Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Successful transition from stage to screen, 6 Feb 2002
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Wonderfully warm and witty, 'Play It Again Sam' is sure to endear the neurotic, bumbling Allan Felix to even the hardest of hearts.
Woody Allen is as watchable as ever and steals all the best lines from a sparkling script. However, Diane Keaton is his perfect foil and their chemistry is as lucid as ever. Tony Roberts and Jerry Lacy, wittily capturing Bogart's laconic nuances, provide stoic support.
This isn't perhaps one of Woody's most complete films but it's certainly one of the funniest and has moments of surprising tenderness.
After your first viewing, you'll be dying to 'play it again' !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a film!, 25 Feb 2011
By 
D. HORNE "davidhorne" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really good, gentle film. Woody Allen plays his part with enough psychological anxiety to make it funny but doesn't over do it which would have made him sound like a sad whinger.

It contains a great mix of snappy dialogue and some laugh-out-loud physical slapstick moments (especially when we see him go on his first blind date).

If you can get this film for about £[], surely you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Woody Allen film, 18 Oct 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It has almost been forgotten that this film was not directed by Woody Allen - but this makes no difference it is still one of his greatest films.
We start the film with Allan Felix (Allen) watching Casablanca in the Cinema and feebly impersonating Bogart as he leaves the Cinema. The film proceeds with an imaginary Bogart advising Allan on how to deal with Women. Allan as you would expect is pretty hopeless!
This film is consistently funny with the blind date scene being one of the greatest comedy scenes ever filmed.
The script (based on Woody Allens own stage play) is full of great dialog, as you would expect.
Diane Keaton is wonderful in her role, and Tony Roberts is very funny in his supporting role as the business man who leaves a telephone number so he can be contacted everywhere he goes.
"I'll be at 362-9296 for a while; then I'll be at 648-0024 for about fifteen minutes; then I'll be at 752-0420; and then I'll be home, at 621-4598"
Remember this film was made more than a decade before mobile phones even existed in brick form.
The film finishes with a great recreation of the end of Casablanca.
If you don't like Woody Allen then you probably won't like this. However, if you have any appreciation of Woody and haven't seen this, you should buy this DVD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Poise, 5 Dec 2002
By 
MR R M AP-HYWEL (Caerphilly, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of Woody's funniest. Showing all the effects and anxieties of being left by his wife, this is a movie on how not to rebuild your life after separation. In 'Play it Again Sam', Woody Allen plays to all of his artistic strengths, and produces a hilarious film crammed with one liners and classic scenes that you can play over and over. If you loved Annie Hall, Manhattan or any other of Woody Allen's offerings, you are sure to love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humphrey Allen, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt the funniest film I have ever seen (1st time in the 70's and many times since). It hits the spot with the lack of rapport between the wimp (Woody obviously) and the hard man (Humph). The dialog and the tamed slapstick bits meld perfectly. Must watch for fans of fine comedy.

Pete O'B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it again, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of both Casablanca(the movie) and Woody Allen, I bought this movie just for its name and an unforgettable dialogue/quote: Allan: What are you doing Saturday night? Museum Girl: Committing suicide. Allan: What about Friday night?
I just love that part. And the soundtrack is amazing too!
Absolute must for any Woody Allen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY I WILL ALWAYS LOVE PLAY IT AGAIN, SAM, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
This movie will never date. It is still fresh and enjoyable to watch from beginning to end.

Woody Allen and Diane Keaton are fabulous together; in fact all the actors are excellent.

Everyone should watch "Pay It Again, Sam" at least once a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Woody Allen, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Tough Chops (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great Woody Allen film. Not directed by Allen himself, but by Herbert Ross, who also directed some great films, (Wonderful Town, Funny Lady, The Sunshine Boys, to name but a few). The script is by Allen and has some of his best "little man" lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
"...it's from Casablanca and I've waited my whole life to say it!"
If ever Woody Allen said a truer word in any of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's looking at you kid., 18 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play It Again, Sam [DVD] (DVD)
Based on Woody Allens stage play of the same name, this was the first pairing of Woody Allen and Diane Keaton.

Woody plays a self confessed film buff who is a watcher rather than a doer. His wife leaves him and he finds himself alone and with low self esteem and zero confidence. Suddenly one evening, in his apartment, he has an hallucination and his hero Humphrey Bogard, as Sam Spade, shows up telling what he needs to do to get "Dames". Bogards regular appearances don't seem to be helping until his best fiends wife (Keaton) decides to set him up with some of her friends. These "dates" are a disaster and Allen realises he loves Keaton and that she may love him. I won't give any more of the story away but this love triange, to some, may sound familiar.

Allens growing relationship with Keaton and its affects on her husband keep the show going till the fabulous ending which any film buff will recognise in an instant.

Best line in the movie "I'm exited, I'm going to shower, dowse my self in cologne and brush all my teeth"

Play it again Sam is very funny, well made and has heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Play It Again, Sam [DVD]
Play It Again, Sam [DVD] by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews