Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the list of Caravan albums
There was a burgeoning musical scene in Canterbury in the psychedelic era of the later sixties, much of which stemmed from a band called the Wilde Flowers. Groups to emerge from this original nucleus included Gong, Soft Machine, Kevin Ayers and the Whole World, Hatfield and the North and of course Caravan, now based in nearby Whitstable, who evolved out of the remaining...
Published on 3 Jan. 2005 by Lozarithm

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caravan - for completists only
It has the rather unimaginative format of all the tracks from the album in mono .... then all the same tracks again in stereo which seems plain silly to me: as if they were trying to fool us that there are more tracks than there really are. Who wants to listen to music in mono? Well, I don't. Having said that, I tend to stick it on when I'm working and just let it chunter...
Published 20 months ago by jonathan william chaplin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Caravan CD, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
CD has both mono and stereo versions of the same Album. They don't appear remarkably different. At least in the car you get to hear the Album twice on a long journey! Personally, I don't think this is their best work but it has some good moments. Needs to be played loud on good speakers to get the full effect of some of the quiet, weird material. As ever goods arrived promptly in plain packaging. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Classic, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
This is a really underated album considering how 'Piper at The gates of Dawn' is considered such a masterpiece. 'Place of my own' in particular really is a fantastic single. Two classic English voices (Pye Hastings and Richard Sinclair) some fantstic organ from David Sinclair. Richard Couglan's drumming holds the whole thing together and his playing is one thing that always prevented the whole thing from becomming too wet and whimsical.

Loose one star because
a)Its a product for its time-you have to like this sort of thing in the firstplace, its not a great album but its a fantastic example of its gendre.

b)The CD has Mono and Stereo versions. I prefer the latter which is the second half which involves a bit of progaming every time I play it- i dont expect to have to work that hard in the digital age!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Caravan, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
G. D. Mcallen "Frater Achos" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
Early Caravan are best before the keyboard player left and their first album, this one, is an example of this. The songs are not as long as some of the ones on their next two albums, but the formative style is compensation enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars trip down memory lane, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
I had forgotten how much I used to like Caravan until a friend of mine sent me a video link recently.Have been listening to this and remembering what it was like to be a teenager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caravan, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
John Barber (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
Brilliant introductory album from one of the classic progressive rock bands.

Has everything going for it, great songs, p[lus great musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars leave out the cecil rons pye please, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
Excellent album for caravan.good organ and guitar work typical pye hastings material.only let down is cecil rons track not really up to standards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
Fast delivery, item as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caravan - for completists only, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
It has the rather unimaginative format of all the tracks from the album in mono .... then all the same tracks again in stereo which seems plain silly to me: as if they were trying to fool us that there are more tracks than there really are. Who wants to listen to music in mono? Well, I don't. Having said that, I tend to stick it on when I'm working and just let it chunter on and it kinda lets you hear the tracks twice.

There's some nice touches here and there but it does sound like a first album i.e. an original, highly creative band finding their feet. However, it you are new to Caravan I'd recommend "In the land of grey and pink" and if you like that, then buy "If I Could Do It All Over Again, I'd Do It All Over You". These are thoughtful hippie albums with a twist of English charm and melancholia laced with superb keyboard solos. These dominate over electric guitar (makes a change!) but there is some fine guitar work as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album!, 4 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
This is my favourite caravan album and is a great listen, it might sound a bit odd at first to some, espicailly the lyrics but after a few listens i found it great!
also some say that the recording quality is horrible, really it isn't all that bad, u get the mono and stereo versions which is cool, and i find the quality very satisfactory personally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 4 Aug. 2007
By 
Ace Music Lover (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caravan (Audio CD)
Whenever there is a list of 'Greatest albums ever', this beauty should at least be among the top 10. An absolutely stunning début. Top notch songs
and marvellous musicianship. Caravan should have been huge. This was followed by 2 equally stunning albums. To think that Caravan were all but ignored and
crapy twats like Marc Bolan were feted was/is shameful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caravan
Caravan by Caravan (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews