Customer Reviews


938 Reviews
5 star:
 (842)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see
I was forced into watching this by a friend and only really agreed because i'm a Damian Lewis fan but i now have to admit that it was absolutely superb! I cannot criticise any aspect of this programme. I genuinely felt like I knew the characters and, as the end was approaching and casualties were amassing, I desperately wanted the 'brothers' to make it through. The...
Published on 23 April 2005 by Koz

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discs are Region Locked to Region A & B
This review is not on the content but the disc set and its playability. Though the product title and description states that this Blu ray disc set is region free, its locked to region A and B. As I live in India and have a region C PS3 player, I had specifically ordered this set as this was region free, but I am now stuck with no play back.

Now I notice that...
Published on 6 Nov 2011 by vishaljmakwana


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of Brothers, 17 Dec 2003
This review is from: Band Of Brothers - Complete HBO Series Commemorative Gift Set (6 Disc Box Set) [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is turly brilliant. I managed to catch some of it on television. This set appears to give a gritty realism to how men died and lived during the latter part of the second world war. It is funny and at the same time sad the way the men bonded and then watched there friends die. You also get to see some of the original veterans. It was so nice to see they had been involved. It is that which makes you beleive it is factual. Have read about the author Stephen Ambrose he has visited many if not all the surviving Easy Company members. There is so much more to say about Band of Brothers, but l will let you watch it and find out for yourselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow weee, 2 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: Band Of Brothers - Complete HBO Series Commemorative Gift Set (6 Disc Box Set) [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
its great it made me cry and laugh and cry some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the BluRay quality I expected, 1 Mar 2011
There are parts in each episode where the video is not up to the bluray quality I was expecting from this series. In fact it's not even good enough for DVD. Bits of snow seem to appear on the screen, I think it's because of the lighting at particular scenes. I tested it on two different systems, (1st - Sony bluray player & Philips TV, 2nd - Samsung home theater and TV), and the problem persists. I am not the only one who noticed it. Very disappointing bluray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
Alison Hamilton (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Quality Like A Bad Copy, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed with this box set, background noise is so bad you can barely hear what the actors are saying, disc getting stuck and jumping. Really bad quality. It was not stated that these were counterfeit dvds but they are of the same quality as bad copies..
Will not by dvds from Amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!, 14 Aug 2008
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Band of Brothers is stunning. It's a drama set throughout the US's involvement of WWII in europe. Think Private Ryan but with a lower budget and arguably better actors and you're getting there. Each episode (10 of) carries out an actual life event evolving around Easy company under their commander Major Dick Winters from boot camp to VE day.

They've done a top clas job with the HD transfer and it's well worth the upgrade for owners of the DVD set. The case is a tin almost identical to the DVD version (it's shorter in height).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, apart from the snow in episode 6!, 2 May 2008
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Band Of Brothers - Complete HBO Series Commemorative Gift Set (6 Disc Box Set) [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
As all have said, this is a magnificent series, and a wonderful companion piece to 'Saving Private Ryan', despite giving my son the impression that World War 2 started in 1944.

The only criticism I can make is of the snow in Episode 6. It is so clearly artificial. And because the episode is shot in a studio, it feels almost like Narnia. Some of the actors aren't even good at looking cold.

However the Bastogne story is totally redeemed by Episode 7, which can stand on its own as a lesson in appalling and great leadership. And they get the snow right too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have to agree.., 18 Aug 2008
Band of Brothers is my all-time favourite production, be it on film or TV. The acting & action effects are stunning, and the latter can only be more so on Blu-Ray disc.

I, for one, can't wait for this release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews