Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Past or Forward to the Future?
All the write-ups I've seen of Foxx's new CD mention a return to the Metamatic days. But to me this CD sounds fresh and new, not cold like Metamatic but full of lush, fragile melodies set over a base of germanic proto-Kraftwerk beats, Travel being a good example. Camera is beautiful and sad even if I keep thinking of Cher's vocals on Believe. Are there any other artists...
Published on 23 Feb 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to please
What I've found with John Foxx's work since re-establishing himself is that his music and songs (apart from the "Catherdal Oceans" series) are basically to please his fans from the 1980's and make himself some money rather than take bold risks.
All of what is here (and the "Shifting City" re-issue) sounds like it could easily have been made 30 years ago and none of...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by P. Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Past or Forward to the Future?, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
All the write-ups I've seen of Foxx's new CD mention a return to the Metamatic days. But to me this CD sounds fresh and new, not cold like Metamatic but full of lush, fragile melodies set over a base of germanic proto-Kraftwerk beats, Travel being a good example. Camera is beautiful and sad even if I keep thinking of Cher's vocals on Believe. Are there any other artists who sample themselves so outrageously as on Invisible Women? Cities of Light is upbeat and full of wonder, hardly the post-apocaliptic world of Metamatic or The Garden. There is a hint of the Cathedral Oceans in the sampled voices and especially the synths on the last track Quiet City. A fabulous, mature piece of work for modern city living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pleasure Is All Ours, 10 July 2006
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
I remember feeling slightly disappointed when I first bought this album, though I can't for the life of me remember why now. Over the last couple of years, I've listened to this more and more and now it ranks as one of Foxx Favourites.

John certainly wears his heart on his sleeve for this one and his Kraftwerk influence/aspirations come to the fore. The thing is though, and don't tell the Dynamic Duo from Dusseldorf, this album is a hell of a lot better than Tour De France Soundtracks which came out in the same year. All the usual Foxx elements are there, tales of the city and the loneliness of living in one.

There are some incredible tracks here, highlights for me are Cities Of Light, Night Life and the incredible Camera. He does have his tongue firmly in his cheek for Invisible Women, which certainly bears a passing resemblance to Underpass, but doesn't deserve the hysteria from other reviewers.

This album is remarkable, personal and minimal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia for the Future, 12 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
Although some people are never going to like John's style, the criticisms levelled at the previous album ('Shifting City'), eg. that the beats are outdated, certainly don't apply here. John and Louis have pared the sound down to a timeless Kraftwerk-Numan-Foxx simple beauty. I've only had a few listens but A Funny Thing, Camera, Cities of Light 5, Uptown/Downtown and The Falling Room are all original and great. Invisible Women and Quiet City aren't so original but they're an excellent reworking of familiar themes. Way to go, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album - but what are we actually getting here?, 20 Oct 2009
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Edsel have always done a great job with Foxx reissues, and have decided to 'swamp' the market with a batch of more recent material previously issued on Metamatic (often in limited editions). This is no exception, as fans get: 2 CDs (more on that later) plus a beautifully expanded booklet (the original was simply a single fold-out). It's good to see the lyrics plus additional images.

The original album is an interesting shift from Foxx of old to the more industrial sounds of "Crash & Burn" and "From Trash", all with Louis Gordon ably assisting. As it was only released in 2002 it was already well-mastered, ofcourse (John would not allow anything shoddy to come out with his name on it).

So, the 2-CD expanded version offers us a 2009 'version' of the album (a tad longer) and the 'original' release plus 2 extra tracks from the time. The 2009 version includes 4 alternative mixes in its 11 tracks, and the write-ups indicate John remixed the album himself. I'm not sure what I was therefore expecting, but I am a bit disappointed that aside from the 4 different tracks mixes listed the rest of the album sounds, ahem, identical to the original release.

Oddly the original was digitally mastered at Serendipity studios by their named engineer, whereas it appears all the material has been mastered (again) by someone else at a completely different studio. As such this makes it very dificult to spot any differences John may have applied, when compared to the original Metamatic release.

Maybe its just the mastering that's different, as I have carefully listened to 2 faves ("Funny Thing" and "Falling Room") and have yet to spot any differences in the overall mix quality. I'm hoping someone else can spot, and review, some!

This doesn't detract from a strong album, and at least you have two full length CDs to choose from, both of excellent quality. The alternative mixes are quite subtle, but often longer. For me "Nightlife" seemed to develop more in the new mix, and "Invisible Women" had more stutters/echoes on the spoken title words.

The two extras on the original album's disc are also interesting, with "Screenplay" having a very familiar motiff running under the chorus! Not filler material atall.

For fans who missed this album first time around, this is the edition to get, but if you already have it please don't expact radical, or even noticeable, changes in the mix of the bulk of the album. Still a good buy though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Genius!, 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
John Foxx's releases tend to be few and far between but whilst they remain as good as this new title, they will be worth the wait. Foxx again joins with his cohort Louis Gordon to bring us a dramatic album which turns the everyday (driving your car, an air-flight, looking through a photo album) into dramatic poetic music. John revisits his love of analogue synthesisers to present a soundscape full of energy and tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeliveable Track!, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
Having literally just unpacked this CD and sampled every track,I am convinced that the track Quiet City is the 21st century equivalent of the track The Garden.A mixture of the textures of Cathedral Oceans with a Metamatic feel has produced in my opinion one of the greatest songs John,and of course Louis,has written.An absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best work since Metamatic, 21 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
Without a doubt his best work since 1980. Excellent tracks include, the Falling room,Quiet city and Invisible women which draws an obvious influence from Underpass. The work is less clinical than Shifting city and places John back in his rightful place as a shining star in the field of the synth scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Futurist Classic!, 10 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
what all the other 5 star raters have said...&....I should have bought this in 2002, its a classic!!!! sublime minimalist electronics with melancholy, melody, humor, I shall listen to this as much as Metamatic and even Computer World. A hidden classic (sorry that word again) its not even on itunes! Quality music from John & Louis...(& a great cover John)...7 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class album, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
John Foxx is one of music's best kept secrets. Anyone listening to this album will struggle to understand why. Immediate stand-out tracks are 'Nightlife', 'Invisible Women', and 'Travel'. Subsequent plays reveal the excellence of 'A Funny Thing', 'Camera', 'Cities of Light' and 'Automobile'. For some reason it took a few plays before 'Falling Room' hit me between the eyes. What a brilliant track. If you like electronic music, buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another new musical style from John Foxx, 18 April 2002
By 
T. J. Jackson "T J Jackson" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pleasures of Electricity (Audio CD)
Foxx is the thinking persons' Gary Numan and the feeling persons' Kraftwerk. But he is also a lot more - an individualistic creative genius who refuses to allow himself to be pinned down to a particular style. Yet again this album reveals something new amongst the familiar sound of synths. Foxx even samples his own musical past (Invisible Women) and manages to add something new to that. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa441a4)

This product

The Pleasures of Electricity
The Pleasures of Electricity by John Foxx (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews