Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good collection of stomps from the swamps
I think the previous reviewer can't be that much of a music fan if they're surprised that a CD of Cajun music has some tracks in French! A cursory glance at the track listings ('Les Veuves De La Coulee' etc) might have given a bit of a hint.

I don't pretend to be any great authority on Cajun music but if you've heard one or two tracks and like the sound of it...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by mootch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cajun Classics
I bought this CD on the basis of an advert for 118,118 on commercial TV, expecting the tracks to be really good, however I was disappointed with my purchase, mainly due to the quality of the recordings. Cajun music is really for those who are already aware of the genre. You either like it or you don't, I'm afraid I fall into the latter. That said though I have at least...
Published 9 months ago by His Lordship.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good collection of stomps from the swamps, 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
I think the previous reviewer can't be that much of a music fan if they're surprised that a CD of Cajun music has some tracks in French! A cursory glance at the track listings ('Les Veuves De La Coulee' etc) might have given a bit of a hint.

I don't pretend to be any great authority on Cajun music but if you've heard one or two tracks and like the sound of it and want to find out more this CD is perfect as it includes a varied mix of different styles of tracks from slower waltzes to more up-tempo stomps, from such Cajun legends as the Balfa Brothers and Nathan Abshire.

To me it doesn't really matter whether you can understand the words - just sitback and let the warm, evocative sound of the Louisiana swamplands wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 118 118 Breakdown!, 11 Jan 2013
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
The collection of Cajun music from the Ace label lives up to its title "Cajun Classics" and there are many great tracks included here. Most of the tracks come from the sixties and seventies but there are also a couple from the fifties and the eighties. Cajun music originated with the French Arcadians (Cajuns) who moved from Canada to Louisiana bringing their music with them. Now part of Americana its French roots are obvious from the language and the accordion and fiddle based rhythms!

I was surprised when the current 118 118 advert used the music of Nolan Cormier and the LA Aces as its backing music, and that track - Hee-Haw Breakdown - is the final track on this collection. If you are looking for a good introduction to this style of music then this collection from Ace won't disappoint. An excellent mix of high-energy foot-tappers and ballads this will make you want to investigate this music further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This contains Hee-Haw Breakdown from the 118 118 advert., 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
At least Hee-Haw Breakdown by Nolan Cormier and The LA Aces, is not on Spotify last time I looked.
Every track is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try to keep your feet still, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Merlin (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Great feel good music. Who cares if the vocals are in French? You don't have to understand the words to get the sentiment. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cajun music, 15 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
This is an excellent cd,if you want some happy and feel alive music this is a great cd,I like country music ,and other music that off shoots from country like bluegrass,does what it says ,cajun kings at their very best,money well spent,I would rate this at 7 STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cajun Classics, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on the basis of an advert for 118,118 on commercial TV, expecting the tracks to be really good, however I was disappointed with my purchase, mainly due to the quality of the recordings. Cajun music is really for those who are already aware of the genre. You either like it or you don't, I'm afraid I fall into the latter. That said though I have at least heard the full version of the last track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foot stomping, head banging music, 19 Aug 2013
By 
J. Barrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Loved every track. Played loudly in the car makes my journey to and from work almost enjoyable.

Buying another soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Does what it says on the box, bought it for the 118 theme tune. The rest of it was Cajun - foot tappingly good. Yee hah and all that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Really in to Cajun music now, so much so that I mean to get more CDs of the artistes that are on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another foot tapper., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
A different genre of music to my normal listening material. This is very earthy and basic toe tapping music. recommended if you like something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best
Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews