Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to hit the spot for young ladies who like pink - a must for pre-teen girls
Although the original triple Oscar nominated Walt Disney classic animation film dates from 1950, this 'sequel' Cinderalla II is a `straight to video' release from 2001. The original Cinderella is naturally in a different league to Cinderella II, having a particularly dark Stepmother and in comparison is a visual treat. It's not unlike Disney's Snow White, mixing humour...
Published on 13 April 2008 by Charlie-CJ

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the kids
Following on from the classic story, Cinders 2 is less one film, more a series of separate cartoons reuniting the characters of the first film, spun together with a thread of the fairy godmother reminiscing with the mice.

This is a textbook Disney straight-to-video sequel. With saccharine sentiments and deficiency of villains, it cashes in on an established,...
Published on 26 April 2006 by riteofspring


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to hit the spot for young ladies who like pink - a must for pre-teen girls, 13 April 2008
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Although the original triple Oscar nominated Walt Disney classic animation film dates from 1950, this 'sequel' Cinderalla II is a `straight to video' release from 2001. The original Cinderella is naturally in a different league to Cinderella II, having a particularly dark Stepmother and in comparison is a visual treat. It's not unlike Disney's Snow White, mixing humour and songs one minute with dastardly deeds the next. In many scene's the stepmother's cat [Lucifer] becomes the villain in proxy, made more menacing as Cinderella's friends are mainly mice and birds.

My daughter, then 8, found the 50's classic a bit scary and much prefers this later frothier Cinderella II, which follows Cinders naive attempts to be a dutiful wife and all round Princess of the People. In fact the simple stories in Cinderella II are quite entertaining, and it follows Cinders attempt 'fit in' at court and to help her stepsister find love. At 11 my daughter moved on to seasons of The worst witch, Charmed, Bewitched and the likes of the Cadet Kelly teen movies, but to be honest she has probably just watched Cinderella I and II to death. Deep down I'm sure she still really loves the 'I'm a little princess' and 'Some day my prince will come' romanticism of these movies. Originally we only had the VHS version of this film, so this Special Edition DVD was a welcome step up in image quality.

There is a now a third 'straight to video' instalment in the Disney Cinderella series called 'Cinderella III: A twist in time' which my daughter (now 13) has quite enjoyed watching a couple of times, and the wicked stepmother is still as bovine as ever - this 'film' is also available on DVD. Of the three, this Cinderella II is still my daughters firm favourite [and she still watches all of them]. You can buy a Cinderella [1950] Special Edition set, where you also get a few fun extras on a separate DVD. In this set you get just the movie & extras on a single DVD, plus the usual few adverts for other Disney films. Another option is the combined `Cinderella [Classic]' and `Cinderella II - Dreams come true' triple DVD set that apparently adds in a similar extras DVD - but it may be cheaper to buy these three DVDs as the two separate Special Edition sets. Cinderella III - Twist in time is only available on its own at the moment.

Personally I prefer the classic 50's original Cinderella (which I saw at the cinema as a child in the 60's), but certainly I found this Cinders II watchable as well - it has a certain charm (but it's not quite up to the standard of Barbie's Nutcracker, Rapunzel or Swan Lake). So recommended as a very good buy for any preteen girl who likes Barbie and Pink (probably from 4 up). My son (now 9) has sat through these Cinderella movies once or twice in sister's bedroom when younger, but definitely prefers the likes of the Fantastic Four and Sky High (or the PS2/Wii).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the kids, 26 April 2006
Following on from the classic story, Cinders 2 is less one film, more a series of separate cartoons reuniting the characters of the first film, spun together with a thread of the fairy godmother reminiscing with the mice.

This is a textbook Disney straight-to-video sequel. With saccharine sentiments and deficiency of villains, it cashes in on an established, classic franchise, surviving on an injection of just enough enthusiasm to bear the Disney name. The animation is good enough, the music is good enough, and the plots are thin but mildly distracting. A few extras are thrown in as a token of goodwill.

If you have a young person in your household who is into the Disney princesses then this will prove a good buy as it has been for our three-year-old daughter. This is one to keep the kids quiet, as opposed to entertain the whole family.

It is assumed if you are considering this as a purchase that you already own the original film. In the unlikely scenario that you do not, then from a monetary perspective consider the box set containing both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a poor sequel, 15 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
Not the best disney film and to be honest it's a bit of a disappointment after the fantastic 1st Cinderella film. There's not much of a story line and the film is broken up into a few short stories. However the kids will probably enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good choice, 24 Nov. 2003
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose my summary of this DVD film would be; "not as good as the original Cinderella, but very good".
I have a five-year-old daughter who loves this film like no other. The story keeps her entertained, the DVD interactive games amuse her for a good long while and she enjoys the read-along section too. For those raining English winter days, this is some of the best money I ever spent.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella 2, 21 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
I have always loved the Cindrella story so i thought that i would see what cindella 2 was about. I found a good dvd with 3 lovely stories on it. Nice to see what happens after happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant follow on from the original!!!!, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
I always tend to be disappointed by the follow on dvd's, but this is absolutely fantastic. A feel good film, with plenty of humour, and you even see a softer side to Anastasia, one of the ugly sisters.

My 3 year old has watched this film over and over, and much prefers this to the original, as she finds the step-mother too scary in Cinderella one.

A fab purchase that i would highly recommend. I can't believe the negative comments. I guess these people have lost the love for disney :(

Buy, buy, buy... you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cinderella 2: dreams DO come true, 13 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
Although it's no where near the quality of the original masterpiece, it's still an enjoyable affair for all. The film comprises of three stories.
the first: cinderella is assigned to be the royal hostess at the ball, everything goes wrong until she starts to believe in herself. A charming story. my second favouraite of the three.
the second: Is about jaq cinderella's mouse friend becomes human after the fairy godmother overhears his wish. this is my least favouraite story. it's not bad it's just not the best of the three.Again learning to believe in yourself is the moral.
the third and final story is my favouraite. because it includes all of the original characters and it's very heartwarming and romantic. in this story anastasia cinderella's formal evil stepsister falls in love with the baker. lady Tremain (stepmother) forbids anastasia from seeing the baker because he is beneth them. but with a little help from Cinderella and belief in herself Anastasia finds love and dreams come true.
The whole moral of the movie is to believe in yourself which is a good message for children.Which the movie is primarily aimed at.
Worth buying to add to your disney collection. They thankfully don't ruin the original in anyway.
The DVD itself includes flawless picture.
Bonus featurette on making the music.
A music video called put it together. ( which my 9 year sister loves!)
Interactive games and a storybook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped for!, 14 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge Disney fan and since Cinderella is my favorite animated movie ever, I wanted my little 3-year-old girl to have the sequel so that we can enjoy it together. Unfortunately not only that I did not like the story but the animation was very bad, too. It has somewhat discrased the original movie and I cannot see the characters in the same light any more. I wish that I didn't have to say this, but it looks almost as if Disney was trying to get some quick cash without much effort and that definitely is not what Disney is (or should be) about. If they could only make a remake of this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cute sequel, 7 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
read the reviews on wikipedia and can't believe how much hatred it got! obviously it's no where near as good as the 1950's movie but it's a nice movie to make you feel all happy. my dad bought me this when i was a kid and back then i thought it was a cute movie and it's still a good watch 10 years later!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for my Item i really enjoy this DVD it is full of fun and happness ..., 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Miss H. Dodd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you for my Item i really enjoy this DVD it is full of fun and happness this DVD is worth buying for all age's This DVD will make your Dream Come True if you love this DVD it will make your Dream Come True to go for it it is really worth buying I love it and i know you will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD]
Cinderella II: Dreams Come True [DVD] by Darrell Rooney (DVD - 2002)
£18.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews