Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely moving family drama
This movie profoundly affected me when I first saw it 6 years ago,when I was 10, and watching it today its impact remains undiminished.
In the wrong hands, this could so easily have become yet another dreary family drama in the TV Movie of the Week tradition, but first-time director Robert Redford skillfully avoids all the cliches. His restrained direction ensures...
Published on 26 Jan 2004 by Burjiz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ordinary people
quite hard going for an oscar winner. Good performance by Timothy Hutton. Not sure why he only won best supporting actor. He was the main charachter, and in the film far more than Mary Tyler Moore.
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Mr Geoffrey L Blick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie Loved it, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent movie Loved it. Watched it when I was 7 years old (ehem not too long ago ish) and I remember thinking even then: Conrad, you're lucky to have a mom, don't get so beat up if she hates you; kak happens; take the French Toast and eat it - it tastes nice and you have a lovely lovely house xo Still an excellent movie in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NEVER FORGOTTEN FILM, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this movie when it first appeared and have always remembered the brilliant acting of all three leading roles. It has always been remembered as one of the finest films ever, the storyline is sad but true to real life when tragedy hits..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
Great performances by the whole cast but particularly Timothy Bottoms and Mary Tyler Moore A film about a family bereavement and the guilt and blame that follows. It has now, a very 70's early 1980's feel but don't be put off. Robert Redford provides an accurate and compelling account of a young man struggling to through off the shadow of his favoured brothers' untimely death.Worth a place in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive film, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
I was very moved and impressed by the themes, honesty, acting and directing of this film. It was recommended to me by my counselling supervisor and is very interesting for anyone working with clients, patients, friends or relatives affected by loss. It is about a family in the aftermath of the death of one of their young adult sons particularly how the surviving brother is affected. A heavy theme but impressively handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking for this film for a long time. Very good purchase. Matched perfectly my expectations. Arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very good film, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film I saw a long time ago and it was excellent to be able to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Tina A. Day "dvd" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
my best firm ever i could nether find it just looking though and there it was will i have watch 4 times now thanks again tina m bradley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
saw this film years ago and it has stayed with me as a great film. Wanted to pass it on so it will be loved again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary People/Extraordinary Directorial Debut, 10 Sep 2012
By 
R. M. Smithson "Russ" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
This film was Robert Redford's first film as a director and awesome it was too....won best film Oscar that year along with 3 other Oscars...not too shabby a start. Extraordinary work by the amazing cast of actors too...Mary Tyler Moore, Donald Sutherland, Tim Hutton, Judd Hirsch and Elizabeth McGovern playing a small part - she is now the chataleine at Downton Abbey!!!! Cora, Lady Grantham!!!! The intensity of the actors' performances just lends to the marvellous and very touching story about a teenage boy struggling with survivor guilt after his brother drowns when they are involved in a boating accident, and knowing that Bucky his bro, was the favourite of his very emotionally cold mother played by an excellent and surprising (considering she was well known as a comedy actress) Tyler Moore. Sutherland's understated, yet intense role as the Father struggling to bridge the divide between them is heart rending and stupendous, as is Judd Hirsch's role as a pyschiatrist helping Tim Hutton's character to cope with his attempted suicide, and life in general at home and at school. The scene where Tim's charcter breaks down and Judd Hirsch's character hugs him and tels him he's his friend, well I just wept buckets. First saw this film in the 80s, so glad I got it off Amazon for under £3....bestest bargain!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORDINARY PEOPLE, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordinary People [DVD] (DVD)
This is a true masterpiece, a quality we have come to expect from the actor/director Robert Redford,this being his debut film and the beginning of a blazing trail.

This complex and intense subject matter was certainly intelligently crafted and brought to life in the safest of hands.A deeply moving film ,sensitively observed and thorough to the very last detail.There is a perfect order at work here. An awareness of being lulled into a false sense of security initially, gently introduced to the characters and their more than comfortable environment and lifestyle yet gradually understanding their personal traits, family and social interactions along with their failings, vulnerabilities, desires, realizations and simply their humanity.It is so involved yet the superb directorship gave it an ease and an almost effortless flow keeping us in the palm of his hand remaining informed and immersed but allowing the viewer to react,respond and importantly to think as these situations were presented.Each character in the film,no matter how brief,provoked an emotional response, sometimes raw, often analytical.The performance of the actors equalled the brilliance of the film and direction, highly convincing,again an ease and subtle confidence in acting style, which Robert Redford himself possesses in his screen roles.

Inspite of the genre of the film,elements of quiet humour and intimacies can be found between the layers also there is a sense of continuation and the inevitable human condition to reinvent and reassess ourselves ultimately giving a feeling of victory.

"Pachelbel's Canon in D", a hauntingly beautiful piece of music added to the whole, pleasingly this was not over used which almost left a desire to hear more.It was used sparingly in diverse ways retaining interest but cleverly and appropriately placed.This music lends itself to different treatments whether instruments or voices, this was done to great effect,something else to intrigue the mind.

I was delighted to be able attend the Sundance Film Festival in the London venue this Spring
where Robert Redford and guests discussed the role of music in film. "Pachelbel Canon in D" was one of the pieces he chose to explain, his first experiences of it and the reasoning why it was important for the inclusion in the film.

This prompted me to buy a copy of the DVD of "Ordinary People" as a gift for the person who accompanied me to the event and of course to refresh my memory of it too.It really has stood the test of time and surely is one of todays classics. It's as fresh today as when it was first released,one to collect for your archive.

Robert Redford has an incredible facility for detail. This level of observation gives the important touch of authenticity and durability to his films giving depth not only to the
characters but also to the impact of the story. Through his artistry he is able to thrill audiences with magical beauty via the attention given to the period, costume, lighting, sound and photography.Detail too in researching the history, getting the story right and keeping the storyline fresh and vibrant

Other personal favourites interesting to watch are "Quiz Game", "All the Presidents Men" for some of the reasons of the former and also "The Horse Whisperer".

The latter has amazing detail, for example a scene where his character Tom is feeling despondent retires to his room nothing is spoken,but the room itself tells the story , the camera angles, the props,the lighting,the timing ,the piece of music played on the old deck and when sitting on an old leather chair just the sound of the creaking leather tells you of the mood of that particular moment and of the viewpoint of his past life and his current loneliness,it's so convincing I can smell the leather. These audio/ visual "promptings" speak a myriad words, it's a very sensitive and clever way to convey meaning. His films are packed with this kind of detail and imagery as a result its possible to discover further levels in subsequent viewings.

Thanks for reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ordinary People [DVD]
Ordinary People [DVD] by Robert Redford (DVD - 2002)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews