Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on...
Published 14 months ago by Pantheon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the original..
The original Robocop is a masterpiece, a brilliant film, I would put it up there with the likes of Terminator, Aliens, Leon and other great action films. The sequel is...mediocre but not bad, Robocop 3 is truly abysmal. This is only worth buying if you can't get the original on its own, which you can now. The original amazon are selling seperately is the 2003 MGM release...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on VHS and twice on DVD and I can honestly say that this blu-ray is the best this film has ever looked or sounded. It's a dated movie with pretty shoddy special effects and all of that is glaringly obvious when watching this blu-ray; but if you love the film anyway that shouldn't matter to you.

Other people have listed the audio tracks, talked about quality, subtitles and the lack of extras...but what I couldn't find a reference to is which version of Robocop is in this boxset. Well, I've just finished watching it and I can assure everyone that it's the, far superior, Director's Cut on this disc.
So, if you don't care about the lack of extras this is the set to buy.

P.S. A request (or plea) to anyone who thinks about reviewing a blu-ray: Please, please, please, can you give details about picture quality, audio details, extras or your opinion on whether the blu is better than the DVD. These reviews that say "I like this film, it's good" or "I've just got my disc and watched it," mean absolutely nothing and are a waste of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, must see movies, 20 Mar 2012
By 
J. Richards "The Icon" (Caldicot, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can i say, having only discovered "Robocop" on Sci-fi channel a few months ago, i seriously have missed out on such a classic movie. All 3 movies come in a single blu-ray box, which is convieniant for space-saving. This is great value just for the first 2 movies, ignoring 3. If comparing 3 to the first, it's terrible.

Picture quality is supurb, for a movie made in 1987!!. You can see the blacks, silvers and blues clearly. As i said, it is an 80's movie so some scenes do look "dated" as it were. Overall, it is a great franchise of films. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "DEAD OR ALIVE, YOU'RE COMING WITH ME...", 11 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This trilogy was the first ever DVD set I brought - i've really expanded my collection since, and I have to say, that I have never grown tired of it.

Robocop, the original directed by blood and guts, nudity loving Paul Verhoven is an absolute masterpiece. For me, once you have seen the Director's Cut version of this film, you'll never go back to the theatrical release. Robocop, for anyone that is unfamiliar with the story is about Alex Murphy. A cop transferred from his peaceful precinct to the distinct hell hole of the one he's in now. (I am writing this quite some time after watching the film, so which Metro district it is escapes me)

He is partnered with a short haired Nancy Allen, who plays Lois, a bubble gum blowing, no nonsense cop who can more than defend herself. It is interesting to view that Lois is almost stripped of her sexuality - the short hair and body armer disguising female curves. If you listen to the excellent audio commentary from Paul Verrhoven, this was because the director didn't want Robocop to have any kind of sexual attraction to Lois, hence the unflattering body armour and very short hairstyle. I have to say, it works very well, and I do prefer it, rather than the idea you have a helmet removed and the cliche of long flowing blonde hair cascading down as she does so. Paul Verhoven thought the same.

Anyway, back to the film. The supporting cast is excellent, and the action is non stop. With the uncut version, the violence is definitely upped, especially within the first half hour - Murphy's "death" and ED209's unfortunate debut involving Mr Kenny are unflinchingly visceral. Little else changes, except for more violence, but it does complete Paul's wonderful vision of a corrupt business empire which allows a city to slide into the 7th level of hell, simply so they can build their precious Delta City. ED209's debut is dealt with by stop motion wizard Phil Tippit, and the film has dated well.

Needless to say, it's down to Robocop to save the day (and the Company President) from the evil Vice President, Dick Jones. With great acting from everyone involved - especially lunatic Clarrence Bodiker - this is the best of all three, and a Cult Classic which would later have references to it in the 90's with hit comedy, "Spaced."

Now, this review is supposed to be based on all three, so I'd better get a move on...

Robocop 2 is a darker view, directed by Empire Strikes Back Director, Irvin Krishner, it's a much more sombre, darker sequal and suffers from some awful special effects and looks older than its predocessor. It follows the continuing exploits of OCP trying to build Delta City and Cain, a notorious drug dealer, dealing in the incredibly addictive narcotic Nuke. It's nowhere near as good as the first film, but does have its high points.

Robocop 3 is a terrible end to the triology. It suffers from awful acting, a lack of plot, characters you don't care about and isn't really watchable at all.

This boxset is still worth owning though for the first film alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the original.., 5 April 2011
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The original Robocop is a masterpiece, a brilliant film, I would put it up there with the likes of Terminator, Aliens, Leon and other great action films. The sequel is...mediocre but not bad, Robocop 3 is truly abysmal. This is only worth buying if you can't get the original on its own, which you can now. The original amazon are selling seperately is the 2003 MGM release which is the best version, surpassing even the usually untouchable for films "Criterion" region 1 release. It's probably the same version included in this trilogy only you wont have the embarressment of Robocop 2 and espeically 3 in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it were not for the Robocop 3 this would have had 5 stars, 6 July 2004
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
1-Awsome film, original and the best, I remember the first time watching this aged 13, i'm 29 now and i've just bought the boxset and it was like the first time again.
2- Not bad for a sequel, I really enjoyed this film, but not as good as the first
3- How to ruin a trilogy, totally rubbish, this should have had a better story line and Peter Weller as Robocop.
I have just finished watching the 3 films over the last few day, The next time I fancy watching them again I won't watch the third film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic original though the sequels increase in crapulance, 9 Jun 2003
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
RoboCop:
Amazing! Hailed by critics and audiences alike. Sensational effects(without the use of CGI) especially the stop-motion animation by Phil Tippett. ED209 is…well, amazing! A strong score and strong characters propel this unbelievable, yet be warned, very violent futuristic action movie along. It deserves 6 stars!!!!!
RobCop 2:
With less glamourised violence and a weak script, this sequel has little to offer except it's stop motion effects.
RoboCop:
It is quite astonishing to note that such a great original could have spawned one of the worst movies ever made. It has turned a series famous for extreme violence into a PG-13 kiddie adventure. The script is full of holes and clichés (the bad kind). I mean, Robot Ninjas? COME ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 ..., 23 Oct 2010
By 
W. Buchmann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...I'm still quite content with this new release.
Let me begin with the technical details:

RoboCop 1
========
1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 9 subtitle tracks, 1:43:15, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
English, Italian Italian Spanish, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

RoboCop 2
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 23 subtitle tracks, 1:56:40, 24p /1.001, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01. DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02. AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03. DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04. DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05. DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06. DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07. AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch,
Russian, Spanish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean,
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

RoboCop 3
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 27 subtitle tracks, 1:44:50, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04: DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06: DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3 Surround, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch
Norwegian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

To begin with ROBOCOP 2
=======================
Frankly I was surprised in a very positive way!
Picture clarity, black levels, contrast and colors are in fact very, very nice throughout the entire movie!
Think of the policemen's black uniforms or Robo's body armour. They are not just black, the black levels are distinguishable and kind of "lively".
Even the composite shots and stop-motion scenes look pretty nice to me and don't 'expose' themselves as to obvious.

Sometimes, when closeups of Robo's or other characters faces were to be seen I was wandering if the DVD release actually shows this incredible detail!
You can see almost any pore in the actor's skin and even fine surface details on the metallic structures of Robo's exo-skeleton.

Film grain is more or less present.
Only in very few scenes it is a tad strong, but mostly very fine and soft enough to give you the feeling of film.
Occasionally there are some drop outs (little white pixel flashes), but they didn't bother me at all.

Furthermore the picture does have a certain depth, there is actually space between foreground and background.
You are not just looking at some kind of two-dimensional postcard.

As for the soundtrack, dialogues are always clear and well balanced.
Sometimes there are some nice split effects and even if this BR may not be reference in matters of sound it's still quite good and fun to listen to.

I'd like to mention another detail which I find to be a rather customer-friendly one:
When you press the "language" or "subtitle" button on your remote the disc's program
shows detailed information in the lower right corner of the screen for a few seconds!
Nice gimmick, FOX!
And yet another one:
I had to interrupt ROBO 3 due to the late hour and turned my player off with the disc still in it.
When I restarted my player the disc (not the player!) asked me "Resume movie yes / no"!
I have seen quite a lot of blu-rays but I'm not aware of any having these very user-friendly programs.
Thumbs up, FOX / MGM!

Summary:
Judging on that movie's transfer quality and the disc's customer-friendly programming I do encourage every Robo fan to buy this edition.
Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 it's still a nice job from FOX / MGM!

EDIT:
I leave it at that, a more detailed review including ROBO 1 and 3 is up on blu-ray.com and I really don't differ that much.

It's your move now, creep!
Go to the next shop, point your finger at the Robo-BR-Box and say the magic words: "Dead or alive, you're coming with me!"
You only have to ask yourself one question (before buying the trilogy): "Am I lucky?" Well, you will be, punk!
Oops, sorry, that one came from a different movie!
Enjoy your Robo!
:-)

* * * * * * * * * * *
SAMSUNG UE46C7700
SONY BDP-S760
YAMAHA RX-V1800
QUADRAL Aurum 5.0
* * * * * * * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We'd rather have a bowl of RoboCops..., 28 May 2012
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While clearly Paul Verhoeven's first film is the best movie here (though the one with the least of the transfers, still very good), RoboCop 2 is a slightly-handicapped but vastly underrated sequel, with a scary villain and a lot of fun to have. RoboCop 2 seems to want to, as a lot of sequels do, be a counterpoint to the original - this time the satire of big-business is turned up to 11 (OCP are almost entirely evil now, with even the benevolant Chairman made evil, and their corporate logo emblazened in a white circle against a red flag...like the Swastika), so much so that you might think it's actually a level beyond satire, satirising left-wing satire itself! It seems to have a pretty dim view of striking cops too and there's other things that make me curious as to what the intent was.

RoboCop 3 isn't really as bad as you remember it when you actually sit down and watch it. It's still got some humour, but the satire is about at the level of Family Guy or, at best, Victor Lewis-Smith. It's still left-wing as anything, but it's more sort of crybaby, childish left-wing. The film is still a lot of fun, altogether. More of a spin-off than a sequel, to be honest.

Lots of extras ported over on the Robo1 blu-ray, almost everything from the DVD EXCEPT the commentary, and Robo 2 and 3 finally get 5.1 mixes (thankfully) but still no real extras.

I recommend the set for RoboCop and RoboCop 2, but if you really want a follow up to RoboCop, I say...make an evening of it and watch Total Recall and Starship Troopers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay out of trouble., 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Robocop is a product of it’s time. Made in the mid eighties, shortly after ‘The Terminator’ the first film was a satire of the Regan/Thatcher era as well as being one of the best action films of that decade. The story concerns a self centred corporate business man’s attempt to create a Frankenstein robotic cop from a recent murdered police officer. It sounds silly but the entire film is wonderfully crafted. There are so many great moments in the film and not one moment is wasted. The film switches from tragedy to comedy to intense drama with incredibly smoothness. As well as some great action sequences and some laugh out loud funny moments there is real dramatic stuff here. When Robocop he catches up with Clarence, the man who killed him in the first place you can almost feel his sense of loss and anger. As Clarence is thrown through sheets of glass his natural arrogance turns to fear as he can’t stop the vengeful machine. Truly great stuff.
Robocop2 is not as good. It’s well written, written in fact by maverick comic book writer Frank Miller. The effects are fine and the fight at the end between the two Robocop’s is pretty cool. The problem isn’t as, some reviews have suggested over the years, that it lacks humour, R2 does have good gags it’s just overwhelmingly unpleasant. The film is incredibly violent and it has numbing effect after a while. I really wouldn’t let your kids watch this one. It isn’t too bad but it simply isn’t as satisfying as the first one.
Robocop3 is again not as good. Again it’s well written and some of the story ideas are great. No where near as unpleasant as the second film it does have a great deal going for it. The main problem with Robocop3 is that the action is very weak. When we first see the Robocop in this film he does look silly and somehow it never really recovers. The talking scenes are fine but here Robocop doesn’t seem like a credible action hero in this one. Still enjoyable but flawed.
It is worth buying the whole package. For me it was because I do like all three films and had no hesitation to splash out. For those that just like Robocop1 I still recommend that you buy it because the other two films are probably not as bad as you remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kleine Info für deutsche Käufer zu den Audio Optionen, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diese Blue-rays enhalten folgende Audio Optionen:
Robocop 1: keine deutsche Tonspur, English und weitere, ungeschnitten
Robocop 2: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten
Robocop 3: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten

Ich hoffe, ich konnte damit helfen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6e02870)

This product

RoboCop Trilogy [DVD]
RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] by Irvin Kershner (DVD - 2002)
7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews