Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on...
Published 23 months ago by Pantheon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the original..
The original Robocop is a masterpiece, a brilliant film, I would put it up there with the likes of Terminator, Aliens, Leon and other great action films. The sequel is...mediocre but not bad, Robocop 3 is truly abysmal. This is only worth buying if you can't get the original on its own, which you can now. The original amazon are selling seperately is the 2003 MGM release...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on VHS and twice on DVD and I can honestly say that this blu-ray is the best this film has ever looked or sounded. It's a dated movie with pretty shoddy special effects and all of that is glaringly obvious when watching this blu-ray; but if you love the film anyway that shouldn't matter to you.

Other people have listed the audio tracks, talked about quality, subtitles and the lack of extras...but what I couldn't find a reference to is which version of Robocop is in this boxset. Well, I've just finished watching it and I can assure everyone that it's the, far superior, Director's Cut on this disc.
So, if you don't care about the lack of extras this is the set to buy.

P.S. A request (or plea) to anyone who thinks about reviewing a blu-ray: Please, please, please, can you give details about picture quality, audio details, extras or your opinion on whether the blu is better than the DVD. These reviews that say "I like this film, it's good" or "I've just got my disc and watched it," mean absolutely nothing and are a waste of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love Robocop 2!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone knows the rule of trilogies, the third one usually sucks. There are some exceptions- Nolan's Dark Knight movies, Bourne ( Now sadly tainted by that awful, unnecessary fourth entry.), but in general this rule always applies, and Robocop is a prime example of a trilogy gone wrong. Enough has been written about the original, it's an exemplary 80's sci fi movie that still impesses today. Thoughtful, melancholic, satirical and with a lot more to say than a film with THAT title should be able to deliver.
I also believe that Robocop 2 is a highly underrated sequel. To often lumped in with the third one as a failure, i think it's aged remarkably well. It retains the wit and violence of it's predecessor, and possesses a great cast, mostly returnees from the original. The finale is a spectacular display of destruction and heroics, that now seems oddly similar to the first Iron Man's (2008) climactic battle! I cannot defend the third, however. It really is rank. Special features are solely focused on Robocop 1, and are plentiful, it also has the gorier, nastier Director's Cut. Sadly 2 receives nothing more than trailers. Bah! Very good dvd transfers and sound quality on all three. Especially if you grew up watching these on vhs. Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Robocop Remastered Blu Rays, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Robocop Trilogy Remastered.

Blu-Ray Info.
Region B/2
Certificate: 18
Aspect Ratio:
Robocop 16:9 - 1.78:1,
Robocop 2 & 3: 16:9 - 1.85.1

Special Features: Robocop Special Edition.
Option to watch Directors cut or original theatrical version
New documentary: Flesh & steel, the making of Robocop
Featurette: Shooting Robocop
Featurette: Making Robocop
Deleted scenes including directors cut footage with live stage direction
Trailers
TV Commercial
Photo Gallery
Storyboard comparison with Phil Tippett commentary
Commentary with director Paul Verhoeven, screenwriter Edward Neumeier & Jon Davison
Collectable booklet

Audio Information:
Robocop Special Edition:
Languages in Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Subtitles: English, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, Portuguese, Polish, Greek, Hungarian, Hebrew, Turkish, Czechoslovakian, English hard of hearing

Robocop 2 & 3:
Languages in Dolby Surround: English, German, French
Italian Dolby, Spanish Dolby
Subtitles: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, English hard of hearing, German hard of hearing

Worth upgrading to Blu-ray?
Yes all three movies have been completely remastered since there original Blu ray release a few year's back, The trilogy now look sharper, vibrant & sounds better than ever.

Running time.
Robocop 103 minutes approx.
Robocop 2 117 minutes approx.
Robocop 3 104 minutes approx.

Trivia.
1)Peter Weller was losing up to 3lb a day when wearing the Robocop suit.
2)The special effects were generated by a Commodore Amiga computer.
3)The original Robocop film was submitted 12 times to get a R rating & not until the trilogy came out on dvd & Blu ray was the original film shown uncut.
4)Lance Henriksen was originally offered the role of Alex Murphy/Robocop.
5)Other contenders for the Robocop role were Michael Ironside & Rutger Hauer.
6)Original movies bodycount 30.
7)Peter Weller, Ray Rise & Paul McCrane have all featured in action thriller series 24 although the trio have never shared any screen time together.
8)
Robocop is a cult classic of hardcore ultra violent Sci Fi action movies thats violent scene's are still shockingly brutal of action movies made todays times.
9)David Cronenberg was originally slated to direct Robocop.
10) Emils melting scene from toxic waste was demanded to be cut completely by the MPAA until test screenings deemed the scene as one of the movies positives.

Plot Synopsis.
In a society of crime were corporations rule, Police strike & criminals run riot, Police officer Alex Murphy is brutality shot & killed by a gang of killers & robbers led by Clarence Boddicker( A excellent Kurtwood Smith).

Resurrected into a cyborg Murphy is now Detroit's answer to crime as Robocop The future of law enforcement, Yet Murphys past starts appearing in his mind, Having visions & flashbacks that are confusing as he is starting to remember a family that he once had & flashbacks of the killers whom taken that Man away from his wife & child.

Timelord Thoughts.
From its tongue & cheek humour to its OTT violence this is a 80's classic, Peter Weller is excellent as Alex Murphy/Robocop playing just enough sentiment to make you care about the character something the recent remake lacked.

Kurtwood Smith as Clarence Boddicker is menacing yet somehow made charming by Smiths intense portrayal.

Ronny Cox is vicious as Dick Jones a menacing senior OCP executive who's ED209 failure brings about murderous intentions on Robocops creator Bob Morton a smarmy character played superbly by Miguel Ferrer.

Hardcore brutal action scenes of graphic violence the movie doesn't hold back, Murphy's violent death, The drug shootout, Robocop vs ED209 to The famous acid scene of Emil but what did you expect from Director Paul Verhoven who really makes an outstanding movie here on a tight production budget & it's even more brutal in its directors cut form.

Robocop 2.
Robocop 2 although is a notch below the origins movie is still a decent sequel with a crazed drug dealer getting people addicted to his drug Nuke, Robocop intervenes but is beaten, dismantled & left for dead which is quite shocking, OCP haven't decided to rebuild him yet as a proposed Robocop 2 program is about be announced, Trouble is that unlike Alex Murphys moral code of ethics & Catholic upbringing none of the test subjects are suitable so OCP decide on another angle maybe a criminal brain that they can control.

When Robocop gets another chance at Kane in a drug bust shootout then leading to a chase Robocop eventually takes him out resulting in putting Kane into a coma, by doing this Kane life support is turned off & is eventually using his brain transformed into Robocop 2 the idea he can be controlled by OCP to his addiction craving to the drug Nuke.

Things however dont go to plan & a psychopathic Robocop 2 goes on a rampage first killing his former gang for not helping him die, Then going on a killing spree & destroying everyone & everything in his path.

So its up to Robocop to now battle a now murderous psychopathic Cyborg, Kane & save Detriot from his wrath of total destruction.

Timelord Thoughts.
As sequel's go this aint half bad With Weller again playing Murphy/Robocop showing a underlying current of emotion from a past life, especially a scene early on when he meets his former wife.

Tom Noohan plays a superb villian in Kane a Christ like drug dealer who bringing Delta City to it's knee's with his creation of the addictive drug Nuke.

The violence is even more OTT than the original with death & destruction on a mass scale & the humours just as dark as the original.

Great action scenes are delivered by The Empire Strikes Back Director Irvin Kershner who certainly knows how to pace & edit a movie & features a good story co- written by Frank Miller whom wrote the critically acclaimed Dark Knight Returns graphic novel this is a above average sequel.

Although the effects of 1990 have now dated the production values were higher on this second sequel compared to the originals tight budget.

So all in all a worthy action sequel to the original cult movie.

Robocop 3.
So now we come to Robocop 3, As Orion went bust in early 1990's this film originally made in 1992 was eventually released in uk in 1994.

This movie is just an awful & farcical movie, Who thought up the idea that a Robocop movie should be a PG-13 it's a absurd idea as this second sequel's just a watered down kiddies movie thats bloodless, lacking in emotion, no decent action scenes at all & a poor villian who's British, how original & this was also co- written again by Frank Miller who wrote the decent Robocop 2 so the kiddie tone of this third movie beggars belief in it's toned down action & weak plot as I just cant comprehend how truly awful this movie really is.

Robocop spouting classic lines (Sarcasim) such as "Don't" to a OCP corrupt officer instead of shooting him as Robocops now had his Directive 4 program erased so he's free to shoot corrupt OCP individuals, Well it didn't stop Robocop causing ultra violence in shooting people in the first two movie's maybe he's been born again or found religion?

Even Peter Weller seen the writing on the wall with this movie & walked & I dont blame him, Now we have Robert John Burke as Robocop who to be fair is only acting to what he is being given by a poor script, But Mr Burke isn't on par with Peter Wellers standout performances.

Fred Dekker doesn't give us anything decent in action or scope & the toned down PG-13 Rating doesn't help matters any.

Now we have Ninja Samurai Cyborgs & a Robocop who now uses a Jet pack (for gods sake whatever next?), who's trying prevent OCP whom are turfing out residents from their homes into the street's to build Delta City on schedule as failure to do so will mean a Japanese company takeover of OCP.

I just dont understand why any film distribution company would think toning down such a ultra violent movie franchise a good idea, yes i understand that you dont need loads of graphic violence tell a story but the original had ultra hardcore violence but also a great emotional character arc, this third movie doesn't have anything to merit a watch & it's Robocop so it's supposed to be hardcore violent & not a movie for 10 year old kids to see.

The third movie is just dumb, stupid, farcical toned down tripe.

So to sum up this Blu-ray box set you get the cult classic original & a great Flesh & Steel documentary plus the harder directors cut of Robocop, a decent sequel that while not perfect is at least entertaining & action packed while the pointless dire awful third movie, so I advise you stick to the first two movies & avoid the third film like the plague.

Timelord Rating.
Robocop ★★★★★
Robocop 2 ★★★★
Robocop 3 ★
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality for Robocop 1 is disappointing, but 2 and 3 look great., 16 Oct 2013
By 
M. Woods (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most Robocop fans probably won't argue that the Robocop films get worse with each entry. However, the opposite can be said about the blu ray quality of the films! Robocop 2 and 3 look and sound, surprisingly, great! Picture quality is very crisp and clear, with wonderful detail. However, the quality of the original Robocop is disappointing unfortunately, and probably only slightly better than the DVD version. The picture is not quite very clear, and appears quite blurry in some scenes. The sound is also a disappointment. Whilst the dialogue and music tracks are very clear, I noticed sound effects such as gun-shots often sounded quite muffled and not as dynamic as I hoped.

If you're a fan of the entire series, this box set is definitely a bargain, as the 2nd and 3rd films are definite improvements over their DVD counterparts. However, if you're only a fan of the 1st film, the blu ray quality may be quite underwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 ..., 23 Oct 2010
By 
W. Buchmann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...I'm still quite content with this new release.
Let me begin with the technical details:

RoboCop 1
========
1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 9 subtitle tracks, 1:43:15, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
English, Italian Italian Spanish, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

RoboCop 2
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 23 subtitle tracks, 1:56:40, 24p /1.001, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01. DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02. AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03. DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04. DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05. DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06. DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07. AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch,
Russian, Spanish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean,
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

RoboCop 3
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 27 subtitle tracks, 1:44:50, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04: DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06: DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3 Surround, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch
Norwegian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

To begin with ROBOCOP 2
=======================
Frankly I was surprised in a very positive way!
Picture clarity, black levels, contrast and colors are in fact very, very nice throughout the entire movie!
Think of the policemen's black uniforms or Robo's body armour. They are not just black, the black levels are distinguishable and kind of "lively".
Even the composite shots and stop-motion scenes look pretty nice to me and don't 'expose' themselves as to obvious.

Sometimes, when closeups of Robo's or other characters faces were to be seen I was wandering if the DVD release actually shows this incredible detail!
You can see almost any pore in the actor's skin and even fine surface details on the metallic structures of Robo's exo-skeleton.

Film grain is more or less present.
Only in very few scenes it is a tad strong, but mostly very fine and soft enough to give you the feeling of film.
Occasionally there are some drop outs (little white pixel flashes), but they didn't bother me at all.

Furthermore the picture does have a certain depth, there is actually space between foreground and background.
You are not just looking at some kind of two-dimensional postcard.

As for the soundtrack, dialogues are always clear and well balanced.
Sometimes there are some nice split effects and even if this BR may not be reference in matters of sound it's still quite good and fun to listen to.

I'd like to mention another detail which I find to be a rather customer-friendly one:
When you press the "language" or "subtitle" button on your remote the disc's program
shows detailed information in the lower right corner of the screen for a few seconds!
Nice gimmick, FOX!
And yet another one:
I had to interrupt ROBO 3 due to the late hour and turned my player off with the disc still in it.
When I restarted my player the disc (not the player!) asked me "Resume movie yes / no"!
I have seen quite a lot of blu-rays but I'm not aware of any having these very user-friendly programs.
Thumbs up, FOX / MGM!

Summary:
Judging on that movie's transfer quality and the disc's customer-friendly programming I do encourage every Robo fan to buy this edition.
Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 it's still a nice job from FOX / MGM!

EDIT:
I leave it at that, a more detailed review including ROBO 1 and 3 is up on blu-ray.com and I really don't differ that much.

It's your move now, creep!
Go to the next shop, point your finger at the Robo-BR-Box and say the magic words: "Dead or alive, you're coming with me!"
You only have to ask yourself one question (before buying the trilogy): "Am I lucky?" Well, you will be, punk!
Oops, sorry, that one came from a different movie!
Enjoy your Robo!
:-)

* * * * * * * * * * *
SAMSUNG UE46C7700
SONY BDP-S760
YAMAHA RX-V1800
QUADRAL Aurum 5.0
* * * * * * * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the original.., 5 April 2011
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The original Robocop is a masterpiece, a brilliant film, I would put it up there with the likes of Terminator, Aliens, Leon and other great action films. The sequel is...mediocre but not bad, Robocop 3 is truly abysmal. This is only worth buying if you can't get the original on its own, which you can now. The original amazon are selling seperately is the 2003 MGM release which is the best version, surpassing even the usually untouchable for films "Criterion" region 1 release. It's probably the same version included in this trilogy only you wont have the embarressment of Robocop 2 and espeically 3 in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for the sake of first episode, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Cengiz ULKU (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first part of the trilogy is the one to watch. Cinematography and plot is at its best, although the robotics and vFX are out-dated, the scenario is coherent and gripping. A movie that can be watched relentlessly. The Bluray quality may not be the best but for the price it is better than the DVD. No extras included, only a trailer included on each of the Blurays.

The second episode is not very bad, still having some strong points and tries to continue where the first one ended, however, poor compared to first.

For the third part, the only thing I can say is, it is similar to "Superman IV: The Quest for Peace", if you see what I mean...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "DEAD OR ALIVE, YOU'RE COMING WITH ME...", 11 Jun 2007
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This trilogy was the first ever DVD set I brought - i've really expanded my collection since, and I have to say, that I have never grown tired of it.

Robocop, the original directed by blood and guts, nudity loving Paul Verhoven is an absolute masterpiece. For me, once you have seen the Director's Cut version of this film, you'll never go back to the theatrical release. Robocop, for anyone that is unfamiliar with the story is about Alex Murphy. A cop transferred from his peaceful precinct to the distinct hell hole of the one he's in now. (I am writing this quite some time after watching the film, so which Metro district it is escapes me)

He is partnered with a short haired Nancy Allen, who plays Lois, a bubble gum blowing, no nonsense cop who can more than defend herself. It is interesting to view that Lois is almost stripped of her sexuality - the short hair and body armer disguising female curves. If you listen to the excellent audio commentary from Paul Verrhoven, this was because the director didn't want Robocop to have any kind of sexual attraction to Lois, hence the unflattering body armour and very short hairstyle. I have to say, it works very well, and I do prefer it, rather than the idea you have a helmet removed and the cliche of long flowing blonde hair cascading down as she does so. Paul Verhoven thought the same.

Anyway, back to the film. The supporting cast is excellent, and the action is non stop. With the uncut version, the violence is definitely upped, especially within the first half hour - Murphy's "death" and ED209's unfortunate debut involving Mr Kenny are unflinchingly visceral. Little else changes, except for more violence, but it does complete Paul's wonderful vision of a corrupt business empire which allows a city to slide into the 7th level of hell, simply so they can build their precious Delta City. ED209's debut is dealt with by stop motion wizard Phil Tippit, and the film has dated well.

Needless to say, it's down to Robocop to save the day (and the Company President) from the evil Vice President, Dick Jones. With great acting from everyone involved - especially lunatic Clarrence Bodiker - this is the best of all three, and a Cult Classic which would later have references to it in the 90's with hit comedy, "Spaced."

Now, this review is supposed to be based on all three, so I'd better get a move on...

Robocop 2 is a darker view, directed by Empire Strikes Back Director, Irvin Krishner, it's a much more sombre, darker sequal and suffers from some awful special effects and looks older than its predocessor. It follows the continuing exploits of OCP trying to build Delta City and Cain, a notorious drug dealer, dealing in the incredibly addictive narcotic Nuke. It's nowhere near as good as the first film, but does have its high points.

Robocop 3 is a terrible end to the triology. It suffers from awful acting, a lack of plot, characters you don't care about and isn't really watchable at all.

This boxset is still worth owning though for the first film alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic cyborg action, 2 Mar 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This set includes all three of the Robocop films and while the first one is easily the best of the trilogy, the other two are good in their own way.

The first Robocop film is a classic Eighties Sci-Fi film with a nice mixture of gore, action and humour. The film includes some classic scenes and some very good special effects for the time. The story is also reasonably good as well with some nice sentimental bits every now and again as well. Definitely a five star film.

The second film is pretty much more of the same but this time with Robocop under threat of replacement by a new model. This film, while still good, probably isn't as good as the original film and does have a tendency to lean more towards the humorous side, although not as much as the third film. The film still has a lot going for it though and I would say I would give it four maybe four and a half stars.

The third and final film in this set is easily the worst and is also the least gory and action packed of the series. The film could have been good and did have some nice ideas but the execution was poor and a couple of the new characters introduced were definitely annoying. There also seems to have been an attempt to make the film a bit more kid friendly, which is never a good thing for a franchise. I think I would be generous and give the film three and a half to four stars as it does at least try.

Overall the Robocop Trilogy contains one great film, one good film and one mediocre film but they are all worth watching as they are nonetheless very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kleine Info für deutsche Käufer zu den Audio Optionen, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diese Blue-rays enhalten folgende Audio Optionen:
Robocop 1: keine deutsche Tonspur, English und weitere, ungeschnitten
Robocop 2: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten
Robocop 3: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten

Ich hoffe, ich konnte damit helfen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RoboCop Trilogy [DVD]
RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] by Irvin Kershner (DVD - 2002)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews