Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good collection of stomps from the swamps
I think the previous reviewer can't be that much of a music fan if they're surprised that a CD of Cajun music has some tracks in French! A cursory glance at the track listings ('Les Veuves De La Coulee' etc) might have given a bit of a hint.

I don't pretend to be any great authority on Cajun music but if you've heard one or two tracks and like the sound of it...
Published on 26 Feb. 2007 by mootch

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
I have heard quite a bit of Cajun music and this album is very disappointing considering it is supposed to be the very best of Cajun music.
Published 10 months ago by Graham Eden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good collection of stomps from the swamps, 26 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
I think the previous reviewer can't be that much of a music fan if they're surprised that a CD of Cajun music has some tracks in French! A cursory glance at the track listings ('Les Veuves De La Coulee' etc) might have given a bit of a hint.

I don't pretend to be any great authority on Cajun music but if you've heard one or two tracks and like the sound of it and want to find out more this CD is perfect as it includes a varied mix of different styles of tracks from slower waltzes to more up-tempo stomps, from such Cajun legends as the Balfa Brothers and Nathan Abshire.

To me it doesn't really matter whether you can understand the words - just sitback and let the warm, evocative sound of the Louisiana swamplands wash over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 118 118 Breakdown!, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
The collection of Cajun music from the Ace label lives up to its title "Cajun Classics" and there are many great tracks included here. Most of the tracks come from the sixties and seventies but there are also a couple from the fifties and the eighties. Cajun music originated with the French Arcadians (Cajuns) who moved from Canada to Louisiana bringing their music with them. Now part of Americana its French roots are obvious from the language and the accordion and fiddle based rhythms!

I was surprised when the current 118 118 advert used the music of Nolan Cormier and the LA Aces as its backing music, and that track - Hee-Haw Breakdown - is the final track on this collection. If you are looking for a good introduction to this style of music then this collection from Ace won't disappoint. An excellent mix of high-energy foot-tappers and ballads this will make you want to investigate this music further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing cd, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. T. M. Redwood "flourbird" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Having never heard of cajun music before I am smitten, the tunes become so comfortable and easy to listen to, doesnt matter that they are in french, I just love this cd, BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try to keep your feet still, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
Merlin (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Great feel good music. Who cares if the vocals are in French? You don't have to understand the words to get the sentiment. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This contains Hee-Haw Breakdown from the 118 118 advert., 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
At least Hee-Haw Breakdown by Nolan Cormier and The LA Aces, is not on Spotify last time I looked.
Every track is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cajun music, 15 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
This is an excellent cd,if you want some happy and feel alive music this is a great cd,I like country music ,and other music that off shoots from country like bluegrass,does what it says ,cajun kings at their very best,money well spent,I would rate this at 7 STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cajun Classics, 19 May 2011
By 
Dredun "Drew" (Ayrshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
I only recently have taken a real interest in Cajun music although I have heard cajun music at various times.
This record is an excellent introduction with classic cajun musicians and singers and demonstrates a good variety of cajun music. Well worth the money and it arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good mixture of cajun styles, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Lovely world music from the swamp of america. Good mixture of cajun styles. Any body whose travelled in the southern states around new orleans and heard this music should buy this GOOD STUFF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another foot tapper., 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
A different genre of music to my normal listening material. This is very earthy and basic toe tapping music. recommended if you like something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Waterworth (West Yorkshire,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best (Audio CD)
Only bought it because of the 'hee haw' song,but having played it all the other songs
are brilliant get you in the mood for jigging around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best
Cajun Classics: Kings of Cajun at Their Very Best by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews