Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film of all time
I may have been born 8 years after this film was first released but that doesn't stop it being my favourite film of all time. Maybe the fact technically I am Jewish, but not practising makes me appreciate this type of humour even more.

This film tells the story of two divorcees Felix (Jack Lemmon) and Oscar (Walter Matthau). Felix splits from his wife and...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Darryl Curtis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Portuguese dubbed language or subtitles
Website advertised this DVD as having dubbed language of Portuguese and Portuguese subtitles. Unfortunately DVD didn't have either. Such a shame as this is a brilliant film.
Published 17 months ago by Norfolk UK Portuguese speaking...


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film of all time, 14 July 2006
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I may have been born 8 years after this film was first released but that doesn't stop it being my favourite film of all time. Maybe the fact technically I am Jewish, but not practising makes me appreciate this type of humour even more.

This film tells the story of two divorcees Felix (Jack Lemmon) and Oscar (Walter Matthau). Felix splits from his wife and moves in with Oscar (Walter Matthau), and the two who initially think it is a match made in heaven soon realise that their opposing charcters don't quite suit living together. A lesson for friends out there who are also considering such a move. Felix is obsesional about all household matters. Felix is a little more "relaxed" about such matters.

The biggest shock in some ways is for the friends who appear for their weekly card game, and rather than "milk so old, it's standing in the fridge without a bottle" or "Green sandwiches which are either very new cheese or very old meat". They get sandwhiches to order, and mats for their beers. Smoking is also banned..... resulting in a unhappy friends claiming "poker was not meant to be played this way"

For me Matthau steals the show, with his blend of dead-pan humour, sarcasm and frustration, and I think that anyone who like Seinfeld, or Curb your Enthusiasm MUST.... BEG, BORROW, STEAL or even BUY this DVD.

It is a Classic that has not aged at all. It remains as funny today as they day it was released. Quite simply BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect partnership, 6 Jan 2007
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Oscar (Walter Mattheau) is a sports journalist and slob who lives happily in his messy apartment until he invites his friend Felix (who has just been dumped by his wife)to stay with him. Felix swiftly drives Oscar mad with his obsessive cleaning and tidying, and he even manages to ruin their weekly poker game. The last straw comes when Felix ruins the romantic liaison that Oscar has planned for them with their neighbours the Pigeon sisters.

This is a very funny film, Walter Mattheau and Jack Lemmon are both hilarious, and the supporting players all have their moments too. I love this film not just because it is very funny, but also because it reminds me of my husband and I (him being Felix and me Oscar).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST GENIUS, 16 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
What is there to say? I may be the only person alive who hadn't already seen this picture. I'm trying to think how if would have been if it were an English film, and the effort has worn me out. It couldn't work. It's just so wonderfully right as it is.
I put the subtitles on so as not to miss a syllable of the dialogue. It is going on the shelf next to "Some Like it Hot", and will come out whenever life gets a little stale, or once a week, whichever comes first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite movies, 4 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This is so funny it's not true. The lines are amazing and so is the acting, with Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau both giving of their finest. This made me laugh like nobody's business when I was 12, and 20 years later it still does. Fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy - Side splitting fun!, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
If you are a fan of the old comedians then this is the film for you. Good clean fun! From the very start Lemmon will have you in stitches playing the neurotic Felix Unger who moves in with laid back sports reporter Oscar Madison (the great Walter Matthau) after his wife throws him out. With his constant whining (and dusting)he finally drives Oscar crazy.
This comedy duo work so perfectly together that they have you convinced that they really are Oscar and Felix.
A film you will want to watch over and over again.
If you like this film check out The Odd Couple 2 (every bit as funny as the first only 30 years later) and Out to Sea. Comedy has truly lost two of its greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars new 2 disc centennial edition, 7 July 2009
By 
Just to let you know about the new extras on this 2 disc edition .Disc 1 has a commentary from the sons of jack lemmon and walter matthau.Disc 2 has 5 featurettes "in the beginning"(17mins),"inside the odd couple"(19mins),"memories from the set"(10mins),"matthau and lemmon"(10mins)and"a classic"(3mins) also trailer and galleries.I have not had a chance to watch these yet so i do not know who is involved or how good they are.Seems like a decent package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, to be a Lemmon or a Matthau..., 24 Jun 2005
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Having acted in the stage version of Neil Simon's play, I feel able to appreciate first hand the craft of the play and in particular the superb comic timing of Messrs Lemmon and Matthau. What a shame neither are with us, but we do have their films as a fitting tribute.
The two actors in question peel the layers of the onion with finesse I as an amateur performer could only dream of. It's not that difficult to deliver these joyful words and get a laugh, but to make the whole relationship hang together in bitter-sweet disharmony and still get laughs along the way requires immense skill, the kind you get from a lifetime of performing.
Viewers with keen memories will of course remember that this film spawned a long-running TV sitcom spinoff, second only to MASH in the popularity stakes. It's a credit to Simon that his characters have the power to endure and be as relevant today as they were in the 60s. Perhaps Oscar and his mates would be playing Internet poker these days, but their lifestyles would be little different, one suspects. Plus ca change, plus c'est le meme chose!
In short, this is a joy from beginning to end, and I thoroughly recommend it to you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd Couple. 5 stars comedy, 1 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
In this classic Neil Simon comedy Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau give sunning performances as Felix and Oscar, Two divorced men, who room together in New York City - one a slobby sportswriter, and other compulsively over neat.
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau's went on to make, 12 Films togeather (this was there second, and best!)There chemistry and good performances are reason why this is a light hearted comedy Classic. It's well directed, and the jokes are fantasicly timed.
As funny the first time you see it as the hundredth, Five Star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy Film Ever, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Anything with these two great actors, Lemmon and Matthau, is worth watching... and again and again. I agree with what has been posted on the other reviews here so I will keep mine short. Lemmon is my favourite comedy actor by far, and Matthau is not far behind. The comic timing and acting is genius in a film that is brilliantly scripted by Neil Simon. This is a film I usually play late on Christmas night once I've called it a day, it's the kind of film that you can rely on to keep you in a good mood. Btw, once you get the theme tune in your head you will be humming it in your head for the next couple of days.

This is worth buying from Amazon simply because there are no better film made today of this genre, and, it's far cheaper than going to the cinema to watch far inferior films. Treat yourselves to this gem of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 15 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Odd Couple [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A genuinely funny film, superb script, and beautifully acted by all concerned.I feel that a special mention must be made of Walter Mathau. Jack Lemmon too is a delight,. Far better than the incredibly overated "Some Like It Hot".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967]
The Odd Couple [DVD] [1967] by Gene Saks (DVD - 2002)
3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews