Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - pity they dont make more like these
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was hilarious, well acted and had a good story. The chemistry between Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon is a joy to behold. I've watched it over and over again and it still makes me laugh. It is a very underated movie and takes some beating in enthrallment factor.
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau reluctantly meet up again after many...
Published on 26 Sep 2002 by daisyanne

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This comparison is odious
The old saying is that comparisons are odious. I wouldn't necessarily expect every production featuring popular artistes to measure up exactly to their previous efforts, but in the case of 'The Odd Couple 2' I would make an exception. The original 'Odd Couple' from all those years ago set high standards, almost every line was a gem, it was crafted like a work of art, was...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Allan Broadfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - pity they dont make more like these, 26 Sep 2002
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was hilarious, well acted and had a good story. The chemistry between Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon is a joy to behold. I've watched it over and over again and it still makes me laugh. It is a very underated movie and takes some beating in enthrallment factor.
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau reluctantly meet up again after many years apart to attend the wedding of their respective son and daughter. A hilarius journey ensues with the old enemies getting lost, losing Jack Lemmon's suitcase and being arrested before they finally reach their destination.
It is full of little sub plots which make for an extremely entertaining film. This is a definite buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Odd Couple it ain't, but it's still Lemmon and Matthau., 5 May 2009
By 
C. JONES "CJ" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The obvious point is, it's not a patch on the original. Like most sequels, it capitalises on the original that spawned it, and in most cases I would agree that this isn't how the best films are made.

Having said that, Lemmon and Matthau stand as one of the great double-acts in cinema history, for my money in the same league as Laurel and Hardy, and I'd rather watch their second-best than most of today's equivalents at the top of their game.

It's true, forget the original and this is just a run-of-the-mill road movie,except there are some very good lines and enough laughs to keep you entertained through the course of it.

If you remember L & M, you won't need persuading. If you don't, this is just a B-movie that punches a little above its weight - good fun for a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This comparison is odious, 28 May 2011
By 
Allan Broadfield (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The old saying is that comparisons are odious. I wouldn't necessarily expect every production featuring popular artistes to measure up exactly to their previous efforts, but in the case of 'The Odd Couple 2' I would make an exception. The original 'Odd Couple' from all those years ago set high standards, almost every line was a gem, it was crafted like a work of art, was a big hit and spawned a TV series. The prospect of a sequel, written by the same writer, and featuring the same actors, was tantalizing. The result was a shambles in comparison, as if Neil Simon had just scribbled it out on the back of an envelope. It could pass ok as an afternoon TV movie.
I can't understand why there are so many good reviews. Perhaps the other reviewers weren't making the connection with the original, but I can't see it that way, it is, after all called no.2 for a reason. It's just a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Tallulah (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
How I wish I hadn't bought this film. The Odd Couple originally was a classic full of witty lines written by Neil Simon brought to life with marvellous acting by Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau. I laughed from beginning to end.

Although the script of TOC II was by the same writer, the plot was predictable and not that funny, but by far the worst of it all was watching Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau thirty years older, a sight I would never want to see again, when they could barely bumble through the film without support, with their comic timing gone and the acting poor.

Thank goodness for their old films, at least we can still admire what they once were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a team, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. R. Cahill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
a great comedy with two great actors, a wonderful script, even better than the first. so many one liners i laughed for ages, two masters at work, shame they're not with us any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemmon and Matthau in pure comedy gold, 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I expected to be disappointed with this follow-up to the original "The Odd Couple" made in 1967 but am delighted to report that 30 years later, this film had everything and more, in fact much more than any other comedy film made in the last few decades. These guys you can always trust to give you superb performances and are so good at what they do, I can imagine the director just sitting back in his chair and laughing at what Lemmon and Matthau can create between themselves without the need for direction, such is their genius. I was shocked however, at least initially, at Jack Lemmon's character Felix using the F word in the film. However, when you look at his character from the original film and imagine that 30 years on he will be even more cantankerous than that, it is plausible that Felix would use the word. Hilarious from start to finish, I can't recommend this film highly enough. If you don't have the original, buy that and see it before looking at this, you will love both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SO, SO CLOSE!, 1 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Odd Couple (the first one), has to be, in my book, and countless others too, the funniest film ever made. So, naturally, I bought the 2nd one.
Walter Matthau couldn't be anything but funny. He only has to be there to be funny and The Odd Couple 2 is no exception. He is brilliant.
But Jack Lemmon?
And Neil Simon?
Well, lets face it, Jack Lemmon has grown old ungracefully. He has a whole new array of virgin white teeth which makes him look unusually youthful around the lower jaw. This doesn't fit in with the rest of him. He is visibly not at ease making a film about being in one's dotage; maybe he prefers to be remembered as the sprightly Daphne in Some Like It Hot and the fabulously neurotic Felix in The Odd Couple 1.
And Neil Simon? Well, he has made the COLOSSAL mistake of writing into Felix's script the F word on 2 occasions. This is so totally out of place that it literally beggars belief how Simon could even come close to thinking that swearing was necessary. It goes a very miserable way to almost totally ruining the film.
Some of the old magic was there but you had to struggle to see it in the script and in in Lemmon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A highly disappointing and sorry sequel to a true classic, 30 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am just astonished at the rave reviews of other people for this film!! As much as I absolutely loved Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau and the classic original film, "The Odd Couple", which is one of my personal top-ten all-time favourite films, I don't like this would-be sequel. After adoring the original film for years, I rejoiced when I learned there was to be a sequel. However, they really should not have even bothered. What a shameful waste of the combined talents of Lemmon and Matthau!! This film just absolutely and completely lacks everything that made the original so wonderful. The original classic was suitable for all audiences, had no strong four-letter words or any other objectionable content. This film is peppered throughout with profanity that was unknown in the original film. It just goes to prove that you don't need it in order to make a great and truly wonderful film. Even the combined dynamic chemistry of the two great leads cannot overcome a poor script. After thirty years of waiting for a sequel, couldn't they have given us a better film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 May 2014
By 
J. R. Moss (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Classic film one should see as part of one"s education. Funny and now very revealing as to what must have seemed normal when the film was made. Well-acted, seems a bit staged to the modern eye. But go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Odd Couple 2, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odd Couple 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as the first film, but still amusing. Mathau & Lemon are still great to watch. Very funny. Timing is perfect. A fast and prompt service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odd Couple 2 [DVD]
Odd Couple 2 [DVD] by Howard Deutch (DVD - 2002)
£27.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews