Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edge of the seat movie
This is the first film I have seen that is shot in 'real time'.
This makes you all the more aware of the situation you find the main character in.
Johnny Depp plays an average guy whose daughter is kidnapped by two corrupt police officers.They then blackmail him into shooting a complete stranger or they will kill his little girl.Christopher Walken is his usual...
Published on 12 Dec 2003 by Sue Lewendon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad All Over
4.3 out of 5 stars ! ?
I bought this on the strength of Walken, Depp and the review score.
Oh what a fool I have been.
Depp is boring. The story is pathetic. The direction is amateurish. The script is feeble.
Now that I think about it, I don't really like the cover of the DVD.
A right turkey.
Published 8 months ago by David Fuller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An edge of the seat movie, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is the first film I have seen that is shot in 'real time'.
This makes you all the more aware of the situation you find the main character in.
Johnny Depp plays an average guy whose daughter is kidnapped by two corrupt police officers.They then blackmail him into shooting a complete stranger or they will kill his little girl.Christopher Walken is his usual sadistic self here.I'm sure he was born to be bad!
The regular glances at the time keep you on the edge of your seat as you ponder how Depp is going to get out of this awful situation, if indeed he will.
I found this a real gem of a thriller and hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for thriller and Depp fans !!!, 11 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film stands on it's own whether you're just a general thriller fan or if you're a huge Johnny Depp fan.
The "real-time" aspect is really pushed by the makers of this film but you don't even notice it or think about it when you're watching the film - whether that's intentional or not is another matter !
The premise of the story is in another review so I won't add to that, but I will say it's the type of film where you really want to jump into your TV screen and help out Depp's character as almost right to the end of the film you just cannot think of any possible solution to his plight.
Any intelligent film fan KNOWS he'll resolve the situation (they always do!!!), but the film gets extremely tense as you convince yourself he won't get out of what he has to do.
Special praise for Christopher Walken, he really does make a fantastic baddy on this film and you feel like he is agrravating you as the viewer, not just Depp in the film.
Depp is also excellent, I'm a fan of his stranger works and wasn't sure how he'd fare in a more straight-laced role but it's a testament to his acting abilities that he is totally believable.
This is an almost unheard of film and one I have never seen broadcast on TV, I'm not even sure how it fared on the cinema.
Do yourself a favour and buy this - then be content in the knowledge that you've got yourself a gem that has been completely missed by the public en masse. It's not as if you can even argue with the price either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 9 out of 10 to be precise, 15 July 2006
By 
Jim Piper (Blandford Forum, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A film that will make you a Depp fan forever, add Christopher Walken who has Christopher Lee like talent for horror & a masterpiece is born. Sadly because of their brilliance the rest of the cast become almost irrelevant.

A split second introduction & off we go on a movie rollercoaster ride. Action packed, tense, & gripping to the end. True it's a theme that's been used before & yes there are a couple of "no way" moments but with so much action who cares.

Apart from being a crack marksman JD plays a very ordinary guy with no hidden superman qualities. Walken is a no nonsense leader of an assassination team. Both play their roles so realistacally you almost forget they are actors.

The lack of high tech gadgets & lunatic car chases makes this film that little bit special & with 95% of the action totally possible it's a MUST SEE thriller. The critics don't agree, the poor things are lost for words when a film isn't the biggest budget of all time, doesn't have a highly controversial script or can't claim to be the most special effect packed blockbuster ever.

We the public have a different view, we just want a cracking good motion picture we can say we are glad to have watched.

JimP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Gripping, 11 Feb 2006
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I loved this film and from the first five minutes I was hooked wanting to know how Johnny Depp was going to get himself out of the situation.
This film is shot in real time which gives it a sense of urgency which is exactly what you are supposed to feel. As the time ticks down you become acutely aware of how little time if left and I certainly couldn't think of what to do next.
I thought Johnny Depp was excellent as the terrified father and as always Christopher Walken was excellent as the badie.
There was nothing I could fault in this film and personally I think it's one of the best films I have seen in a long time, it's great when something really grips you. So many films tick along nicely but this one grabs you by the lapels and doesn't let go until the final, rollercoaster end. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 26 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
For all those 'critics' who think this film is rubbish they should seriously reconsider their occupation. This must be one of the best films i have ever seen, and to be honest it made a Johnny Depp fan out of me.
The story line has been explained in previous reviews so i wont go into that but the script, acting abilities and excellent use of 'real time' make it suspenseful and extremely realistic, almost as if you could actually walk into the movie and experience everything.
Johnny Depp and Christopher Walken both show their abilities as actors and portray their characters in the best possible way
this is possibly one of the most exciting storylines i have ever seen, i just cant say enough good things about this movie.
Johnny Depp fan or not this film is definatly a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I have only become a Johnny Depp fan since Pirates of the caribean, however my collection has more than made up for it since. This film for me rates as one of his best, when i read the synopsis i was a little unsure if i would like it so i left it on my shelf for several weeks before watching it, what a fool i was, i was rivetted for the whole of it's short running time (85 mins) Depp is excellent as always and Christopher Walken has made creepy bad guys into an artform.
When a film that you can pause whenever you want prevents you from doing so then you know its good, pardon my expression but i was bursting for the loo after watching this. EXCELLENT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly effective thriller, 25 Jan 2001
I saw this film a while ago now and to be honest wasn't expecting much from it, given that it went straight to video. However I actually found it to be a very competant and tense thriller.
The basic story is that Johnny Depp's character's daughter is kidnapped by bad guy Christopher Walken who threatens Depp that he will kill her unless he assassinates a Mayoral candidate in broad daylight. Thus Depp's character has to face the dilemna of whether he is to do as he has been told or attempt to get his daughter back.
Filmed in 'Real-Time', you feel every panick-stricken moment as Depp's character desperately struggles to decide what he should do. It is for this reason, that the film succeeds, as the level of tension created is at times immeasurably high and you feel as though you are in the film. Overall, a good thriller that is both feasible and tense...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A FILM, 26 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film is worth every penny!!
The use of real time and the story is great, i could easily watch this film once a month and not get bored a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick of Time, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Dont believe all the bad press about this film. This film is unique, you watch it as the film happens!! It is nail biting and gripping. Depp plays a father protecting his little daughter. This film must be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent action packed thriller, 19 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Starring Johnny Depp as Gene Watson, as an accountant that is one day taking his daughter to the train station.
But in a twist of fate, he is selected by two people that threaten him that if he does not kill a selected government official in 90 minutes then he will never see his daughter again.
As Gene tries to trick one of the strangers (played by Christopher Walken) and getting his daughter back, the stranger cuts him off at every turn, and leaves it to him to kill the government official before time runs out.
I like this film because it has an interesting feature added to it, which is what is referred to as 'real time', where the film moves in the exact time of how long Gene has to kill the governor, so we never miss a peice of the action.
But, don't be worried that because of 'real time' the film moves along slowly, because their is always something going on and this film is very enjoyable to watch and figure out what Gene has to do to save his daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996]
Nick Of Time [DVD] [1996] by John Badham (DVD - 2002)
10.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews