Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dr. Frye," says Dr. Hendron, "notice the position of these new bodies." "Yes," says Dr. Frye, "yes, I see."
There was a time, long, long ago, when teachers taught their young students to crouch under their desks for protection if the Russians lobbed nuclear bombs into the town square. There was a time when kids would look at the marvelously detailed galactic paintings by Chesley Bonestell and rush to read more science fiction stories. There was a time when the human hand, not...
Published on 19 April 2009 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For its time a tremendous film.
I try to remember this:presently Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] is celebrating its beginnings.In the 1960's some children would hide behind the sofa while watching the early episodes,but kids of today wouldn't be phased by any of that now even when watching the latest series with all the stunning cgi's used.

Succeeding...
Published 9 months ago by robert stirling


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of the World is nigh!!!, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
When another planet is found to be on a collision course with Earth, our only hope is being picked to escape to another world by the use of special Rockets constructed to transport the lucky ones to populate a new planet

Great special effects for the time and a decent story told that was more than likely the inspiration for a few modern tales. Great stuff and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Waste anything except TIME. Time is our shortest material!", 27 May 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This 1951 SF film shows of course its age, but is still a darn good watch! Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

A new star is discovered near our solar system - scientists call it Bellus. It appears soon that Bellus is on a collision course, approaching fast - VERY FAST! Some amongst scientific community believe it can pass near Earth, close enough to burn all life on our planet - and those are actually the optimists... Then, a planet orbiting this new star is discovered - scientists call it Zyra. It appears soon, that Zyra may have a breathable atmosphere and the conditions on its surface allow existence of liquid water... I will say no more about the story.

This film is based on a popular SF novel written in 1933 and therefore is definitely NOT linked to any kind of Cold War scares, unlike what some critics wrote back in the 50s. Far from being a parabol of nuclear war, both the book and the film are in fact SF variations on the theme of Deluge and Noah's Ark...

This review will be short, because I really don't want to give away too much - so let me just say, that this film indeed is aged and yes, the plot has many holes, but it still remains a nice watch and of course a pretty powerful story, with the ending being particularly good.

Actors are mostly forgotten today, even if both Richard Derr and Barbara Rush had a long and rather succesfull career, mostly on TV - she also played the main female character in another SF classic from 50s, "It came from Outer Space" (1953). Veteran specialists of second roles, Larry Keating and John Hoyt are in fact even more important in this film than actors who are in principle cast in leading roles.

A sequel was planned, to be based on the second part of the book, "After Worlds Collide", but ultimately the project was abandoned. A remake of this film was considered also already for some time, but for the moment it seems also that all those plans were shelved. And it may be for the better, because this film, with all its weaknesses, still packs some punch and is still a darn good watch. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For its time a tremendous film., 8 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
I try to remember this:presently Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] is celebrating its beginnings.In the 1960's some children would hide behind the sofa while watching the early episodes,but kids of today wouldn't be phased by any of that now even when watching the latest series with all the stunning cgi's used.

Succeeding generations have been exposed to tv series and computer games that have taken away that fear factor and wonderment from us but to the generations watching WWC back in the 1950's this was amazingly novel and incredible.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
Worth getting if you have not seen before (or even if you have). Don't expect modern effects as this is
more to do with story, but good for their time. If you like other 50s type sci-fi then don't miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Science Fiction !, 20 Aug 2011
By 
David McDonald (Kirkcaldy in Fife .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This 1951 classic science fiction epic was produced by legendary special effects genius George Pal and I believe it won an Oscar for its spectacular special effects . A runaway star is on a collision course with planet Earth and the government refuses to listen to scientists who say that we must prepare for any adverse developments . Rich industrialists finance the construction of a huge spaceship which will carry a limited number of people to a newly discovered planet so the human race can start to build a new civilisation . As the end of the world draws ever so near the balance between human and planetry drama is excellently maintained as the movie builds to its fascinating unforgettable climax .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what it there's no tomorrow, 29 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
this a great film by the ledgendary producer george pal,with the way our climate is changing, someday perhaps we will face something akin to the dilemma faced by the characters in the film, nice story clearly done on a budget, but done with flair and imagination, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sci-fi film's, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
I ordered Forbidden Planet, When World's Collide, This Island Earth. three of I think the best Sci-fi film's ever made.1956,1951,1955.the special effect's on these film's are brilliant remember these were made in the fiftie's ,so dont knock until you buy them and if you agree with me then you to have a love of of classic film's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Worlds Collide, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This film, to me, seems to be something very plausible.

For the time in America, when religion and christianity, were very much the height of things, this film has elements of religion and blasphemy in them. The end of the world came and nobody in the film aksed about god.

The film itself is essentially the typical America 1950s sci-fi although with a downbeat theme all the way through because of the end of the world and the mass destruction of the human race.

This film is scheduled to be remade in 2012 by The Mummy creator Stephen Sommers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite classic, 27 Dec 2009
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is a favourite of classic 1950's Sci-fi, much better in my opinion than the souless offerings made today.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic sci-fi...., 9 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] (DVD)
This is indeed classic sci-fi and well scripted. The issues dealing with "who stays, who goes" are not badly made. However, as stated elsewhere the money must have run out just before the final scene was prepared, the canvas painting foreign planet looks like a painting. Worse than an early 80s episode of Dr Who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951]
When Worlds Collide [DVD] [1951] by Rudolph Maté (DVD - 2002)
£8.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews