and the simplicity and feeling of their brilliantly worked loops.
i...
Published on 12 Mar 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already an album of the year?, 26 Feb 2002
By 
sensoria@tiscali.co.uk (The Peoples Republic of Modesville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Take all your preconcieved perceptions of hip hop, tear 'em up and throw 'em away! Andy Turner (aka Aim) a former indie rock loving anorak has redefined the genre. In many ways this is car boot sale hip hop in which obscure samples are snatched from old vinyl and put together in a breath takingly beautiful way.
To be honest, "Hinterland" is closer to the blissful downtempo moments of Air rather than the normal raw, in-your-face attitude of hip hop. Whereas his "Cold Water Music" debut was much closer to the hip hop blueprint with an emphasis on rap collaborations, here he concentrates more on his moody but beautiful instrumentals.
As a result, when vocalists are sparingly used the impact is much more dramatic and welcome. Again, Kate Rogers is in fine form on the heartbreakingly gorgeous "The Girl Who Fell Through The Ice". Anyone familar with her "Sail" track on "Cold Water Music" will know what to expect...but this is even more moving. Stephen Jones and Diamond D also contribute some fantastic vocals. In fact, the only vocal track that slightly disappoints is Turner's own sung "A Twilight Zone" which seems a little out of context with the feel of the album.
However, I personally feel Turner is at his best when concentrating on the more mellow and soulful instrumentals with "What Do People Do All Day", "Fall Break", "Linctus" and "From A Seaside Town" all being paticular high points.
"Hinterland" really is a beautiful and moving album that you just want to curl up with in front of a warm fire on a winters afternoon. It mat only be February but I'll stick my neck out and say this could already be one of the albums of 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just another hiphop album, 22 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
This album has a bit of everything while still remaining true to its roots.Its blend of soulful hiphop has been around for a decade or more in the small town where the ablum was created and Aim cut his DJing teeth.Finally its becoming more mainstream thanks to Zero7 , Avalanches and Aim himself people are starting to listen.I both dread and look forward to hearing one of his singles in the charts..it will happen soon. Crongatulations to Aim and the rest of the team for a quality album that is definitely a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant follow-up, 18 Feb 2003
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
What is all this speak of hinterland being inadequate? True, cold water music is a hard album to follow up, but i think hinterland is a match for it in all aspects. The vocal tracks on offer are brilliant, kate rodgers latest contribution far better than her last effort on cold water music while stephen jones delivers a brilliant falsetto to make a beautiful song out of good disease. Equally, the rap offerings shine with diamond d and the souls of mischief providing tight rhymes - all this over the usual dope beats AIM so often provides. Admittedly some of the instrumentals do drag on a little but that is not enough to convince me this album deserves no less than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get It, its all good!, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
Aim's first album, termed as coffee table hip-hop, definitely carved out a distinctive sound for the man from the West coast of England. Hinterland builds upon this with some sweet beats, merging all kinds of styles. The song with Kate Rogers is poigant modern soul, Souls of Mischief rip it like the natural born emcees that they are, and their is a phat performance by Diamond. The rest of the album is made up of sweet samples and loops to bounce to - if you haven't listened to AIM before your in for a total treat, because it is all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just not up to the standard of aims previous releases, 12 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
i am a big fan of aim, particularly his early 12's and the album cold water music.
sadly, hinterland is, for me sorely lacking the elements that made his previous music so good. gone is the atmosphere of c.w.m. gone also is the big sound of his more up-beat hip-hop tunes such as loop dreams, and the simplicity and feeling of their brilliantly worked loops.
i feel that what we are left with lacks purpose, and seems to wander off, ending up sounding like a film score rather than a collection of separate tunes. not one of the tunes really stands out.
maybe this will be your thing, but for me hinterland is a real dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing follow-up, 7 July 2002
By 
Paul Rudeforth (buxton, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
i had to write a review because the average rating for this LP was 4 stars and it certainly doesn't deserve it. i would give it 2.5 stars but i can't. i couldn't give it 2 because its not that bad. so 3 it is.
i bought this blind, solely of the quality of the previous LP Cold Water Music. when i got home and eagerly lashed it out onto the turntable i was let down by what turned out to be a distinctly average LP. not what i was expecting.
okay, there are a couple of fairly decent efforts, such as "The Omen" (rescued by Diamond D's rap) and the more laid back "From a Seaside Town", but the rest is fairly bland stuff.
the very essence of what made Cold Water Music so sublime got lost somewhere in a deep hole and decided not to turn up on Hinterland. its a dissapointment, but he had a pretty difficult task of following a debut album like that. Just get Cold Water...
...and if anybody wants to buy a pretty much unplayed Hinterland (2xLP) at a good price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Follow Up Failure, 26 Sep 2002
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
I was very disapointed by Hinterland, after hearing much of Aims' earlier releases, including the phenomenal Cold Water Music, I was really looking forward to this release. Then I listened to it. It lacks the heart and soul of Cold Water Music, and while there are highlights, (Linctus, From a Seaside Town) the rest of the album simply passed me by with little effect. Its a neither here nor there affair, losing sight of its roots while at the same time finding nothing new either. Trying too hard to tap into the mainstream perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hit and miss-erland, 22 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hinterland (Audio CD)
The good thing about Grand Central artists - is that they do things very much their way, mixing up the styles. It's like hip hop - with a balearic spirit.
Hinterland is a good example - but by no means a fantastic album.
There are some great tracks - Kate Rodgers' luxurious vocals sit nicely on the romantic strings of "the Girl who fell throught the Ice"; Diamond D adds phat old skool flavour on "The Omen"; and Stephen Jones' falsetto sweet nothings combined with some excellent poolside vibes on "Good Disease" really are the perfect summer soundtrack. The rest of the album twinkles without ever really shining - but all in all it's a polished affair. If you've not heard Aim before it's sort of a blend of Rae & Christian, The Herbaliser and Bonobo - so if you like them - check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hinterland
Hinterland by Aim (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews