Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on...
Published on 29 Jan. 2013 by Pantheon

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the original..
The original Robocop is a masterpiece, a brilliant film, I would put it up there with the likes of Terminator, Aliens, Leon and other great action films. The sequel is...mediocre but not bad, Robocop 3 is truly abysmal. This is only worth buying if you can't get the original on its own, which you can now. The original amazon are selling seperately is the 2003 MGM release...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Robocop Has Ever Looked - Blu-ray Review, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First: Amazon...stop lumping blu-ray and DVD reviews together - it's confusing and it renders many of them meaningless. Also, what's with reviews for VHS???? You can't buy them any more, and they look awful; so who cares about them? Just my opinion.

As for Robocop. I'm so glad I decided to buy this blu-ray box (despite the poor reviews). I've owned this film on VHS and twice on DVD and I can honestly say that this blu-ray is the best this film has ever looked or sounded. It's a dated movie with pretty shoddy special effects and all of that is glaringly obvious when watching this blu-ray; but if you love the film anyway that shouldn't matter to you.

Other people have listed the audio tracks, talked about quality, subtitles and the lack of extras...but what I couldn't find a reference to is which version of Robocop is in this boxset. Well, I've just finished watching it and I can assure everyone that it's the, far superior, Director's Cut on this disc.
So, if you don't care about the lack of extras this is the set to buy.

P.S. A request (or plea) to anyone who thinks about reviewing a blu-ray: Please, please, please, can you give details about picture quality, audio details, extras or your opinion on whether the blu is better than the DVD. These reviews that say "I like this film, it's good" or "I've just got my disc and watched it," mean absolutely nothing and are a waste of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love Robocop 2!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone knows the rule of trilogies, the third one usually sucks. There are some exceptions- Nolan's Dark Knight movies, Bourne ( Now sadly tainted by that awful, unnecessary fourth entry.), but in general this rule always applies, and Robocop is a prime example of a trilogy gone wrong. Enough has been written about the original, it's an exemplary 80's sci fi movie that still impesses today. Thoughtful, melancholic, satirical and with a lot more to say than a film with THAT title should be able to deliver.
I also believe that Robocop 2 is a highly underrated sequel. To often lumped in with the third one as a failure, i think it's aged remarkably well. It retains the wit and violence of it's predecessor, and possesses a great cast, mostly returnees from the original. The finale is a spectacular display of destruction and heroics, that now seems oddly similar to the first Iron Man's (2008) climactic battle! I cannot defend the third, however. It really is rank. Special features are solely focused on Robocop 1, and are plentiful, it also has the gorier, nastier Director's Cut. Sadly 2 receives nothing more than trailers. Bah! Very good dvd transfers and sound quality on all three. Especially if you grew up watching these on vhs. Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic creation, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
The original "Robocop" is an all-time great. When decent family-man cop Alex Murphy is gunned down by gangsters his remains are used to bring cyborg Robocop to life. What follows is a dark vision of a future where the police become answerable to ruthless big corporations and yuppies have each other murdered in the name of business. Couple an emotional journey involving a man re-discovering his lost past with some nifty social satire and you have a film without a dull moment. *****

In "Robocop 2", the top brass at OCP are becoming increasingly worried about Robocop's human side and so decide to start work on a new cyborg cop who has no qualms at all about blowing people away. Though this film lacks its predecessor's subtle satire, it is in some ways an even darker-themed movie. There is an interesting plot involving drug culture, and once again it's all fast-paced entertainment. *****

By the time we reach "Robocop 3" things have gone downhill. This third instalment opens with a brilliantly unnerving sequence showing a big corporation forcing people from their homes, all from the point of view of a terrified child. But overall this film is slow and uninvolving. The leading lady is killed off to make way for a female scientist and a child genius. Neither are strong enough characters to support a plot which frankly spends most of the film going nowhere. There are silly ninja cyborgs, a dim villain and a mercenary who says "chum" a lot. The humour is still there but the '15' rating means it lacks real punch. Worth seeing as it does tie up the trilogy. ***

There are plenty of extras on this box set including an intriguing "making of" documentary and a commentary on the first film. Overall a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robocop Trilogy, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching these on video a few yeas ago, as my dad had them and since Christmas Ive wanted to get the trilogy. The other day I decided to get it.

Opened the boxset up and was quite surprised by it. You open it up and it all folds out and shows Robocop head down to his shoulders in the background and the booklet is slipped in a front facing sleeve.

Robocop 1. Murphy has been transferred to a crime ridden Future Detroit, which is ran by a massive company. The company have have developed a huge crime-fighting robot, which unfortunately develops a rather dangerous glitch. The company sees a way to get back in favour with the public when a cop called Alex Murphy is killed by a street gang. Murphy's body is reconstructed within a steel shell and named Robocop. The Robocop is very successful against criminals, and becomes a target of a crimelord.

This one I enjoyed and is the only one to have a decent set of special features (Ill get on to them later) Some of the film looks dated i.e. the other robots as they were stop motion puppets pretty much, but doesnt take away from the film at all. The director of this is Paul Verhoeven (Starship Troopers, Total Recall) Now his Trademark and is Famous for his extremely violent, yet intelligent, science fiction films.

Robocop 2. Peter Weller is bakc as Robocop. After a successful deployment of the Robocop Law Enforcement unit, OCP sees its goal of urban pacification come closer and closer. But as this develops, a new narcotic known as "Nuke" invades the streets led by God-delirious leader Kane. As this menace grows, it may prove to be too much for Murphy to handle. OCP tries to replicate the success of the first unit, but ends up with failed prototypes with suicidal issues... until Dr. Faxx, a scientist straying away from OCP's path uses Kane as the new subject for the Robocop 2 project, a living God.

I quite enjoyed this as well. Verhoeven didnt direct this film, instead Irvin Kershner directs (Empire Strikes Back) The film is full of violence but it's mainly of the long-range bullets-hit-bad-guys type: the only thing close to the original's over-the-top nature was the brain removal and the stomach-slicing. This isnt as good as the first but still is an ok sci fi action film.

Robocop 3. The mega corporation Omni Consumer Products is still bent on creating their pet project, Delta City, to replace the rotting city of Detroit. Unfortunately, the inhabitants of the area have no intention of abandoning their homes simply for desires of the company. To this end, OCP have decided to force them to leave by employing a ruthless mercenary army to attack and harass them. An underground resistance begins and in this fight, Robocop must decide where his loyalties lie

Peter Weller is not back for this one as Robocop, Nancy Allen is back as Lewis. I didnt like this one, everything on robocop just was an upgrade and didnt have any notion to explain how he got them bar one item. Really this wasnt really a needed film and didnt take that much money which helped lead to Orion go bust.

DVD Special Features:
Featured on Robocop Special Edition:
Option to watch Directors cut or original theatrical version
New documentary: Flesh and steel, the making of Robocop
Featurette: Shooting Robocop
Featurette: Making Robocop
Deleted scenes including directors cut footage with live stage direction
Trailers
TV Commercial
Photo Gallery
Storyboard comparison with Phil Tippett commentary
Commentary with director Paul Verhoeven, screenwriter Edward Neumeier and Jon Davison
Collectable booklet

Language Information:
Robocop Special Edition:
Languages in Dolby Digital 5.1: English
Subtitles: English, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, Portuguese, Polish, Greek, Hungarian, Hebrew, Turkish, Czechoslovakian, English hard of hearing

Robocop 2 and 3:
Languages in Dolby Surround: English, German, French
Italian Dolby, Spanish Dolby
Subtitles: French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, Danish, English hard of hearing, German hard of hearing
1.85 widescreen 16:9 version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robocop Fun, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ROBOCOP included in this set is the 2014. Remastered edition. The quality of the image is excellent and certainly refreshes the film. Robocop 2 and 3 although not remastered look good also. No more Robocop 3 bashing from the film snobs please. Buy this trilogy set and sit back and enjoy." Thank you for your cooperation"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 ..., 23 Oct. 2010
By 
W. Buchmann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...I'm still quite content with this new release.
Let me begin with the technical details:

RoboCop 1
========
1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 9 subtitle tracks, 1:43:15, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
English, Italian Italian Spanish, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish

RoboCop 2
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 23 subtitle tracks, 1:56:40, 24p /1.001, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01. DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02. AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03. DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04. DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05. DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06. DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07. AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch,
Russian, Spanish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean,
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

RoboCop 3
========
1 video track, 12 audio tracks, 27 subtitle tracks, 1:44:50, 24p /1.001, Chapters, 16 chapters, h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)

LANGUAGES:
01: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
02: AC3, Portuguese, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
03: DTS, French, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
04: DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
05: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
06: DTS, Japanese, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
07: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
08: DTS, Russian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
09: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48kHz
10: AC3 Surround, Czech, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz
11: AC3, Hungarian, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz
12: AC3 Surround, Thai, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48kHz

SUBTITLES
Japanese, English, French, Portuguese, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch
Norwegian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Croatian, Czech, Modern Greek, Chinese, Hungarian, Korean
Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Chinese, Thai, Japanese

To begin with ROBOCOP 2
=======================
Frankly I was surprised in a very positive way!
Picture clarity, black levels, contrast and colors are in fact very, very nice throughout the entire movie!
Think of the policemen's black uniforms or Robo's body armour. They are not just black, the black levels are distinguishable and kind of "lively".
Even the composite shots and stop-motion scenes look pretty nice to me and don't 'expose' themselves as to obvious.

Sometimes, when closeups of Robo's or other characters faces were to be seen I was wandering if the DVD release actually shows this incredible detail!
You can see almost any pore in the actor's skin and even fine surface details on the metallic structures of Robo's exo-skeleton.

Film grain is more or less present.
Only in very few scenes it is a tad strong, but mostly very fine and soft enough to give you the feeling of film.
Occasionally there are some drop outs (little white pixel flashes), but they didn't bother me at all.

Furthermore the picture does have a certain depth, there is actually space between foreground and background.
You are not just looking at some kind of two-dimensional postcard.

As for the soundtrack, dialogues are always clear and well balanced.
Sometimes there are some nice split effects and even if this BR may not be reference in matters of sound it's still quite good and fun to listen to.

I'd like to mention another detail which I find to be a rather customer-friendly one:
When you press the "language" or "subtitle" button on your remote the disc's program
shows detailed information in the lower right corner of the screen for a few seconds!
Nice gimmick, FOX!
And yet another one:
I had to interrupt ROBO 3 due to the late hour and turned my player off with the disc still in it.
When I restarted my player the disc (not the player!) asked me "Resume movie yes / no"!
I have seen quite a lot of blu-rays but I'm not aware of any having these very user-friendly programs.
Thumbs up, FOX / MGM!

Summary:
Judging on that movie's transfer quality and the disc's customer-friendly programming I do encourage every Robo fan to buy this edition.
Despite the missing extras and the dated transfer of ROBOCOP 1 it's still a nice job from FOX / MGM!

EDIT:
I leave it at that, a more detailed review including ROBO 1 and 3 is up on blu-ray.com and I really don't differ that much.

It's your move now, creep!
Go to the next shop, point your finger at the Robo-BR-Box and say the magic words: "Dead or alive, you're coming with me!"
You only have to ask yourself one question (before buying the trilogy): "Am I lucky?" Well, you will be, punk!
Oops, sorry, that one came from a different movie!
Enjoy your Robo!
:-)

* * * * * * * * * * *
SAMSUNG UE46C7700
SONY BDP-S760
YAMAHA RX-V1800
QUADRAL Aurum 5.0
* * * * * * * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for the sake of first episode, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Cengiz ULKU (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first part of the trilogy is the one to watch. Cinematography and plot is at its best, although the robotics and vFX are out-dated, the scenario is coherent and gripping. A movie that can be watched relentlessly. The Bluray quality may not be the best but for the price it is better than the DVD. No extras included, only a trailer included on each of the Blurays.

The second episode is not very bad, still having some strong points and tries to continue where the first one ended, however, poor compared to first.

For the third part, the only thing I can say is, it is similar to "Superman IV: The Quest for Peace", if you see what I mean...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "DEAD OR ALIVE, YOU'RE COMING WITH ME...", 11 Jun. 2007
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This trilogy was the first ever DVD set I brought - i've really expanded my collection since, and I have to say, that I have never grown tired of it.

Robocop, the original directed by blood and guts, nudity loving Paul Verhoven is an absolute masterpiece. For me, once you have seen the Director's Cut version of this film, you'll never go back to the theatrical release. Robocop, for anyone that is unfamiliar with the story is about Alex Murphy. A cop transferred from his peaceful precinct to the distinct hell hole of the one he's in now. (I am writing this quite some time after watching the film, so which Metro district it is escapes me)

He is partnered with a short haired Nancy Allen, who plays Lois, a bubble gum blowing, no nonsense cop who can more than defend herself. It is interesting to view that Lois is almost stripped of her sexuality - the short hair and body armer disguising female curves. If you listen to the excellent audio commentary from Paul Verrhoven, this was because the director didn't want Robocop to have any kind of sexual attraction to Lois, hence the unflattering body armour and very short hairstyle. I have to say, it works very well, and I do prefer it, rather than the idea you have a helmet removed and the cliche of long flowing blonde hair cascading down as she does so. Paul Verhoven thought the same.

Anyway, back to the film. The supporting cast is excellent, and the action is non stop. With the uncut version, the violence is definitely upped, especially within the first half hour - Murphy's "death" and ED209's unfortunate debut involving Mr Kenny are unflinchingly visceral. Little else changes, except for more violence, but it does complete Paul's wonderful vision of a corrupt business empire which allows a city to slide into the 7th level of hell, simply so they can build their precious Delta City. ED209's debut is dealt with by stop motion wizard Phil Tippit, and the film has dated well.

Needless to say, it's down to Robocop to save the day (and the Company President) from the evil Vice President, Dick Jones. With great acting from everyone involved - especially lunatic Clarrence Bodiker - this is the best of all three, and a Cult Classic which would later have references to it in the 90's with hit comedy, "Spaced."

Now, this review is supposed to be based on all three, so I'd better get a move on...

Robocop 2 is a darker view, directed by Empire Strikes Back Director, Irvin Krishner, it's a much more sombre, darker sequal and suffers from some awful special effects and looks older than its predocessor. It follows the continuing exploits of OCP trying to build Delta City and Cain, a notorious drug dealer, dealing in the incredibly addictive narcotic Nuke. It's nowhere near as good as the first film, but does have its high points.

Robocop 3 is a terrible end to the triology. It suffers from awful acting, a lack of plot, characters you don't care about and isn't really watchable at all.

This boxset is still worth owning though for the first film alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic cyborg action, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This set includes all three of the Robocop films and while the first one is easily the best of the trilogy, the other two are good in their own way.

The first Robocop film is a classic Eighties Sci-Fi film with a nice mixture of gore, action and humour. The film includes some classic scenes and some very good special effects for the time. The story is also reasonably good as well with some nice sentimental bits every now and again as well. Definitely a five star film.

The second film is pretty much more of the same but this time with Robocop under threat of replacement by a new model. This film, while still good, probably isn't as good as the original film and does have a tendency to lean more towards the humorous side, although not as much as the third film. The film still has a lot going for it though and I would say I would give it four maybe four and a half stars.

The third and final film in this set is easily the worst and is also the least gory and action packed of the series. The film could have been good and did have some nice ideas but the execution was poor and a couple of the new characters introduced were definitely annoying. There also seems to have been an attempt to make the film a bit more kid friendly, which is never a good thing for a franchise. I think I would be generous and give the film three and a half to four stars as it does at least try.

Overall the Robocop Trilogy contains one great film, one good film and one mediocre film but they are all worth watching as they are nonetheless very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kleine Info für deutsche Käufer zu den Audio Optionen, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diese Blue-rays enhalten folgende Audio Optionen:
Robocop 1: keine deutsche Tonspur, English und weitere, ungeschnitten
Robocop 2: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten
Robocop 3: deutsche Tonspur, ungeschnitten

Ich hoffe, ich konnte damit helfen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RoboCop Trilogy [DVD]
RoboCop Trilogy [DVD] by Irvin Kershner (DVD - 2002)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews